We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at iora for 2 nights.

The rooms were nice, nice resort , great food.

The only problem we faced was slight lack of coordination. For the animal safari we were told to report at 5.30 am at the reception here. However, there was no one to guide us , the jeep was no there, we keptt on waiting till 6.00 am and finally the jeep came.

Also , they seem to have private parties in the lawns across the rooms. The noise is quite loud but fortunately it dosent go till late at night so not ideal situation but not unbearable also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    150
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
173
97
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spent 2 nights here with 7 other family members. From the quick check in to the check out, resort didn't disappoint even for a second. Wide variety of cuisines in the menu all of which was available (in this part of the country, what you see isn't what you always get). The dedicated assamese restaurant (Bhaatban) is a must try for all, even if you are just passing by.

Pool is decent, rooms are quite big, service is excellent. Hands down, among the best resorts in North East.

Room Tip: Stick to the newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohitSarawgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We were on a short vacation and booked ourselves at IORA with not much of an expectation considering the remote location. However on arrival and over the next two days we were pleasantly surprised with the variety of activities the resort had to offer. The room sizes were very large, the quality of linen is excellent, hot water and the steady flow in the shower is worth commenting, the food at both the coffee shop and the speciality Assamese restaurant was excellent. In short a complete quality vacation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Liked the rooms that are nicely done-up to reflect Assam. Beds very comfortable, lighting adequate and well designed. Hotel can try and improve small things like ensuring corridors are properly lit-up (lights are deployed, just not powered-up). Bathrooms have good running Hot water, something which is not easily available in most properties in this price range. Staff very courteous (this perhaps is overall trait of Assamese people). Will surely return here when in Kaziranga next.

Room Tip: The view on 1st floor rooms very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel very close to Kaziranga National Park. Located off the highway, there is a lovely little village road that leads up to the resort.
Rooms: are large and have pretty little balconies where you can enjoy the winter sun. Clean, large bathrooms as well. We had unfortunately gone when there were large groups who had also checked in and they were quite noisy especially in the night which was the only downside.
Food: is good in the main restaurant but the place to absolutely try is the Assamese restaurant-Bhaatbaan. Absolutely delicious local food in a lovely setting. You must eat the breakfast at Bhaatbaan (for which you need to place an order the night before).
Others: For the more adventurous, the hotel offers cycles on an hourly rental.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent three nights at IORA in December 2012 as a big group. I would rate it "as five star as it can be" in the middle of/ close proxomity of a national reserve forest. Our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. As a big group we booked multiple rooms of both Luxury and Supreme catergories (supreme being the more expensive), and I did not see any significant difference in the two to justify the price difference except a small bar size refrigerator in the very slightly bigger room. So if you do not need a refrigerator in room, go for the Luxury, it is just as good. The rooms are nice and clean, food is good, the breakfast buffet was awesome. Room service was not the best but they were very busy, and any other hotel/resort may have been just as late. Overall, I would highly recommend this place if you are planning a trip

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgh0sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
151 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 with a friend.

Located about 7-8km from the entrance to the Central Range, Iora is an outstanding facility in the Kaziranga area. The hotel is not like a traditional lodge, but definitely delivers all the amenities, one would expect from a decent hotel.

The rooms are large and seem to be recently done up or refurbished (I don't know how old the hotel is). The beds are comfortable and there is backup electricity which kicks in very quickly, if the power goes out. The staff was kind enough to provide a space heater since it was cold and this was powerful enough to make the room quite toasty. There was also Sat TV and Wifi, if you would like to avail yourself of these facilities.

The bathroom had running hot water, good water pressure and a separate shower area...will miracles never cease to happen? Overall, quite clean as well...other than the smell of mothballs, but that's not a deal breaker.

The bar was adequate and the bartender kept us suitably supplied...even setting up dinner for us a couple of times. The restaurant was also ok, and the staff were good. The one complaint would be that the breakfast was supposed to be set up by 7am, so that one may eat before the morning safari, but it was never set p before 730am on our 3 days there...which makes me a bit cranky.

The Assamese specialty restaurant Bhaatbaan (?) was also very good, but the preparation times were snail like...compared to the normal restaurant.

We didn't use the pool or the spa. Also, we used our own safari goes, but the hotel does seem to have cars and guides available.

We used the laundry facilities as well, and they were adequate.

Overall it was a good stay and a welcome break during our travels in the North East of India...which generally had challenging accommodations. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaziranga National Park
2.1 mi away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
71 reviews
38.9 mi away
Hotel KRC Palace
Hotel KRC Palace
#1 of 7 in Tezpur
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
#16 of 60 in Guwahati
56 reviews
9.1 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jonaki Kareng
Jonaki Kareng
#2 of 10 in Kaziranga National Park
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga

Property: IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Address: Bogorjuri, Kaziranga National Park 785109, India
Location: India > Assam > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kaziranga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Iora - The Retreat,Kaziranga Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing