We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, a home from home”

Burn House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lowick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burn House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Lowick B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived at Burn House on a wet afternoon to be met with smiles, a private lounge and tea and cake. This was the start of 5 days of comfort. The bedroom was large and so quiet with lovely views over the garden. Margaret & Don were very attentive, always ready with refreshments when we arrived home. The local Black Bull pub is a just short walk away for a good evening meal, but don't eat too much as you will want Don's breakfast the next day. Breakfasts were wonderful and the time when Don told us about the area and wetted our appetites for more. If only all B&Bs and hotels were this good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 29 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2010

We spent three nights with Margaret and Don in July - a truly excellent experience. They were friendly, solicitous and informative, without being in any way fussy. Don presides over the breakfasts which are made to order and delicious. Ask him how he makes his poached eggs! Don't pass on the inclusive afternoon tea or late evening supper - Margaret's scones and cakes are out of this world. Bedrooms are beautifully appointed with nice little touches like flowers from their lovely garden and chocolates. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourpoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Be careful if you stay at Burn House - it's so good you won't want to try anywhere else. From the minute you arrive to when you reluctantly leave, you feel like you've staying with friends rather than in a guest house. Margaret and Don certainly are naturals at making you feel welcome and at home. Greeted with home made cake (absolutely scrumptious) and tea in your very own sitting room, nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfasts are cooked to perfection and certainly set you up for the day! The location was perfect for us and an evening meal at the Black Bull was really good and very good value for money. The bedrooms are lovely and sunny and the place is peaceful and quiet which is just what we needed. No hesitation whatsoever in recommending this B&B but keep it to yourself, we don't want everyone to know about it!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Just back from 3 nights at Burn House where the hospitality was second to none. Don and Margaret provided a very friendly and informal welcome; tea and cake in abundance! The ensuite room was very roomy and comfortable and the bonus of a personal lounge was a big treat. Breakfast - wow! It certainly set us up for the day. The B & B is located within a few minutes walk from the Black Bull, which is a comfortable local with excellent food, and is also a few minutes from the A1 from where Northumberland is your oyster. Don and Margaret were very helpful and informative in advising of places of interest. We visited plenty of them. An excellent visit and we're currently planning our return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Cueys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Burn House is a fabulous place to stay. Margaret and Don welcomed us into their home as if we were old friends, and immediately provided tea and cake (the chocolate cake is incredible). The rooms were spotless, beautifully furnished and included lots of complimentary toiletries, robes, chocolates, and a bag of 'things you might have forgotten'. There is a wide choice for breakfast, all expertly cooked by Don who clearly understands how to prepare and present good food. Margaret booked tables for us at the Black Bull (within walking distance and very good) and at Milan, a fantastic Italian restaurant in Woller, a short drive away.

This is a seriously good house, run by interesting and intelligent people for whom nothing is too much trouble. Why isn't every B & B like this?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaroldTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

It is hard to add to the accurate and enthusiastic reviews already given. But this B&B gets everything right - warm and friendly without being intrusive, a kitchen/dining room which allows you to see the meticulous attention to detail in the cooking and the layout, with nothing hidden and everything spotless, use of fresh garden herbs where appropriate (and a small floral touch by your plate) - yet not fussy or overdone. Don and Margaret can provide information and help, or entertain you with local stories and the history of their B&B. After 3 nights we felt we had made new friends of the sort you really want to keep in touch with. Even if you weren't planning to go to Northumberland, this B&B would make it worth the trip!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasseurQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Beautifully decorated and furnished with great attention to detail. The hosts were charming, helpful and attentive and provided us with our own private lounge with TV etc and selection of wine, where afternoon tea can be taken accompanied with Margaret's delicious home made cake. . Don's breakfasts were to die for both in quality and quantity. The local pub The Black Bull , recently under new management had good beer and a good quality resturant

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djcbenfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowick
0.2 mi away
Black Bull Inn
Black Bull Inn
#1 of 6 in Lowick
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angel Cottage B&B
Angel Cottage B&B
#3 of 6 in Lowick
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#2 of 6 in Lowick
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Lindisfarne Inn
The Lindisfarne Inn
#14 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homestead Guesthouse
Homestead Guesthouse
#4 of 6 in Lowick
12 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burn House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burn House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lowick Common, Lowick, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Lowick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lowick
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing