We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great rooms.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Certificate of Excellence
Bank of the Brahmaputra
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great rooms.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were there for a "destination wedding". The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable, the facilities wonderful. The beautifully maintained grounds, charmingly landscaped and meticulously maintained, were an added attraction. But best of all was the service...efficient, prompt, but also very warm. The staff all had smiling faces, and behaved as though we were honoured guests in their homes . The behaviour of the boys and girls was representative of typical Assamese ...they were soft and eager to please.
The restaurants were great, too.
Loved the attached balconies that looked out on green spaces. Arrangements for safaris to the Park are arranged here, too.
All in all, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelchirps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    159
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
183
99
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The moment you enter the resort the warmth of the staff catches your attention. The hospitality is certainly a big highlight not to mention the hotel facilities. The rooms are spacious, clean and the beds aahhh..just takes away the tiredness, probably had the best sleep of a ten day long tour. The multi-cuisine restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices. Also the Bihu dance orgainsed in the night was a stresss buster. A must place to stay during your visit to the land of one-horn rhino.

Room Tip: Any room is worth the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raru830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhuj, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed there over two nights from 23 Dec 13 to 25 Dec 13 and had a wonderful experience. The staff was extremely cordial and welcoming. Though we were two families and had only one room between us the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Due to being a high occupancy period for them they could not provide us with another room. The Restaurant had an excellent variety to choice from and the bar was very well stocked. We did miss out on using the beautiful swimming pool because of renovation work. The hotel staff had managed us tickets for the elephant safari and it turned out to be the highlight of the entire trip. Would love to come back to the resort during the summers and spend a lazy laid back holiday. Thank you guys for making this trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
330 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed her for two nights in December. The rooms are quite large, with a pleasant balcony, comfortable beds, sizable bathroom (walk-in shower) and spotlessly clean. Its a huge place with gym (well-equipped), swimming pool (under maintenance during our stay), spa (massages quite okay, but not great), and two restaurants. Breakfast is complimentary and quite an elaborate affair. The restaurant where breakfast is served also does lunches and dinners serving Continental, Thai and Chinese food. The Assamese restaurant which is housed in a separate building is exceptionally good and we actually had dinner here twice. Everything is freshly prepared for which you will have to reserve some time. Major minor point about the hotel is the ridiculously slow wifi - limited to the lobby and no connectivity in the rooms. Furthemore the rooms stayed exceptionally cold even during the day with no option to heat them (we were there in December).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our one night in Kaziranga was made a very enjoyable thanks to Iora and its staff.

Helpful and smiling, they always were around in case you needed something. Big and airy rooms, with sit-outs that overlooked the hills added to the serenity quotient of the hotel. We had organized 2 jeep safaris and an elephant safari, all of which were well organized.

What took the cake for Iora was the food - something that we were not expecting at all. Absolutely mind-blowing food that definitely took all of us by surprise. From Chinese to Indian to Continental, Iora did not disappoint even once.

Only flaw I found was that the dining room at breakfast had a few flies around. Didnt see any around lunch or dinner.

Will definitely be going back to Kaziranga, and will definitely be staying at Iora. Definitely recommend anyone going to Kaziranga to consider this hotel.

Swimming pool was under maintenance, but was too cold for a swim anyway. They do have a badminton court and cycles you can use to explore the area. Its also located about a 10 minute drive from the jeep safari point and perhaps 20-25mins from the elephant safari meeting point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrokeTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise to arrive at IORA resort. The setting is in a beautifully maintained garden environment.
The bed was very comfortable, with clean sheets, and the bathroom had good hot water, and a fast flowing shower, which we have found difficult to find in India. The room was spacious and clean.
The staff were very helpful, especially in getting my husband and I onto the early morning elephant ride, saving us the hassle of having to line up at the Kaziranga National Park booking office at 7pm on the night before the ride. Family and friends told us to book the ride ahead of time, but we found out that it is not possible to book these ahead, as the tickets are only issued on the night before the ride. The hotel staff managed to get my Australian born husband, and I ( Indian born, but Australian passport) onto the prices for Indian Nationals, which saved us a lot of money, because they were able to use our OCI andPIO visas as proof of Indian National eligibility.
Even in the restaurant the staff were very helpful, organising what ever food we felt like eating even if it wasn't on the restaurant menu.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at IORA resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VADODARA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

IORA is undoubtedly the most luxurious and comfortable option in Kaziranga!!

The premises are spacious and beautifully maintained. The front desk lobby has wonderfully courteous and helpful staff. Special thanks to Bhaskar, Siddharth Karmakar, Arunabh Das, Nabajyoti Bordoloi, Palash Sarma, Rahul Chaudhury and Jyotshana Saikia for being ever helpful. Bhaskar was the person who dealt with me right since the time I booked the room, A very well mannered and courteous fellow.

The Supreme room was very well maintained, with a special upper tier bed, which was thoroughly enjoyed by both the kids. The view of the tree plantation from the balcony was enchanting. The bathrroms were very well kept and equipped with all required amenities.

The restaurant and room service staff was gracious and ever smiling. The buffet breakfast and the ala carte lunch and dinner were sumptous and of high quality. We even tried the vegetarian fare at the Assamese restaurant Bhatban. A unique experience indeed!!

I would like to specially mention Pallb Chandrakalita, the bartender at the Iron Wood Bar. An extremely interesting and knowledgable man, with a penchant of creating some wonderful cocktails.

The jeep safaris are also well managed by the resort. The pool and the small jacuzzi pool are also well maintained. Deepak Saikia at the spa is a good masseur.

All in all a wonderful and complete family experience!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MADHURKJAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
#16 of 61 in Guwahati
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kalash
Hotel Kalash
#3 of 7 in Tezpur
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jonaki Kareng
Jonaki Kareng
#3 of 11 in Kaziranga National Park
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Rhino
Camp Rhino
#17 of 25 in Kaziranga National Park
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga

Property: IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Address: Bogorjuri, Kaziranga National Park 785109, India
Location: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Iora - The Retreat,Kaziranga Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing