We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Lucia - CLOSED

Santa Lucia
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

it is a nice restaurent, good menu choice if you like pasta/pizza akthough I thought there would be one or two more meat or fish choices but overall a good selection. The service was very good and they dont rush you and the venue nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormywaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant Little Restaurant”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I've been here a few times now and am never disappointed. Its a small, cosy place in an old Church building. The service is always good and the food even better. The prices are good, about average? They do live music on some nights in the week which I am yet to try but aim to soon!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NickB1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh Food, Great Atmosphere, Decent Price”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I went to Santa Lucia with a friend for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. I'd been there before several years ago and recall the good quality food but hadn't managed to make it back for a revisit.

The restaurant opened at 12 and we arrived shortly after. We had pick of the restaurant and sat on the ground floor - needless to say we had the whole ground floor to ourselves for the entire visit as every other patron chose to sit upstairs instead.

Inside the restaurant was fresh and clean, good music (jazz) with the tables laid out with a simple yet effective design. The menu is on the placemat which doubles as scrap paper for the bored child with crayons.

The food arrived after around half an hour, reason given that the dough was being made fresh. The restaurant had one waitress who was split between us, front desk, assisting with repairmen (repairing a sink behind the till) and the kitchen. She did a great job.

The food was excellent. Fresh ingredients, perfect flavours and hearty portions. The chocolate pudding with marscapone was lovely and just the right size.

Two minor points: the window we were sat next to is a spiderweb graveyard (outside) and the tap in the ladies' toilet was broken.

Nevertheless, it was a great lunch choice and i would definitely recommend to all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c0lm4ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ss6
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic local restaurant”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just had to write in response to the last review, you can't slate the place if you've never even been there! Loads of restaurants have a maximum number for booking tables, who wants to go for a romantic meal and be sat next to a table of 15?
We go to Santa Lucia a lot; with the kids, as a couple, with friends and family, it is always great. Lovely 'homely' food, brilliant service. Love it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank diner14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not booked up but wouldnt take our booking!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I wanted to book a celebration meal for 15 people. Rang and was told yes there was room on that night but tables over 10 would need to be run passed the manager first.
Got a call back - not even from the manager but from the member of staff- to say sorry manager said wont accept the booking because Friday was their busiest night (but they had already told me it not full and plenty of room that night!!!) and so the maximum they would do would be a party of ten - so what am I supposed to do ? tell 5 people they cant come. I cant believe this - Suppose it is great that they can pick and choose whether to accept a booking!!!!!
Unbelievable......wont be going there now ever on principle if that is how they deal with people. Since this also heard from 2 other people that group bookings wouldnt be accepted!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Lucia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing