We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Wild Grass Lodge”
Review of Wild Grass Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Grass Lodge
Derbyshire
1 review
“Loved the Wild Grass Lodge”
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Having read previous reviews I went to the Wild Grass Lodge armed with a supply of snacks and no great expectations. How wrong was I! The room was clean, the beds very comfortable in an Indian way, and plenty of hot water for the bucket shower. My niece and I loved the food which was served more or less on time, and were grateful for the endless supply of tea and coffee as we chilled out on the verandah between numerous Park visits. The staff could not have been more smiley, and our Park guide was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. And he spotted a Royal Bengal tiger for us which we watched for 10 minutes or so - a highlight of any holiday. We had two evenings of Assamese entertainment (no tip requested), and overall our visit was a most positive experience. By the way, I'm 64 years old and not in the habit of roughing it, so go there and enjoy it for what it is!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filleka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    110
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
81
53
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

The corner of the dining room where we ate smelled of cat urine; the circuit breaker for our room kept going off; there is no insulation between the floors--you could hear the people walking around upstairs and see the outside thru the cracks in the floor. There was hardly any flow to the shower; the place was not terribly clean, either. It looked as if the dining room floor had not been washed in years.
On the other hand, the food was pretty good, the proximity to Kaziranga was great and the guides were very good. The staff really tries, I think.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGJ1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Nice rooms but with no heating and no portable heaters available. It was very cold so having no heating was a pain. Staff is friendly but food and facilities are extremely basic. The menu is limited and most things are unavailable. Overall, a very average experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CO8RA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Major attraction of Kaziranga is the Kaziranga national park and experiences of the unique flora and fauna of the Assam.
We had a great time in the wilds of kaziranga during our stay and Wild Grass Lodge played a major role by providing the most suitable naturalist to our requirements. He was a person with sound knowledge of many kinds of animals in the park as well as friendly and pleasant personality.
Generally staff is very attentive except very few of them.
We were given a cottage which is very nice from outside. I too believe that they can improve the interiors of the rooms and especially toilets which we were compromised with the quality of services and public relations they maintained.
Food is average and for us some of the dishes gave new culinary experience. Still I enjoyed the variety and different tastes of the regional dishes. The unpleasant side was though we reminded them many times in advance always delayed to serve the meals. That was the most annoying factor for us as we were always in a hurry to be at park entrance on time.
We had a great time in kaziranga including fruitful six safaris and a fabulous elephant ride which visitor should never miss. Our stay was extremely relaxed and it was a perfect holiday for wildlife enthusiastic.
You can’t expect good medical facilities in this area and we couldn’t find even a reasonable drug store. Therefore better be aware and carry necessary basic medical aid with you.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sama75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

I stayed here in early November and asked for a cottage in order to get some peace and quiet. The cottage was quaint and a little shabby, but very spacious. It was also unbelievably damp - so damp that the pages in my books started to curl ! This may be a result of coming early in the season - I can't comment if things dry out during the dry season. Arrangements were made via email and the owner, a Mr Barua, was amazingly helpful and accommodating.

The hotel is located in charming gardens, with 2 or 3 cottages on one side, the main dining room, kitchen and reception in the middle and 2 blocks of rooms behind that. The staff are locals and their english is minimal, but they are very friendly and helpful. The hotel organised my safaris and my guide was excellent. He even helped me break into my bag when the padlock jammed shut !

What let the hotel down was the quality of the food - it was abysmal. It was so bad that I lived on bolied eggs and toast for my second day there. I don't think i was being fussy - other guests told me that they struggled to eat the food and were living on muesli bars and apples, and an Indian friend of mine who lives in the area said he never ate at the hotel because the food was so bad. It's a shame because i think they have the makings of a great little lodge, but things like the dampness and the food need to be addressed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allcorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2rupsha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Nice strange hotel in the middle of nowhere!

The restaurant looks like the Gameroom where Sean Connery was sitting in that League of Extraordinary Gentlemen movie.

Food is horrible (best carry your own or eat out)

Rooms are dimly lit but not much else to complain.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
Thank 2rupsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

There are many places to stay in Kaziranga, but Wild grass is rated the best by many and we were very happy with our experience as well. When we entered the hotel, we were a bit disappointed with the exteriors and the landscaping (requires maintenance and better upkeep, with the swimming pool being filled in now). But the rooms are clean, service is good and the food very decent. The hotel organizes the safaris (we did three - central, western and the eastern) and stayed for 2 nights (many people stay just one night and do only 1 or 2 safaris).

The resort is about 20-30 minutes drive from the national park entrances (two on one side, third on the other side of the resort). the jeep and the guide provided by the resort were excellent and we enjoyed the rhino sightings and the many birds we could see. The landscape of the three zones are all different and worth a visit each for nature lovers.

As we had gone there during Bihu time (around Apr 14 is new year for locals), the hotel had organized a local dance programme which was a delight.

The hotel is simple, not luxury but a good place for the safaris. Also, we were told that being a well visited resort, this was one of the safest places to stay in Kaziranga area.

  • Liked — Clean, good service and close to the national park
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
#16 of 61 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.5 mi away
Resort Borgos
Resort Borgos
#2 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jonaki Kareng
Jonaki Kareng
#3 of 10 in Kaziranga National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Grass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Lodge

Property: Wild Grass Lodge
Address: Bochagaon village, Kaziranga National Park 785609, India
Location: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wild Grass Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing