We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and could not get enough of Kaziranga. The park was beautiful and it was wonderful to sit in your jeep in silence after traveling through busy India for 3 weeks. Everything about this place was great, except that I ate or drank something at the hotel and was throwing up the entire night and ended up missing a safari and elephant ride. I only ate and drank at the hotel so it was definitely from here, but of course the staff didn't believe me. I am not saying that it is dirty, just don't get lulled into a false sense of security when eating just because the place is so nice - follow the same rules as everywhere else in India.

The place overall was great, and one of the few actually clean places we stayed in India. I would stay here again, but would be a bit more careful. BTW, getting here is rough...

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 387 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

Just near Kaziranga national park. You can get to the main gate from where the car safari starts. Has spacious rooms but is a lil overpriced as compared to other hotels near by....
normal rooms start from 5000/- goes upto 12000/- INR for a suite .

They have a restaurant and a decently stocked bar here. Sunday buffet is the time when it gets crowded . Food is average. staff is very helpful and forthcoming.

Had a nice time

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinays23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

An enormous property with enormous rooms and located conveniently close to the entrance of the Kaziranga National Park. The Management and the staff of the hotel are very accommodating and competent. The quality of the food is good and varied. The rooms are a very pleasant surprise. They are large and very well appointed as is the bathroom. As the property is well spread out, one enjoys a sense of privacy and space.

The hotel organises safaris to the game reserve and provides guides as well. We managed to cover all the three sections of the park - namely western, central and eastern and recommend that one does all three if time permits as the experience is different in each. One should do both the elephant as well as the jeep safaris.

Easily the best property to stay at when visiting Kaziranga (at least when we visited - as there are so many hotels coming up).

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank Banrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

in kaziranga among the resorts IORA is the best. yu can be entertained by folk dance of different parts of north east

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pallab1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Stayed in IORA for 3D/2N during the first week of April. It is undoubtedly the best place to stay in Kaziranag. The Jungle plan takes care of all the arrangement for the Safari - elephant / Jeep. Try to do all the Jeep Safari - western, Central & Eastern Ranges in order to see the depth of wildlife. Rhino sighting is very very frequent and so is herds of elephants, wild buffalo, wild fowls & lots of deer.

Tiger sighting is rare as the elephant grass is very very dense -- heard from our guide that the elephant grass is burnt by the forest rangers in Feb each year - tiger sighting are better then. We did see fresh pugs marks !

IORA service is splendid and so is the Food -- try the Assamese Thali (know as platter) it is definitely worth the price. Manager - Pervez knows to take care of his guests ! A great outing for the family.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anand_Rai_Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

The rooms are spacious, toilets and doormats clean, the waiters are courteous and the food is excellent. Its a different kinda one I have ever seen in entire north-east.

The room tariff has no hidden charges which other luxury resorts in Kaziranga charge. Also the resort was 100% occupied during my entire 2 days stay there.

Few hiccups were: swimming pool water was not clean, few plug points in the room were not working, the hotel boasts of a Wi-Fi which is very slow and makes one mad if he/she gives a try to use it.

Overall a good place to stay and worth the penny you pay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie_natured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

A large resort with pleasantly well appointed rooms and bathrooms. Very green. Helpful staff. Good quality food. Top of the line resort in the area. Guide organised for us for the safari by the resort was very good. Keep enough days in hand so that you can take adequate safaris to cover the eastern, western and the central part of the national park. Two safaris a day can be done comfortably. Book well in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
2.1 mi away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Resort Borgos
Resort Borgos
#2 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Rhino
Camp Rhino
#17 of 25 in Kaziranga National Park
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ygdrasill Bamboo Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga

Address: Bogorjuri, Kaziranga National Park 785109, India
Location: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range: $96 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Iora - The Retreat,Kaziranga Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing