We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jupuri Ghar was an excellent property”
Review of Jupuri Ghar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaziranga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jupuri Ghar
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Jupuri Ghar was an excellent property.... Simply stunning - almost reason enough to stay here. It had a rustic vibe to it, but definitely enough conveniences. We had to go through a lovely tea garden to reach this beautiful place with well manicured lawns.. Our room was very clean and big with a little veranda.Excellent service and very good food.A must visit for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeghaliAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Kaziranga was always a must visit place for me and I could not resist from enrolling myself to travel with birding experts to this wonderful wildlife haven. The people who organise these trips used to stay in a different hotel in their previous visits and this was the first time they organized a stay at Jupuri Ghar.

Location - Jupuri Ghar is located in Kohora in Assam and though it is located about 215 kms from Guwahati it takes more than five and a half hour to reach this place due to a patch of bad roads and heavy traffic. And if one is starting from Guwahati in mid morning it is advisable to carry packed lunch or as we did, have lunch is one of the dhabas on the way which serve delicious food.

About the resort - The property which is just about 300 metres from the Kohora town and is built on a small hillock. The entry to the Central Range of the park is in Kohora only and is about 2 kms away from the resort. Tourists prefer this range to other ranges of the park. The Eastern Range is about 20 kms away. So if one to go to Eastern Zone then they have to start about 30 minutes early. The property has 8 stand alone wooden cottages on a concrete platform. The property which is not very big, is kind of rectangular in shape and the cottage are on the other end from the entry with four cottages on each side facing each other. The property does not have a swimming pool, which we never missed. In front of the property there are bushes and scrubs and beyond that is a tea garden and behind the property there are big forested hills. The property is enclosed by a wall. There is a bird trail with abundant birding next to the property which leads to the hills behind and we had a nice birding trip one morning which. We could see some old footprints of elephants just next to the property and we even saw a barking deer cross the road just in front of the property. So there is wildlife near the resort also. Also just behind the resort we saw Great Indian Hornbills which had built a nest in a tree. They have a birding expert who can help in taking one around the bird trail. Even though the property is located very near to the town and the main gate of the park which is frequented by lots of tourists, it was very calm and peaceful and one felt being surrounded by a jungle which birds chirping. But your cell phones will have network. They arrange for pick up and drop from Guwahati and can also arrange for safaris for the tourist. There is no room service either hence one has to go to the dining area for breakfast, lunch and dinner. However, the dining area is not very far from all the rooms, it hardly takes a minute to reach there. The property seemed to be well maintained and was clean.

Food: Our group occupied 7 of the cottages and hence, we used to tell them beforehand the menu which they used to prepare for us. We had lunch, breakfast and dinner (once it was Chinese) on all days during out stay. They serve both veg and non-veg food which was not spicy and very delicious. The food was relished by one and all.

Cottages: The cottages which are air conditioned, are quite big in size and were neat and clean. The bathroom has a geyser for hot water. The only problem was on our first morning when there was no water as they had closed the main water tap and we had to go and tell them to open it up. Also for sometime the water in the taps in the bathroom was very muddy and we had to keep the water running for some time to get for clear water. The beds were comfortable. The cottages had a small sit out in the front which faced the small garden in which some trees were planted which did attract some birds and macaques. Yes, you have to careful to lock the door of the cottage shut otherwise macaques can raid them. There are no TVs in the room but they have one in the lounge next to the dining area which we never bothered to switch it on.

Staff – The staff are quite young and very helpful and ensured we had an enjoyable stay.

Cost – As ours was a birding/wildlife trip and not a leisure trip, this tariff was perfect for us. It was value for money and the food being delicious the tariff was reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gautam_Rathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our 2 nights stay at Jupuri Ghar was excellent. Nice cottages and wooded surroundings, very good service, and delicious food.

Within seconds of our arrival, we were served cold drinks. That was just the beginning of the pleasant hospitality extended to us during the rest of our stay. Rooms are built to be in tune with the surrounding wooded area. We woke up to various bird calls and we were able to spot several birds in the area around the hotel.

Rooms were neat but they switch off water supply during night. So if you wake in the middle of the night or very early in the morning, this will be an unpleasant surprise. After the first night, we kept the bucket filled. Also, the water is slightly brown in colour, though nothing happened to us after using it for 2 days.

All in all, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCouple_TWaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed with my family for one night in Jupuri Ghar.The surroundings were just excellent. This place is surrounded by jungle.I wish I could have stayed more. The food was good and not very costly.The staff is friendly.

Room Tip: All the room are best located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANILSETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed with my family ( son and wife ) for two days in Jupuri Ghar. The ambiance was exactly I was looking for. There were forests all around and it was very calm and quiet. The hotel staff were always smiling and were very friendly. They booked all my trips for elephant and Jeep safari. There are no televisions in the rooms which keeps the quiet atmosphere intact. I would suggest this as an excellent resort for the honeymoon couples. I could serve internet well from my android mobile and the signal was good. There are 8 cottages and during my stay there were 2 booked including mine. Whatever I ordered for food they could deliver. There is a big garden and my sin played all along - he enjoyed a lot.
The only disadvantage if there is no facility to call room service. If you have to order for a cup of tea or coffee you have to walk to the restaurant and ask them to order.

Room Tip: If you are looking for any entertainment please carry your ipad for listening to music. There is a T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soudey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and the food is really fantastic! The staff is very friendly and helps you with whatever you need! The bungalows are spacious and ecofriendly. The hotel is situated in a quiet and lush area. We can really recommend this. The only things we missed were the ability to use internet and, for one of us, the matrasses could have been thicker...
A perfect choice if you want to go to Kaziranga!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaochAnso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The area around Kazirangha's main gate is very touristy, but Jupuri Ghar is the perfect escape from all noise and hazzle. There is a cluster of beautiful wooden bungalows around a green lawn, all very well maintained. The bungalows are spotless clean and offer all comfort you can imagine at such a place, The management was very helpful when I booked via telephone only two days in advance, and they arranged all excursions into the national park. There is a reasonable open air restaurant (freezing cold around Christmas). This is. a place well worth to stay longer than just for exploring the National Park once or twice. And all that for a very reasonable price

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADG483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaziranga National Park hotels
3.1 mi away
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
Infinity Resort Kaziranga
#3 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Resort Borgos
Resort Borgos
#2 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Rhino
Camp Rhino
#16 of 24 in Kaziranga National Park
10 reviews
8.0 mi away
United 21 Grassland Resorts
United 21 Grassland Resorts
#6 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupuri Ghar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupuri Ghar

Address: Kaziranga National Park, Kaziranga National Park 785609, India
Location: India > Assam > Nagaon District > Kaziranga National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Kaziranga National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Jupuri Ghar Hotel Kaziranga National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing