We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service - bad manners.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon
1 review
“Terrible service - bad manners.”
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I have been to many resorts across India, and so I think I am in a good position to compare the services of Iora with the others. I felt that the service is dismal, awfully slow and highly mis-managed. I categorically informed that we were in a hurry and so would like to finish lunch as soon as possible - and can you imagine - they bring all the food and keep it aside right infront of us, and do not serve us. Why? Because there were no serving spoons on any of the dishes! It took quite a while to grab someone and ask him to serve the food fast. He then goes and informs it to somebody else, who is busy filling orders. After he completes the filling of orders, he goes and fetches the serving spoons and then we finally get our food. So much for informing them that we needed a fast lunch!

On top of that, after the food I asked the waiter to bring the bill asap. He takes ages!! we almost missed our Kaziranga trip because of him. Then I stormed inside the billing room and was a spectator to a tussle going on between the waiter and the person who produces computer bills. I told them that I was really late and I want to know the reason why it is taking them so long. You know what the waiter tells me - You should not come in here, being a gentleman!! The billing person then tells me a figure which I paid without a question, and the waiter tells the other guy in Assamese - It is your problem if anything is wrong in the amount ok? - Hey , what's going on here??
Well, I didn't have time to take it to the management, but I want to warn all the aspiring visitors that there might be big surprises awaiting you!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueFriend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    150
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
173
97
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bamun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

We found the Iora rooms to be clean and comfortable but highly overpriced given its small size and non presence of bathtub.

Though the restaurent is spacious and airy, the food is terrible. The breakfast is inclusive but made to order and was served cold. And, if you see how much you are paying for a simple dish, one would agree that everything is highly overpriced and yet tastes horrible.

We wanted to change the tv brightness/contrast setting but remote was not there and when contacted management did not provide for it. On top of that CNN BBC are not available, which is ridiculus given their exorbitant tariff.

The front office stuff is rude ,during the stay they did not greet us even once while crossing their desk on way to the park or while coming back. Even the GM's conduct / misbehavior was incredible as he did not have the basic courtesy to stand up and greet hotel guest coming to speak to him.

For the kind of money they are charging and GM / staff's bad behavior, we would not like to visit the place again and would not recommend it to anyone who understands the meaning of true service.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bamun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leoben, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Just came back from an incredible long weekend I spent at the IORA & the Kaziranga Nationalpark.
Location of the resort could not be better - about 5 min drive the the entrance of the central zone of the park, maybe abt 20 min to both, the western and eastern zone's entrance.
booking, through the contracts from tripadvisor, went smooth - we went for a 4d / 3n package with 4 jeep- and 1 elephant-safari, organisation was perfect, no single flaw there.
The resort itself was up to the mark, the rooms were nice, clean and spacious with balconies, the restaurant was serving nice food (irrespective whether or not things were listed on the menu, the chef offered all cuisines / dishes possible)
Staff was very accommodating and attentive.
All in all, five out of five in all aspects for a wildlife lodge

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed at IORA while visiting the Kaziranga national park in April, 2009. The hotel is awesome with great rooms and service. The food at the restaurant is excellent with multipal cousines.
The room service is about average but the over all experience is excellent.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyd
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We stayed at IORA while visiting the Kaziranga national park in Dec, 2008. The hotel is awesome with great rooms and service. The food at the restaurant is not that great but they make it up overall from a service and rooms standpoint.

The room charges are very reasonable and they arrange all the tours and sight seeing trips to the park.

  • Liked — Great rooms and overall service
  • Disliked — Food at the restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
2.1 mi away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
71 reviews
38.9 mi away
Hotel KRC Palace
Hotel KRC Palace
#1 of 7 in Tezpur
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
#16 of 60 in Guwahati
56 reviews
9.1 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jonaki Kareng
Jonaki Kareng
#2 of 10 in Kaziranga National Park
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga

Property: IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Address: Bogorjuri, Kaziranga National Park 785109, India
Location: India > Assam > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Iora - The Retreat,Kaziranga Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing