We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch!”
Review of The Black Bull Inn

The Black Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Lowick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $44
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had lunch at The Black Bull which was excellent. Creamy garlic mushrooms from the small plates menu and a delicious battered fish (more like a whale!) & handcut chips from the main menu. Great speedy service from a friendly team!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesoli1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not far off the A1, the Black Bull would be a good choice either if travelling through or holidaying in Northumberland. The restaurant is bright and airy with very friendly staff and a good choice of dishes made from local produce.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a let down after reading many good reviews. The staff were pleasant , the starters were good but 2 out of 4 mains were unacceptable. A lamb ordered as well done was ‘bloody’ and the haddock was dry with burnt batter! We were offered a replacement but could not wait another 30 minutes.
Cannot understand a chef that lets food out of the kitchen like this .
Will not be returning.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank patrickl870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBull1817, Owner at The Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

As a team that genuinely come to work everyday to give our guests our best, we can only deeply hurt to receive this damaging and devastating review. We would never profess to be perfect but understand that your expectation had been raised by the many satisfied guests that have left us positive reviews. We do apologise that the lamb was not served as you requested and as you stated, we offered to rectify the matter immediately. We would of course have fast tracked any replacement meal. We are proud of our homemade crispy beer batter and have served thousands of satisfied customers with that dish. We will most certainly apologise and admit when we get something wrong but have to say that the homemade gluten free beer batter, whilst being unashamedly extremely crispy, was certainly not burned. Neither our kitchen or our front of house team would have sent out burned food. You chose not mention that given we had made a genuine mistake you received a profuse apology and you did not have pay for the lamb, you also received a further discount on the fish as gesture of goodwill despite clearing the plate. The "pleasant" staff that you describe are young and enthusiastic and have worked extremely hard to serve their guests and build their reputation. Surely, they deserve better than to receive insulting emojis and to be accosted in the car park with demands to have all of your food for free for the whole party of four. We are friendly, decent, honest people and cannot understand why such hostility is necessary. In the meantime we will not be deterred from continuing to give our absolute best to our guests every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in their beautiful,modern rooms for 2 nights B&B ,
We had a lovely room ,comfortable bed,lovely appointed bathroom and had a fabulous breakfast .
Dinner in the restaurant was also very good and there is a great menu with plenty choices ,nightly specials ,amazing pies and good sized portions .
Locals obviously have taken this place to their heart as it was always busy .
There is also a coffee shop with lovely cakes for the non drinkers and ladies who like a quiet spot on their own ..
Bar sells real ales and theres also a considerable gin menu with local specialities.
Overall a lovely stay,the service was maybe a little slow but they were pretty busy but always very happy to help or advise .
Would reccomend for short visits to local tourist sights ie Cragside .

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hobgob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBull1817, Owner at The Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to say with us recently and for taking the time to leave this kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experiences, our rooms and our bar. We also appreciate you recommending us to others and in particular your kind words about our team. We hope to be able to welcome you on a future visit to Northumberland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here last night (Sunday 18th August).

We were staying at haggerston castle for the weekend, and while the food there is fine for a quick snack, there is nothing for a good evening meal and we dont ‘do’ self catering.

I researched decent eating places in the area for a nice evening meal, specifically wanting a nice gastropub.

The black bull looked perfect, showing their menus online, including for kids as we had two 14 year olds with us.

Easy enough to get to, lovely village setting and I loved the interior. Country and cosy, yet fresh.

Staff were all very friendly and it was quite busy for a Sunday evening (a good indication to the popularity, as the Saturday evening prior was all booked up for my chosen time slot).

As they were busy, service was a tad slow but we weren’t in a hurry.

My husband had the lamb, I had the maize fed chicken, my daughter the kids chicken nuggets and chips and my nephew the kids pasta (he had this plain, no sauce. As he is incredibly fussy, the pasta also came the ‘wrong’ shape, being advertised as penne yet turning up as tagliatelle much to his horror. Was quickly sorted to spiral pasta as no penne left, and removed from our bill without us asking).

Also had 3 desserts, the sticky toffee pudding, double chocolate brownie and ice cream and kids sticky toffee pudding - I was very impressed my daughter could have any flavour from the a la Carte of choosing instead of just vanilla with the pudding, for no extra cost.

I loved this restaurant and had a nice relaxed evening. I would highly recommend.

As they are seemingly so popular, don’t expect to rush in and out but expect to have a nice couple of hours, more if having alcohol/coffees.

The highlight of our trip!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank lovesarigerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBull1817, Owner at The Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to post this comprehensive and glowing review. We are absolutely thrilled to receive your high praise and it means so much to us hear that your visit to us was the highlight of your trip. It gives us immense satisfaction to think that we may have in some way helped you enjoy your holiday in Northumberland a little more. We do hope that you will visit us again on a future visit to Northumberland and of course if you really don't do self catering we have 10 lovely rooms you can choose from ! Thank you once again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bull Inn also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Chatton, Northumberland
 
Belford, Northumberland
Wooler, Northumberland
 
Belford, Northumberland
Milfield, Northumberland
 

Been to The Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing