We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best...but you are in Silchar.”
Review of Borail View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silchar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borail View Hotel
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel lobby is depressing and old. The elevator didn't work so the poor porter had to lug our heavy suitcases up the stairs. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the street. The room had dark yellow paint that was peeling and florescent white lighting which made it very bleak. There was a wedding taking place in the back of the hotel and the firecrackers sounded like bomb blasts. Bring earplugs if you're sensitive to noise. My room did have some redeeming qualities. It was relatively clean. The sheets had some stains on it but it was laundered, smelled nice and I did not find any stray hairs on it. The TV worked great and had lots of channels. The ceiling fan and AC were both functional. Hot water in the bathroom worked. The hotel does not provide any bottled water in the room, just a stainless thermos with water in it. We departed early next morning so I can't comment on the breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zzzzzzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 41 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Hotel is clean. Rooms are clean and comfortable, big bed, cable TV, air conditioning. Toilet has a commode, hot water and toilet paper. Room service and complimentary breakfast. Can't ask for more in Silchar! Definitely recommend this one over others if you're passing through

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alokhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hi.... I visit this hotel regularly for my office work in silchar.
The hotel is big and catagorised as a 3 star property. The hotel rooms are decent but not properly maintained. The rates are on the ok side for a single room they charge around rs 1500 and for double its around rs 1800.

Lookwise this hotel is the biggest among all in silchar and the staffs of the hotel are really good.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay to all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnbin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

First was very surprised how other people are giving review of 3+ for this very old and worst hotel.Really reviews have mis guided me.Very Old property with Dirty maintenance. Yellow turned White Towel with old broken bathtub. Only little positive thing is staff was friendly. Nothing much to say on this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vny143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

stayed there on three non-consecutive days in Nov./Dec. 2012. the second time because of a wardrobe failure I had to fix (don't ask), the third time because of lazyness to search a better place. Though not entirely disagreeable, there is an urgent necessity to renovate. Paint, replacement of rattling 1960s-or-so-AC.

Service was inconsistent; was surprised on the third stay, that they indeed provide soap and towel. But that was the room, that was CHEAPER and BETTER than the first two stays, maybe a power-clients-discount. The breakfast crew was strong in numbers and low in output, the desk however friendly.

Overall: ok, but could do better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeraldFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were driving from Shillong to Aizawl and had to make a night halt in Silchar . We had not made any prior booking and on arrival discovered that the North East Football Tournament was under way in Silchar, so all the hotels were fully booked. After trying a number of hotels we were finally able to get a room at the Borail View. The hotel building is quite imposing and each room has a balcony overlooking the PWD Park across the road.
The rooms are fair sized and well furnished, but are in a terrible state of disrepair. They urgently require a coat of paint as well as a change of carpets and linen which are now well worn.
All the rooms are air-conditioned and provided with TVs. The toilets are also well laid out with bath-tubs too.
There is adequate secure parking space in the front of the hotel.
The staff is friendly though not very efficient.
There is a large reception area with an adjoining dining hall.
The room tariff includes complimentary breakfast, but is much too high for this hotel in its present condition!! Perhaps this tariff was set earlier when the hotel was at its prime!! Now needs to be revised downward if they hope to attract custom.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors, they are quieter and have better views of the Park across.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ashok123w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Silchar is a very small city and not much to see. This hotel is the best in town and reflects the Assamese style. For local standard, its the biggest hotel and has a big parking lot which other hotels in Silchar does not provide. The wall paints has come off as the renovation is on the cards. Hardly any reception specialities. Very normal ambience in Borail View Hotel. Rooms are very standard. From the room standard, it looks very old as the ACs are very old. Water heater facility is there as the place is little bit cool in november. But the batroom is old and towels are not so clean. For reasonable rate, this hotel is the ideal for 2/3 nights stay. Room service was is very good which made the stay not so bad. The other best thing is the Tata Sky connection and you can watch all channels that are offered in India. Better try the food outside.

Room Tip: Better to book in advance as this hotel is in very much demand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cool-Bubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borail View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borail View Hotel

Address: Park road, Silchar 788001, India
Location: India > Assam > Cachar District > Silchar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Silchar
Price Range: $25 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing