We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastically located.. excellent food”
Review of Wild Grass Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Grass Lodge
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastically located.. excellent food”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Located closest to the central range (10 kms) and the best located hotel for the eastern range (25 kms), I have been visiting Wilgrass for a few years now, usually with family. It is an old hotel with a colonial style architecture. Rooms take you back to the previous century with wooden flooring and structure.. mildly lit. Excellent service with the hotel arranging all safaris and guides and permissions with a very small additional fee (unlike other hotels where this charge can be substantially higher). Breakfast is very good even if choice is limited. Lunches and Dinners are alacarte orders with a fairly limited menu, but excellent cooks and service. Pricing is very very reasonable. A MUST visit hotel if visiting Kaziranga.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharad_Sridhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    110
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
81
53
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

There is something so heart-warming and friendly and magical about this place. It may not have the best or poshest rooms. The bathrooms don't have the best amenities (including hot water at times) There is no intercom in the rooms. However, it just makes you warm up to it. Out of our entire North-East tour, this place just stuck and we wished we had stayed on here a bit longer.

We reached the hotel at nearly twelve at night and the reception staff was nice enough to waive off the check-in formalities till the morning when we were less tired.

The rooms we stayed in had wood flooring, twin beds, cane furniture and no TV. The bathroom was large and clean but very basic. They have powercuts often and at those times one has to go down to the reception and tell them that one needs hot water (no intecom remember?)

The food was incredible. Nothing fancy, but it was healthy, hearty food that is not so oily or spicy that it burns your stomach. Breakfast with puri and potato bhaji was something to look forward to and the portions were so large we had to tell them to get smaller ones. And they had some incredible bhajiyas and malpuas along with the evening tea.

The property is pretty big with labelled trees and flowers and a type of cotton tree where little fibres of cotton would float down and look magically like snow. There were so many pretty creepers growing at the side of the building we were staying in and everyday we were awoken by the lovely chirping of birds.

The safari guide was knowledgable and patient and quick to catch on to what we were interested in. He even gave us a pocket bird watching guide to leaf through while we stayed there.

The only flip-side other than the lack of amenities were that the hotel is some distance away from the reserve. One has to place food orders a couple of hours in advance.

But all this just does not detract from this place that forces you to slow down, smell the flowers and hope to catch more of the fireflies floating by. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikitaShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imphal, Manipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

An amazing place to be .... Just he perfect forest getaway .....old world colonial charm....Excellent staff, warm , a leisurely pace, unwind relax .....good for two days.... value for money.... remember to eat their homemade pickle esp the wild berry one!!!

PROS:
Clean rooms & Linen.
Wooden Planks and natural feel in the room.
Food is hygienic and tasty... safe, no infections.
Packed stuff for you 2 take along.
Accommodating, not greedy, helpful and pleasant staff.
No TVs , no disturbance/ distractions.
Nice local dance (BIHU)in the evening.
Kids big tree house & sit out.
Nobody does te JEEP SAFARIS like they do!!
CONS:
The voltage is a lil low in the newer accommodation building. Ask for a room in th old block.
Boring Menu, could do with a lot of improvement.
SERVICE a TAD slow during rush hours.
You will definitely miss it on the highway 'cause of a lone mkg bd which is low. A few markers would help!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlMoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

On our visit to Kaziranga we stayed at the very charming Wild Grass Lodge. The main building is an old Forest Lodge converted into a massive Dining Hall, retaining all the old furniture,fittings as well as pictures and artefacts. All guests usually gather here for their meals and get to share their experience of the days visit to the National Park.
The Rooms are in two blocks set away from the main block and are very comfortable with wicker furniture and wooden flooring.
Manju Barua who runs this place is a mine of information, not only about Kaziranga, but the whole of the North East. He regales the guests with his tales most evenings over tea.
The guides provided by this resort are most knowledgable and helpful. You are almost certain of sighting Rhinos during the safari on elephant back.The Jeep safari is great fun too.
In the evenings a dance performance by nearby village tribals is arranged around a bonfire .
We liked the ambience so much that we stayed for 3 days in place of the planned single day!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable. But some are on higher floors and climbing up and down can be ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashok123w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

WE planned our trip on April 30th i mailed many hotels. HE WAS the only one who told us during our plan itself that the park closes on may 1st and he gave us a little different itinery. If he had not informed us the total trip would have been a total waste.

They take care from even buying the elephant safari tickets and take us straight at the safari at 5:30 a.m.

Deepak and kamini were all really friendly and arranged eveything thru just a phone call.

Cost is another good factor. Place is really really nice it feels like we are in between a jungle with lots of people around, but it is not scarry. No tv and a/c so just we can enjoy nature. The lodge is really nice location wise and its plan inside. But no boards on the highway but almost everyone on the highway can help u reach the place. THere is a self-hep group nearby just 300 mts away u can just walk there u get good veg assamese homestyle thali. Rupjyothi saikai and her no. is
98548 45253

Food seems a little boring after 2 days and the service gets slightly detailed. But we do have to mention that during elephant safari they wake us up at 4.15 a.m with tea and biscuits. Nice.

kids play area is there and lots of birds over there. SO really a great place. Looking forward to go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yutika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imphal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I had lot of expectationsfrom this hotel or lodge as it was praised a lot by my best friend. however this are the last two days of the season and kaziranga sanctuary is getting closed and will reopen in october.
However this does not make this hotel good anyway. just the right word. Dont expect anything but worse and u will be happy to c or get something from this hotel/lodge.
We alongwith my wife and kid, parents and my niece landed on 29 apr late night by around 0730pm. however there was no concern about the late customers and their tiring journey. I had to ask the so-called reception - CONTROL ROOM to provide with some help to take my bagages. It was raining so again i had to ask for UMBRELLA, and they gave one for 6 of us. WHAT A SERVICE.
then since it was raining and we were tired and my dad was not well i asked to provide them dinner at room which was flatly refused. and guess wht in the mean time dinner was served to two other rooms.
ROOMS start before they end. two single beds, 3 chairs, and other are all cramped up in a small and DINGY. no space to mov around for two people. Only one can move. and the lights. 4 zero watts bulbs in 4 lamp shades that hang around lifelessly. all lights are same. It makes the room more DULL. the bathroom and toilet are also same. the fans are old and noisy. THE EFFORTS HAVE BEEN MADE TO GIVE A AMBIENCE OF FOREST GUEST ROOMS with wooden flooring and ALL. HOWEVER IT IS A FAILED EFFORT.
Now coming to the restuarant part. go there and give ur order atleast ONE HOUR prior OR best is during ur last meal. so whatever u want to have in lunch order Give it during ur breakfast.
Its too DIM lights so again not much to expect. the menu card has got only four to five choices. Again dont worry too much. whatever u order is JUST OK so chill out. The drinking water glasses smell. so i had to request to clean it with Hot and lime water.
MY VIEW. IF U CANT ANYTHING THEN THIS LODGE IS OK. AND YES DONT EXPECT ANYTHING....AND U WILL B ATLEAST HAPPY.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milind_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in the WG Resort from 10th April to 14th April. I tell you we have gone to lah ladak, sikkim, dargiling, shillong, Hevalock, ganapatipule, Murdeshwar, Daman and other placess with my family for holidays. But I found that this place is amazing, I booked the resort after review from trip adviser and you know with one e mail they booked my accomadation and made my travel itinary flawless.Right from pick up from Guwahati and back to Barua Bhavan it is really nice to enjoy with WG. Mr. Manju Barua has developed an excellent team of truly homely people all of them there to make your stay a memorable one. The safari was good we have seen lot of rhino,elephant, deers, monkeys, wild bore buffolo, red neked paragon, yellow foot pigion. and lot many, our guide mr pradeep took care very well, showed us tea plantation, rubber and coffee plantation. Also, surprisingly, when we told GM Mr Gogai that we wanted to visit Majoli he arranged our trip on friday and planned accordingly I request all guest to visit the Majoli also if they have two days time to spend there. NIce place to see. Also Mr Manju Barua have arraged cultural programme during evening camp fire like Tea garden Jumori dance, and anotherdy Assami Bihu dance It was very nice. I played drum after long time along with the dance troop. A lot of cultural activities u can do other than safari. Only other suggestion i can give is that if they putup a small library dipiting flora funa and assamies cultural and region books it would be nice( I am sure that Mr Barua should have lot of Books). The place is very nicely made with fine taste for visitors. You also can get vegitarian food ( since we are pure veg) restaurent is nice and fine. Food is excellent service is good, Baigan Patika, bababa sabji are good. lastly I request all guest to go and stay while coming back in Barua Bhavan in Guwahati to see how taste and lagacy of family history can be preserved and carryforward to furture generation. Hats of to Mr,Manju Barua and his team for building a successful team.
Paveen K Rao
Mumbai

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage-1 over looking the Paddy fields. It is completey private and rooms are cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PraveenRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
0.2 mi away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jonaki Kareng
Jonaki Kareng
#2 of 11 in Kaziranga National Park
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wild Mahseer
Wild Mahseer
#1 of 1 in Balipara
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ygdrasill Bamboo Cottage
11.3 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Grass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Lodge

Property: Wild Grass Lodge
Address: Bochagaon village, Kaziranga National Park 785609, India
Location: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wild Grass Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing