We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big name but poor service/ rooms/ food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bomdila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Siphiyang Phong
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bomdila
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big name but poor service/ rooms/ food”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Rooms are very dirty, bathrooms are over flowing. Very less staff. Away from main market. We had got information of this hotel on net but it turned out to be worse. Please opt for Tourist Lodge (by paying little extra) in Bomdila.

Walking in the carpet will even dirty your shoes. The walls in the rooms are equally dirty just like the bedsheets. We had to change it 3 times but without option we had to go with the dirty bedsheet and blanket/ quilt cover.

Three storey high and no lift. Super Deluxe Rooms with exhorbitant tariff are horrible. They match with any road side hotel who charge Rs. 500/-. Only if u exclude AC/ geyser/ heater. there is no difference.

Room Tip: Opt for any other hotel unless you are very adventureous and have extra money to splurge. Carry torc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prasenjit2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    16
    5
    13
See reviews for
12
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dibrugarh, India
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My 1 night stay at this place has given me jitters of lifetime. The hotel looks good from outside but as soon as you enter you feel the stench. A typical smell fills the hotel. Rooms are pathetic, unclean and poorly maintained. Pipes leak in the bathrooms, hot water geysers don't work, toilets are broken, bed sheets are stained and smelly, plug points and switches carry sparks and the appearance is filthy. And above all you are asked to pay 2000-3500 for such rooms. And to add to the pain the staff is not at all courteous, arrogant and foul mouthed. If you complain more than twice regarding the room, food or service, you are bluntly asked to leave the hotel and manage somewhere else. Faced the same threat in middle of the night.
An experience I would pray even my worst enemies won't have. Beware of this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not prefer to stay in any room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BhavikMody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bomdila hotels

Guwahati, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

First of all, the service is extremely worse in this hotel. The manager is not at all co-operative. The room is clean to certain extent. We took a super deluxe room for Rs.2200 but there was nothing super or deluxe in it. The service is extremely poor and useless. Even we did not get any food at night as they had empty kitchen. It was the worst decision in my life as a traveler to stay at this place. Never try to get a taxi by contacting the hotel management, they try to gain commissions . The taxi stand is nearby, go and fix it yourself. They charge Rs.650 for an extra bed which is way too much. And to top it all, the rooms had heaters which were just placed as decorative items. and the geyser didn't work .

Room Tip: No good rooms available here. Bounce to an another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshy_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed 1 night at this hotel because it is right at the Sumo stop where I came in and would leave from again the next day. There is no other reason to stay here!

The room was small and dirty. The carpet was stained and stuck to my feet. There was no towel or pillow slips or top sheet. The pillows have ornamental shams the same as the bedspread which meant everyone sleeps on the same fabric cover. Everything in the room was dilapidated and broken down. There were many, many light fittings but most had no bulbs in them. There was a heater but with the type of heavy duty plug that didn't fit any of the outlets in the room. I guess it was there as a decorative piece rather than something that was for actual use.

The room lock was dodgy - it wouldn't lock easily and once locked wouldn't open again.

And for this I was charged 1300R and that after much haggling to beat them down from a much higher original quote.

There were a few positives - not many but a few. The bedding was relatively clean and very warm which it needed to be given that the heater wasn't functional. The geyser in the bathroom worked well although its lights were non-functional so you wouldn't know it worked without waiting for the water to heat up. The room service food was good. However, when I went to hunt out breakfast in the restaurant in the morning a staff member was busy cleaning his teeth in there and he spat out the window before speaking with me. Not the sort of thing you want to see first thing in the morning.

I travel extensively in many countries and see many hotels in my travels. This one is simply substandard with uncommitted staff and too much dirt. Choose another if you have a choice.

Room Tip: I suspect there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guwahati
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Last year in ithe winter of December on the way to tawang , we stayed for a night at this hotel. It was a smaall hotel with the basic amenities. The only problem was that the heater were not working properly and the attitute of the manager was not so go. However if the services are improved it can be a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitghy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Abu, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have traveled across the world and have stayed at low budget to most expensive places in India and in other parts of the world and I know very well what it takes to run a hotel but this one was the WORST. Supremely dirty with useless manager. It is better to stay in a tent on a road over this place. No water, extremely dirty bedsheets, towels, bathmats. We were given a room with no room keys!! can you imagine? Thank God it was just overnight stay.

Room Tip: Just go to some other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shah_Priyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

first of all there are rarely any good places to stay in bomdila
i went there on my way to tawang for an overnight stay during feb of 2010..to our surprise the whole week was some local festival in arunachal pradesh because of which the markets and everything that a tourist wants was close,,we found the hotel to spend the night,,for a price under 2000 it was a great deal,,the room was of medium size but the bathroom was huge,,hot water was available and service was also satisfying,,the staff was small but cooperative,,our room had big windows and the view was pleasing,,heater was also working well,,though tv was a bit small but it didnt matter at that time,, overall it was a good experience without any hiccups,,i strongly recommend this hotel and hope others will have similar experience if they visit bomdila

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Anshul85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bomdila
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pybss
Hotel Pybss
#2 of 3 in Itanagar
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Radiance International
0.0 mi away
The Eaglenest Residency
The Eaglenest Residency
#1 of 1 in Tenga Market
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siphiyang Phong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siphiyang Phong

Property: Hotel Siphiyang Phong
Address: West Kameng District, Bomdila 790001, India
Location: India > Arunachal Pradesh > West Kameng District > Bomdila
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bomdila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing