We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for great night's sleep before early flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Silao Aeropuerto Bajio
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silao
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“perfect for great night's sleep before early flight”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Possibly the nicest Holiday Inn Express I've ever visited. This 5-story building on a main highway, 7 minutes free shuttle drive from the Leon/Guanajuato airport, encloses a full-height dining atrium and full-height pool area (get free pool towels from the reception desk). The free breakfast buffet starts at 6:30 a.m. and includes juice, coffee and tea (curiously - only chamomile; no black tea) eggs, bacon, refried beans, toast, jam, cereal (children's varieties; no bran selections) pastry, fruit, etc. A card on the table reminds guests that the tip is not included in the free meal. Our server cleared away plates and cutlery at the first sign of a pause in dining - a little too aggressive for me.
We ate dinner at the attached Applebees restaurant - nice enough; US prices and has a kids' playroom. We saw no other dining choices within walking distance.
The hotel room was large with a big bed and wonderfully comfortable linens. Each side had two pillows - one marked firm and one marked soft. The large flat-screen TV was easily pulled out of the cabinet and rotated slightly for better viewing from bed. The room key controlled the lights and air conditioning, so neither could be left running when you are out of the room. The ventilation system was loud - and noticeable when it kicked in at night. The hotel information binder has nothing about the pool or the business centre. Free wi-fi in the room worked perfectly.
The wake-up call was right on time; the shuttle to the airport very efficient. There were a lot of business people staying here. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat to avoid the traffic from Guanajuato or Leon to make a morning flight from the nearby airport.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccvvbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
19
3
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I was surprised to find that this Holiday Inn Express (Silao, near Leon airport) is clean and up-to-date. Free wireless internet is a nice bonus. My only complaint is that we were charged about $1 for bottles of water. Considering that the water in that area is not potable, bottled water should have been free. The breakfast, while not elegant, is plentiful and FREE. There is an Applebee's next door for other meals. Staff were very helpful.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pinet0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Silao after touching down in Mexico's Leon airport at 9 pm. We stayed here solely for the puropse of having a room near to the airport that was convenient, close and hassle-free.
The check-in was friendly and quick. The room was modern, clean, and quiet. The bed was comfortable with nice linens. The shower was decent. And the wifi worked smoothly.
For dinner we ate at the adjacent Applebee's (the only option in easy walking distance). Breakfast had all the expected items found at an american breakfast buffet plus some Mexican dishes. The orange juice was notably excellent.
All in all there was nothing to complain about here. We paid $90 for a room with one king-sized bed and breakfast for two--a darn good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSBurdett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

The hotel itself was very adequate and certainly suited our overnight need before going to the airport. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
HOWEVER when I asked about the shuttle to the airport the man at the front desk said that their driver was not there on Sunday. It was his day off and they hadn't hired anyone else to replace him. Also-as we were out on an early flight-we could not have the breakfast that was included.
Fortunately it was not hard to get a taxi--we ordered it the night before.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Upon arriving at this hotel, as this was his first visit to Mexico, he was so surprised by the excellent condition of this hotel.
We were warmly greeted at the front desk and as it was late, we were whisked to the room. My, the room was so comfortable. Nice bathroom, bed nice, in the morning we had a great breakfast with very attentive waiters. Boyfriend was in the building trade and couldn't believe how well maintained the hotel was! If you are on your way to San Miguel, this is a great stop for you and the drivers who meet you will be happy because it's closer than the airport.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

The last two days of my business trip were spent in Silao at the GM plant. This is a trip I do twice a year and I actually look forward to Silao. After spending the night in a cave (Holiday Inn Express San Luis Potosi) I was ready to go home. That is what this hotel feels like to me. The Applebees next door adds to that feeling. The rooms are spotless, well lit and comfortable. This last visit I was on on inside room 3rd floor looking down into the Atrium. You can open the doorwall and listen to the soft music from below. The first night we did our usual trip to Guanajuato and dined in the town square. Listening to the acoustic music we strolled the square until it started raining then everyone ran for the taxi's a bolt of lightening and the town went black. It was an experience!! The next evening we went into Leon. Ladies go earlier than I did. My colleagues failed to tell me that Leon is the "Shoe Capital" of Mexico. Unfortunately we didn't head into town until 9:00 and the shoe stores were closed!!! I think my husband paid the guys to keep me from buying shoes!! We ate at a Tequilaria, food was excellent the salsa was made fresh at our table yum! I leave in a week for Mexico and I will be staying at my home away from home again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The Holiday Inn Express Silao is much nicer than the average HIE--nice rooms, restaurant in a high atrium--and has the plusses of free wifi and (depending on your taste) an Applebee's connected to the lobby. But the real plus for us was the proximity to Leon-Guanajuato airport.

We arrived on a redeye, and for us a few extra hrs of sleep makes a huge difference in how we feel for the rest of day. We've found the key is how soon after landing we can get to sleep, and this hotel is 10 min from the airport right off the highway to Guanajuato. We rented a car rather than taking the free shuttle, but it was less than an hour from wheels down to in bed.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silao hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Silao-Aeropuerto
0.1 mi away
HS Hotsson Hotel Silao
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Silao Bajio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
One Silao
One Silao
#3 of 12 in Silao
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Express Silao Aeropuerto
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ecce Inn
Hotel Ecce Inn
#5 of 12 in Silao
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Silao Aeropuerto Bajio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Silao Aeropuerto Bajio

Property: Holiday Inn Express Silao Aeropuerto Bajio
Address: Calle Libramiento Norte 3360 | Carretera Leon-Irapuato Silao, Silao 36100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Silao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Silao Aeropuerto Bajio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Silao - Bajio Airport is the closest hotel to the Guanajuato International Airport/Bajío (BJX). The hotel is on Highway 45, which links the cities of Irapuato and Leon, and is just 25 minutes from each. The hotel is located 10 miles from Guanajuato (the state capital). Guanajuato hosts events such as the International Cervantes Festival. Manufacturers such as General Motors, American Axle, Continental Tires, Wrigley’s, Plasticomnium, and others are just five minutes away. Holiday Inn Express Silao-Bajío Airport is also the hotel that is closest to the Guanajuato International Airport ("your connection to the business world"). Holiday Inn Express Silao-Bajío Airport is the best option for lodging whether you’re traveling on business or pleasure, since it gives you easy access to various points of interest.NEW: High-speed Internet in all of our rooms and wireless Internet in public areas.Awards: Quality Excellence 2006 Stay Smart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Silao Aeropuerto Bajio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Silao Hotel Silao
Holiday Inn Guanajuato
Guanajuato Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Holiday Inn Express Silao Aeropuerto Bajio Mexico - Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing