We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel paradise in rhino land”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Hotel paradise in rhino land”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I usually travel on business. This was one of the rare instances when a dear friend in Assam insisted that I come over on a leisure trip with my family - and I did! While we didn't actually stay in this property (we stayed at our friend's house in nearby Tezpur), we visited the Hotel on our tour of Kaziranga, the natural abode of the one-horned rhino.

My friend said that it was worthwhile and the food was great. He was right on both counts. I have enough experience with hotels to know things at a glance. We took a tour of the beautiful hotel premises, went to one or two units across paths lined with flowers, peeked inside rooms and generally had a whale of a time. The responsive staff indulged in our whim of looking at rooms and unit clusters. So, I guess the service must be pretty good. Rooms looked clean too. A look at the tariff card showed that the resort was really good value for money.

Since we didn't stay overnight, I reserved my ratings for Sleep Quality & Children's Activities. The facets I have given my ratings on were the aspects I have experienced during our tour of the premises & interaction with housekeeping & restaurant staff.

About the restaurant - great Assamese dishes, wonderful presentation & responsive staff. My only issue was that a traditional dining platform in the middle of the restaurant (see attached photos) had quite a layer of dust. Unused areas in the restaurant seemed to have dust. This is the reason why I deducted a rating star for cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    160
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
184
99
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at iora for 2 nights.

The rooms were nice, nice resort , great food.

The only problem we faced was slight lack of coordination. For the animal safari we were told to report at 5.30 am at the reception here. However, there was no one to guide us , the jeep was no there, we keptt on waiting till 6.00 am and finally the jeep came.

Also , they seem to have private parties in the lawns across the rooms. The noise is quite loud but fortunately it dosent go till late at night so not ideal situation but not unbearable also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spent 2 nights here with 7 other family members. From the quick check in to the check out, resort didn't disappoint even for a second. Wide variety of cuisines in the menu all of which was available (in this part of the country, what you see isn't what you always get). The dedicated assamese restaurant (Bhaatban) is a must try for all, even if you are just passing by.

Pool is decent, rooms are quite big, service is excellent. Hands down, among the best resorts in North East.

Room Tip: Stick to the newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohitSarawgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We were on a short vacation and booked ourselves at IORA with not much of an expectation considering the remote location. However on arrival and over the next two days we were pleasantly surprised with the variety of activities the resort had to offer. The room sizes were very large, the quality of linen is excellent, hot water and the steady flow in the shower is worth commenting, the food at both the coffee shop and the speciality Assamese restaurant was excellent. In short a complete quality vacation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Liked the rooms that are nicely done-up to reflect Assam. Beds very comfortable, lighting adequate and well designed. Hotel can try and improve small things like ensuring corridors are properly lit-up (lights are deployed, just not powered-up). Bathrooms have good running Hot water, something which is not easily available in most properties in this price range. Staff very courteous (this perhaps is overall trait of Assamese people). Will surely return here when in Kaziranga next.

Room Tip: The view on 1st floor rooms very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel very close to Kaziranga National Park. Located off the highway, there is a lovely little village road that leads up to the resort.
Rooms: are large and have pretty little balconies where you can enjoy the winter sun. Clean, large bathrooms as well. We had unfortunately gone when there were large groups who had also checked in and they were quite noisy especially in the night which was the only downside.
Food: is good in the main restaurant but the place to absolutely try is the Assamese restaurant-Bhaatbaan. Absolutely delicious local food in a lovely setting. You must eat the breakfast at Bhaatbaan (for which you need to place an order the night before).
Others: For the more adventurous, the hotel offers cycles on an hourly rental.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent three nights at IORA in December 2012 as a big group. I would rate it "as five star as it can be" in the middle of/ close proxomity of a national reserve forest. Our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. As a big group we booked multiple rooms of both Luxury and Supreme catergories (supreme being the more expensive), and I did not see any significant difference in the two to justify the price difference except a small bar size refrigerator in the very slightly bigger room. So if you do not need a refrigerator in room, go for the Luxury, it is just as good. The rooms are nice and clean, food is good, the breakfast buffet was awesome. Room service was not the best but they were very busy, and any other hotel/resort may have been just as late. Overall, I would highly recommend this place if you are planning a trip

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgh0sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
2.1 mi away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
#17 of 61 in Guwahati
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kalash
Hotel Kalash
#3 of 7 in Tezpur
22 reviews
1.7 mi away
Resort Borgos
Resort Borgos
#2 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
200 reviews
9.1 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga

Property: IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Address: Bogorjuri, Kaziranga National Park 785109, India
Location: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Iora - The Retreat,Kaziranga Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing