We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primrose Cottage

Primrose Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lowick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Primrose Cottage
Ranked #2 of 5 Lowick B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for four nights in Primrose Cottage. Irene and Bob are perfect hosts. We were met with tea and scones, which was delicious and very welcome after our journey. The breakfast is faultless, I can recommend the scrambled eggs and salmon ! Our room ( more like a suite ) was lovely, tastefully decorated throughout in blue and white, with it's own lounge. CD and DVD players provided, games such as scrabble were also provided. We did not want to leave and cannot wait to stay again !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
45
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay at Primrose Cottage - what a fantastic place to stay! From arriving to leaving we were treated as friends by Irene and Bob who were perfect hosts. Our room was excellent; very comfortable and all the little touches such as a vast array or toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and dressing gowns provided. We were greeted with tea and home made scones; alongside a friendly chat. Irene and Bob were very helpful in recommending places to visit and eat during our stay as well as having lots of information about the local area. The breakfasts are fab - nothing is too much trouble and the choices are endless. We had a great time and were sorry to leave. I would highly recommend this lovely B and b to everyone and will definitely return to this gem in Northumberland. Thankyou Irene and Bob.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. The accommodation is excellent. Every little detail has been thought of. We were greeted with homemade scones and tea. The room had its own very comfortable lounge. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided as were all the toiletries you could need. Breakfast was made to order and was lovely. Bob and Irene were very helpful in recommending places to go and had lots of information at hand. Would definitely return here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Unfortunately our stay at Primrose Cottage was only one night - we would have stayed longer but having neglected to book beforehand, the cottage was fully booked on other nights. Not surprising as it was such a lovely place to stay. The proprietors were very friendly - we were greeted with a cup of tea and a scone!- and the room (with adjoining lounge) was very comfortable, Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby. Bob and Irene are lovely and very welcoming, room was large, clean and well equipped with a really powerful shower. Fresh scones on arrival was a really nice touch. Breakfast was delicious.....Perfect B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Primrose cottage is beautiful & the garden is so pretty. We stayed in the family room which was spotlessly clean. The owners are so nice & welcoming & we also were greeted with fresh scones & tea on arrival. It is located in the small village of Lowick, which is 9 miles outside the town of Berwick upon Tweed - very quiet but there are two pubs within minutes. We had a very nice meal at the Black Bull. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebro50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

There's nothing I can add to the rest of the reviews as they have said it all. This is the best bed and breakfast we have ever been to and my only regret is that it was only for one night. Everything about it says "excellence" and Bob and Irene are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lowick hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#4 of 5 in Lowick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel Cottage B&B
Angel Cottage B&B
#1 of 5 in Lowick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Cottage

Property: Primrose Cottage
Address: 28 Main Street, Lowick TD15 2UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Lowick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lowick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Primrose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing