We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IORA - The Retreat,Kaziranga
Nearby Hotels
Resort Borgos(Kaziranga National Park)
$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lily Hotel(Guwahati)
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Infinity Resort Kaziranga(Kaziranga National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Landmark Woods(Kaziranga National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
United 21 Grassland Resorts(Kaziranga National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
202
182
41
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
182
41
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsassamese restaurantswimming poolmain restaurantelephant safarisupreme roomunder maintenancedosasluxury roomrooms are spaciouswell stocked barplace to staycentral rangebreakfast buffet isquality of foodmaintained resortthe entire resortthali
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 441 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were staying at grassland but did not like the place so I took the jeep and started enquiring for other resorts and Iora was on the top of the list. The staff at the reception were very coridal and agreed to take a booking for 4 rooms on the same day without taking an advance payment. Really appreciate the trust.

Rooms were large, clean and well furnished, food was excellent and the place has a very ethinic jungle feel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

What a Place .. Excellent service at IORA ..quality Hotels.. The best Past i like is Great garden and Cycling facility available here.. You can roaming around the resort through cycle..also This is an experience that for a long time to come because of the superb food and amazing service.

Room Tip: Junglee Side ROOM
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSPKOLKATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The entrance to the main Hotel Building area is really awesome ,its a huge property and quiet attractive.
Rooms are average, as in our room some smell was there and continously water was falling from the overflowing water tank outside our room. A real wastage of fresh water, it seems either the person responsible to check the water tank level is always absent or he is busy at some other work. I think someone should teach them about the overflow Valve and Tank water level indicators, it was highly irritating & painful, to see such wastage. Bathrooms were neat and cleaned daily. Average quality of Toiletries are not upto the mark.
They have got a lovely Restaurant, but they need couple of Hours to sevre you your orders,(maybe because of the Rush) food was average but there service was very poor in the restaurant , but excellent in the Room. It is better to avoid their Buffet Breakfast. One of the worst Breakfast, I had in recent time. It was complete chaos. The best part is that you take a coffee or Tea and sit on the Balcony outside the Restaurant and enjoy the weather.There are some good quality Food joints available on the main Highway near this Place, try to have your meals there for change.
They've organised a nice musical program in the evening. Which was very entertaining.We're there during the Christmas hoildays. They have organised a great Christmas party for the Children, which were greatly enjoyed by them.
They have got a lovely Pool. Spa services are very Poor, avoid going there, they will rip you off. They have got Playing Areas like Badminton Courts, but with inadequate lights.Requests for more lights were turned down with no valid reasons.
Take your own Mosquito repellents.
Overall a good property , which is tastefully built. A great Infrastructure has been created, keeping in mind of every comfort, but managed in a very average manner.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Corner near to Pool are to be avoided. Take Ground Floor Rooms in the Old Block, near to the Restaurant.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishweshsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

I started my drive towards Kaziranga around 2.30 pm so it was almost dark when i finally reached the village road to Landmark Woods a little after crossing Burapahar.

The kutcha approach road was hellish, and the whole place looked too dark. When i entered there were no one in the reception. A figure appeared after sometime and quoted a higher price than net, on top of that there was not a single guest in the hotel. So i came back to the highway and drove towards Kohora range.

Here the scene was diffrent, a few shops, few lodges, many hotels and a super smooth road to Iora just near the petrol pump. I enquired about the room rate and left looking for budget options at a place with childhood memories, the Aaranyak / Prasanti lodges. Was dissapointed as they had no rooms, so i came back and the friendly Iora reception chap offered me a discount too.

The walk to the room was nice and the room even nicer. Crisp and new with electric kettle n all. Bathroom was bright and airy with nice fittings. The bed soft and satellite tv connection.

So i freshened up and went to their restaurent for a beer and some snacks. Food took time but the cold beer made it up. Then back to room for some rest and news update after a leisurly walk around hotel compound and checking the laundry room. Dinner was served in the room / butter chicken and butter nan and i felt maybe their non Indian dishes would have been better.

Anyways sleep came easy after a tireing drive and when i woke up in the morning and opened the window, said myself wow. . .the air was so freash i could taste it.

Wasn't able to sleep anymore so went out of the room even though it was dark and talked to the gate man on duty. A local villager he told me about the elephant ride and all. Once back in the room made a cup of cofee and had it in the varandah. Then was the drive to elephant ride point. I however missed the first ride for a few minutes and waited at the entry gate tea stall.

After quiet a wait a forest official took me on a Gypsy to the ride start point. So my second Kaziranga safari began after almost 20 years gap. Didn't see the tiger but saw what it hunted the previous night and lots of deer apart from what else but rhinos.

Post wilderness had breakfast at the hotel which was freshly made simple and filling.

It was a good experience so i did visit and stayed at Iora one more time after a few month's.

Its a nicely made property and if well trained quality professional staff are recruited including a GM with background in the hotel industry, no future property can challenge its superior positioning in the Kaziranga wilderness.

Just don't book if any corporate get together, meet is on, the office crowed can really bring the city pollution along and ruine your holiday, if you know what i mean.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeOngLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

At a world heritage site the expectations are very minimal as regards stay and food specially if you are a vegeterian and in north east. This is an experience that I'll cherish for a long time to come because of the superb food and amazing service. The variety of the food be it starters or main course from local delicacies to chat to mongolian to desserts is outstanding.
Only below average expectation is the room - the layout is a little wierd with luggage and cupboard right at the entry door. If its raining it gets completely wet outside your room as there is no roof between the rooms.
Highly recommended for a business meeting or a large group of more than 40 people.
Had an excellent time at IORA, will like to visit once again if possible.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel for a godd room as the layout is a little wierd with space to keep luggage and cupboards right at the entry door. If its raining it gets completely wet outside your room as there is no roof between the rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NehaPradeepJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews