We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Home with a view”
Review of Malakkarethu House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aranmula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malakkarethu House
Ranked #1 of 1 Aranmula B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Three of us stayed at Malakkarethu House in the first week of Sept.2012 and we had come here to witness the Aranmulla boat race. Its a beautiful property, set amidst a prfusion of trees and flowers. Being on the banks of the river Pamba, its probably the best location to witness the Aranmulla boat race.The finishing line ia abeam of the property and its elevation makes it a vantage point of excellence for photographers. The famous Sr.Parthasarthy temple is but a few steps away from Malakkrethu house.
The owner. Dr.Prof. Sujatha was at her door-step to welcome us when we arrived and from that moment onwards ensured that all facets of our comfort and well being were taken care of, during our stay in her home. The food served at all meals was excellent, as was the service of the staff. Malakkrethu house epitomises what an ideal home stay should be.
I will have no hesitation in recommending a visit to Malakkrethu house to anyone visiting Kerala - to savour Indian hospitality at its best. I look forward to my next visit to Malakkrethu house.

Ravindra Ramarao,
Bangalore

Room Tip: Whilst all the rooms are excellent, the ones overlooking the Pamba river offer an excellent view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravindra846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujatha17, Owner at Malakkarethu House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Sir,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Aranmula. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Sujatha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Malakkarethu House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

I just want to reiterate what ever the reviews had already written about the Malakkarethu House. There would be more holidays and there could be exotic places that i may go to but Aranmula and the Malakkarethu House would always remain closer to my heart. Truly God's own :-), the house has a touch of tradition whether it comes to the architecture or the interiors. The Malakkarethu House transcends itself in to a beautiful home with such lovely hosts. The property is right on the banks of the river Pamaba with spacious rooms and balconies overlooking the splendid river and the whole stay was so refreshing and no one can ask for more

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kallipatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujatha17, Owner at Malakkarethu House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind words; pleased to know that you enjoyed the visit to Aranmula.

Best regards,
Sujatha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Apart from being set in the lush green of the Keralan country with the sound of the wind buzzing through the trees, insect calls, bird song and the flow of water from the Pampa flowing in your back yard, the hospitality and homely feel to this home-stay is what makes your visit relaxed and easy.

Whether it be conversation about the history of the place, the Parthasarthy and Ganesh temples, the metal mirrors, the traditional snake boat race or current day events, literature and art or food served from that ever bustling kitchen of Malakkarethu, Dr Sujatha is the hostess with the mostess.

The view of the Aranmula Regatta was a surprise bonus and cannot be left without mention from the specially erected shelter. From here one could see the whole river pageant and witness the regatta without any hinderance to view.

As four friends we occupied 2 rooms overlooking the river and were fed and watered with delicious Keralan meals throughout the day and tit bits of crunchies and munchies from the pantry.

One never felt ever in want. Also, remembering my strong 'chai' with the right amount of sugar (being a diabetic) made such a difference from most other places I have been before.

Thank you Dr Sujatha and team for making my stay memorable. Now you have left us pampered to come back for more.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony facing the river are the best. All are clean with clean bed and bath line...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinodh-Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Malakkararethu House is picturesque property, with a beautiful garden of every conceivable tree and flower, on the banks of a river. The hosts are warm and hospitable and genuinely want to make your stay a happy one. The food is home cooked and delicious. Everything is fresh and organic, grown in their own garden and is unbelievably tasty.

Do try it. You won’t be disappointed. We are definitely going back!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Pamba river.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samotheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

It was more than we anticipated, we spotted Malakkaerthu house via internet and closely scrutinised the photos before making the reservations. We still had apprehensions on how the stay would be as we travelled but once we reached there and was ushered into our room, all our doubts were laid to rest. We received a warm reception when we arrived and were thrilled by the decorations and cleanliness of the house. The lush green and well maintained sorroundings adds a charm of its own. The furnitures and beds were clean and well maintained. Breakfast and meals were more than we could eat and all at a reasonable price. We look forward to staying there in our next trip too.

Room Tip: Choose the one that has the view to the river. Sitting in the balcony and watching the river flow by...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandra2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our stay at Malakkarethu House was an awesome experience!! The family and owners were very warm and freindly and took care of us as family. The property is a very pleasant and beautiful and is surrounded by a lush green garden right on the river. The rooms are airy, clean with clean beds, linen and towels. The house is such situated that it is very near all amenities and yet is very quiet.
The food is excellent and one is well adviced that when at Malakkarethu house eat food at home always and not outside!!
The staff was very friendly and caring and went out of the way to ensure we had a good stay. We were with 2 boisterous kids and they enjoyed the stay at the place so much that they want to return again soon! Which we shall!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but first foor rooms are quiter and give a good view of the river
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rathesun10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

It was an awesome experience staying at your place. The classic rooms, calm and pleasant surroundings, amazing facilities with sumptuous food lingers in our heart evergreen. They have clean and hygienic bathrooms, neatly made beds and tidy towels and bedsheets to make our stay more comfortable. More than the rooms the hospitality by the people there was unforgettable. 'Thanks' would be a small word to show our gratitude for all their love and care showed on us and especially on our kids. I would strongly recommend this place as a 'perfect one' even for kids and old-aged. Special thanks for the freedom they gave us in their kitchen to cook ourselves. The view from each room was mind-blowing. It was a beautiful stay we have ever had.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aranmula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aranmula
7.8 mi away
Shanthi Hotel and Residency
Shanthi Hotel and Residency
#1 of 4 in Pathanamthitta
1 reviews
8.5 mi away
Club 7 Hotel
Club 7 Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thiruvalla
68 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mannaas Veedu
Mannaas Veedu
#1 of 9 in Pathanamthitta
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malakkarethu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malakkarethu House

Address: Aranmula, Aranmula 689533, India
Location: India > Kerala > Pathanamthitta District > Aranmula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aranmula
Price Range: $55 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run homestay in Central Kerala possessing a diamond category certificate from the Tourism Department, Kerala. Overlooking the Pamba river and nestled amidst coconut palms and nutmeg trees, Malakkarethu House is a warm and friendly place to stay and it offers the ambience of a home to every visitor. We have six elegantly furnished, spacious AC bedrooms; four bedrooms on the first floor have private balconies offering a breathtaking view of the river. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing