We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the nicest Forest Lodges we have stayed in India ... !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Grass Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Grass Lodge
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of the nicest Forest Lodges we have stayed in India ... !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Our visit to Kaziranga National Park turned out to be absolutely perfect, not just because of the wildlife sightings that we were lucky to have, but also because of our stay at Wild Grass Resort. Situated about 3kms north of Kohora range’s entrance gate off National Highway (NH) 37, this laid-back, well-run establishment is truly a gem of a place.

The resort has about three 2-storied apartment-style buildings spaciously spread around a central, grassy courtyard. Our double-room, which was on the first floor of one of the buildings, had lovely dark-wood furniture and was large enough to accommodate a sitting area, drying rack and shelves! The bathroom was also well-appointed with a hot-water geyser and other essential amenities.

The resort’s nicest part, though, is the ceilinged dining lounge, which has been furnished and decorated like a true hunting lodge. A shaded porch attached to the main dining hall and overlooking the courtyard was the perfect place to enjoy our evening tea.

The staff at the hotel was very courteous and efficient. Their handling of our safaris ensured that the whole process of booking and buying permits was seamless and hassle-free. They provided us with a guide who accompanied us on every safari and ensured that we got there on time and were seated on the elephants immediately. He was also instrumental in helping us sight the elusive Kaziranga tiger during our jeep safari! We weren’t charged extra for his services but of course we tipped him generously at the end. Since we didn’t have a transport of our own, the jeep rides to the park entrance and back were provided at a very nominal cost of Rs.200 per round trip.

For me, personally, this stay ranked as our best national park stay in India as yet!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenyearitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    104
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
75
51
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

My trip to kaziranga was an unplanned one.

I was very lucky to come across Wildgrass on the internet, and called them to book a room.

The hotels was really nice and cozy.. Its built over a large area, with 3 buildings.. 2 for rooms, and 1 main lobby / dining hall. The wooden interiors really matched the forest / national park settign we were in..

The staff was polite, prompt and efficient.. So were the guide (Diganata) provided by the hotel who accompanied me on all trips to the park.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RanjitM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imphal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

first of all-BIG THANKS TO manju barua. i started wit net searchin n found wild grass. i wrote to manju barua for accomodation and the reply was quick and positive. my parents and relatives had a very wonderfull experience of the hospatility of the hotel. good food, good place to stay and best people. thanks for all. keep it up barua. Surely and highly recommended for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milind_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We started our trip through India in Kaziranga and looking back it was the absolute highlight of our journey. And wildgrass lodge did everything, that we felt very comfortable. We had a perfect guide and a nice driver from the lodge, who showed us all the animals in the nationalpark and accompanied us for a dolphin trip. They made our stay special.
The lodge itself has rooms in colonial style and they are nice and clean. Only the bathroom looked a little bit old. The main building, where breadfast, lunch and dinner is served is very nice and after our safaries we spent a lot of time sitting at the veranda, drinking tea and looking at the nice garden of the hotel.
Although the jtrip from Guwahati to the nationalpark takes time (5 hours drive) it is worth going there to enjoy the nature during the elephant safaries and "normal" safaries.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

When I started planning a trip to Kaziranga, Wild Grass Lodge was not my first choice for accommodation. However, upon writing to several lodges and hotels, I was very satisfied with the pace and level of response given by Wild Grass Lodge. They are extremely detailed in their breakdown of cost and itinerary, which certainly made the decision for us.

Getting to the lodge is not easy as there is the long journey from Guhawati airport. Luckily, we arranged for pick-up with the lodge and it definitely worth the price. The driver is very experienced and able to manage the long winding road through the mountain. With night coming in earlier in Dec, having a experienced driver is a definite plus. We also had the same driver when we left the place at the wee hours of the morning with heavy fog and it is certainly comforting to know that we had a good driver at hand to get us to the airport on time.

The lodge itself has a nice Colonial charm, with its wooden frame and the animal heads hanging in the main dining hall (thinking hunting lodge of the past). The rooms are simple but clean and well maintained. The floors and walls are rather thin and footsteps and voices can easily be heard in the room. This is not much of an issue with us as coming from the city, we were able to filter out these noises and once it is passed 10 or 11pm, the lodge is very quiet. To us, the only shortfall is the lack of consistent power, as the lodge has to switch between the main power and their generator. As a result, hot water is not always available. If you are like me who need her hot water, you must be the first person to bath or bath earlier in the afternoon in order to ensure that you have a constant supply of hot water. This is very important as we were surprised by the cold weather when we were there in Dec.

Food-wise there is no complaint. There is a good range and variety available for every meal. A nice pot of hot tea is also always available to round of the day nicely. Biscuits are also available to company the tea upon request. I certainly enjoyed my meals there as the lodge rotates different cuisines. I am not a big fan of Indian food hence it is nice to see simple dishes that are not overly spiced.

In terms of the safaris, they were all great as we had a wonderful guide who helped us to spot all the different animals that we wanted to see during the trip, ranging from elephants to rhinos and even the gibbons and tiger. All in all, we had a wonderful experience with our guide and recommendations by the lodge. The elephant ride in the morning is definitely worth it as it allows us to get very close to the rhinos and other animals.

For those who are intending to visit Kaziranga, please note that they use a different cell phone network from the rest of India and the only connection you will have is through the lodge. They were kind enough to allow us to use their internet (for free) to send some emails and to check our flights. These are the little things that certainly helped to make our trip memorable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

i re-visited kaziranga ad wildgrass after almost 2 decades - my daughters had heard of wildgrass from me and wanted a dekko - it lived upto my expectations and my memories.

excellent ambience , caring staff , good food .

we plan to go back there soon again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvi_amd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
143 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

The Wild Grass lodge in Kaziranga is one of the best options if one visits Kaziranga, one of the best wildlife parks in India and a UNESCO World Heritage site. The ambience is ablend of colonial and local. Rooms are clean and have hot water through the day. Food is tasty though a bit oily. Bihu dances in the evenings add a local cultural feel.
Books on wildlife are available to enrich your knowledge about the flora and fauna in the park.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Docsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
#18 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
7.5 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
4.5 mi away
Resort Borgos
Resort Borgos
#2 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jonaki Kareng
Jonaki Kareng
#2 of 10 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Mahseer
Wild Mahseer
#1 of 1 in Balipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prasanti Cottages
Prasanti Cottages
#3 of 3 in Majuli
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Grass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Lodge

Property: Wild Grass Lodge
Address: Bochagaon village, Kaziranga National Park 785609, India
Location: India > Assam > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wild Grass Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing