We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Holiday 3rd Time lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Davvi Arctic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Davvi Arctic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Holiday 3rd Time lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd trip to the Davvi and have to say it is still as good as the first time only we got to see the lights every night.The displays this year will remain with me for EVER.everything was as expected the all staff were great cant fault ANYTHING.well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    237
    86
    34
    33
See reviews for
275
273
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Our holiday got off to a slightly dodgy start! When we got to the airport, despite having booked some months ago and having our booking ref etc, we were not on the manifest and it took over an hour to sort it out. The outward flight was on time and we had plenty of leg room. Transfer from airport to hotel (approx 2 hours) went very smoothly and we even got a view of the Northern Lights from the coach. On arrival at the Davvi Lodge the driver threw the bags in a pile next to deep snow so bag collection was quite chaotic. However, this was soon forgotten once in our lovely warm cabin with our private sauna. We knew from reading previous reviews that the cabins aren't luxurious but they are reasonably spacious, clean and warm. We took a travel kettle, tea bags and drinking chocolate so we could have drinks whenever we wanted. We were extremely impressed with the way the activities were planning and carried out and all the staff were knowledgeable and helpful with Quincy providing the comedy! The food is all provided 'buffet' style with a small selection and I always found something to fill me up but some did find it more challenging. For a bit of variation there is a small restaurant come shop/off licence come petrol station within easy walking distance and I enjoyed a reindeer steak there. You can also walk to the Swedish side of the village in your down time. The scenery takes your breath away and everyone was so friendly. We had some great evenings out waiting for or watching the Northern Lights, in fact we were lucky enough to see the lights every night that we were there. There is deep powdery snow everywhere so even at the dead of night with the sun down it doesn't go completely dark. Despite this you still get a fabulous view of the stars. I would say that probably 80% of the guests were in the 'couples over 50' category and as long as you are reasonable fit all the activities are manageable - whether you are good at them or not is another matter. Cross country skiing seemed to be the one that challenged the most. Check-out and transfer back to the airport was easy - when we had our bags packed and were ready to go for lunch we took our bags to the main building to await the coach. A leisurely lunch followed by the drive to the airport, this time in daylight, was enjoyable. I would recommend that you take any refreshments that you may need at Kiruna airport as it is small and doesn't have many facilities. Check in took absolutely ages as a high percentage of the passengers were not on the manifest and so details had to be entered manually. It took so long to check us in that the aircraft was half an hour late in departing. I think that Transun's admin was a little lacking but the holiday overall was quite magical.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LOVEHOLIDAYSLOVESUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed in the fell house accomodation which was roomy, clean and warm, with a TV and DVD player (although we never had cause to use them)
The main lodge was a few minutes walk from the feel house, through the snowy woods on a slightly uphill path which may not be suitable for anyone who is not too steady on their feet although we had no trouble at all.
Meals are served at the main lodge & are fantastic ! The chef did an incedible job in providing an interesting and varied menu, with everything tasting great !
All the staff worked harder than can be believed but were always so friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble.
The included excursions were all very well organised and were all great fun too (snow mobiling, cross country skiing, reindeer sleigh rides at the farm, husky sledding etc etc)
We opted for a night in the igloo which is built in the grounds not far from the main lodge & this was also great fun although extremely cold (as expected).
The icing on the cake was the fact that we were saw the Northern lights every night, with the most breathtaking display you could ever imagine on the evening of 01/03/12 !!

The only slight criticism would be that Transun changed our accomodation 3 times in the weeks leading up to our departure... we firstly booked and paid for a private cabin but was then informed that this was then not available several weeks later. We then booked the (under construction) new accomodation as this was all that was available at the time, only to then be told about a month later that this was not going to be ready in time !
As luck would have it, we were then moved to the fell house accomodation which was huge and was actually better than we expected so it all worked out in the end....

Also, Transun failed to include all the passengers names on the flight manifest which resulted in an incredibly long and difficult check in process when returning home.

All in all though, this was an overall fantastic holiday which I would recommend to anyone...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Just returned from the most amazing week at Davvi Arctic Lodge, travelling with Transun. The week was faultless in every respect. Flight with Jet2.com was on schedule. We opted for an upstairs hotel room with fantastic views across to Sweden. Rooms were very warm, spacious with authentic log decor, beds with thick Tempura memory foam mattresses. I have two chronic health conditions, so for me, having a comfortable night's sleep was paramount - and I got it!! Plenty of storage space and good hot showers. The food was excellent - good old fashioned hearty cooking, and plenty of it. Bar prices were reasonable too. Tea and coffee included during meals, and also available at the bar outside of mealtimes. All the staff were so happy and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble, and always available for a chat or advice. The trips were very well organised in small groups of about 10, so we didn't feel like tourists being herded about. Safety was paramount, and minibus transfers well organised and efficient. Optional excursions were available but we felt we had enough to do with snowmobile safari, cross-country skiing, fell walking,husky safari, reindeer safari, Sami museum, ice castle and knife factory visits included in our holiday. Plenty of time to walk across to Sweden and visit the sweet man in the little museum, the large and small churches. The tourist information in Sweden has cafe, and toilets - (closed Saturdays). Plenty of time for tobogganing down "Cardiac Hill". Never seen so many over 60/65 year olds having endless fun in the snow!! The suits and boots kept us cosy and warm, with one one or maybe two layers underneath. The icing on the cake was the Northern Lights which we were so lucky to see on EVERY evening, from day one on the coach transfer from the airport, through the seven days to the plane journey home. The 1st March was spectacular, the night sky lit up for hours, with huge dancing curtains. All the sharing of our adventures of the day with other guests in the evenings, made our time at Davvi all the more memorable. 7 days of excellence!! Thank you Davvi and thank you Transun.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

the staff were absolutely fantastic from rachel on reception to quincy and all in between the experience takes some beating and we were lucky enough to see the lights.the food was varied and sometimes better than others but non the less plenty of it.overall a brilliant experience.ps take lighter clothing for hotel because it is kept extremely warm

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful week in the Arctic Circle travelling with transun and staying at the fantastic Davvi Arctic Lodge. We stayed in a cabin, which was very comfortable and well presented, with our private sauna. The meals were varied and extremely tasty and the head chef, Will Boyce, provided the best selection of dishes we have ever in a hotel. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble - they gave the holiday a really relaxed feel but extremely well organised. The activities that were part of our itenary; cross country skiing, snowmobiling, dog sledding to name but a few, were well organised and pushed us to the limits but not over anyones' capabilities.
The highlight though was not organised or scheduled - we saw the Northern Lights every night for 7 days and mid-week were treated to a 2 hour magical display which even the locals commented on! This was a fantastic experience but was a definite bonus and if we hadn't have seen the Lights, the holiday itenary, hotel, staff and the wonderful scenery would have still meant that we would've had an amazing time.

Room Tip: The cabins are ideal for couples and very private in beautiful surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just got back from 7 night trip with Transun to the Davvi Arctic Lodge (19th-26th February 2012).
We thought this was a well organised and thoroughly enjoyable trip.
Booking staff were friendly and helpful.
Flight with Jet2.com was on time, good selection of snacks to purchase, flight attendants friendly - even though flight out was 4am and one back at 9pm.
Transfer were in comfortable and spacious coaches.
Accommodation was great (we stayed in a cabin for 4 nights, the igloo for one night and then had 2 nights in the hotel).
I am a really fussy eater but the food was great and offered good variety of choices (and yes there were fresh tomatoes)
Activities were very well organised and great fun.
It was minus 20 most nights and minus 10 most days but the suits and boots provided worked really well over thermals.
All staff and activity reps were very helpful and polite.
We loved the ice fishing experience but its NOT for serious fishermen as you would be VERY lucky to catch anything - its more about the experience and making the hole through the thick ice.

We saw the Northern Lights 4 nights out of 7 so were VERY lucky (HINT:- check the lunar cycle, as its better to go when its a new moon NOT full moon). You do have to be patient and stand around up the hill waiting but there is a sky full of stars to look at!

I would definitely book this trip again.

Good Luck

Room Tip: The cabins aren't very sound proof so you'd be better in the hotel if you are a light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jules286903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Davvi Arctic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davvi Arctic Lodge

Property: Davvi Arctic Lodge
Address: Kaesivarrentie 3771, Karesuvanto 99470, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Karesuvanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Hotel Class:3 star — Davvi Arctic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Davvi Arctic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davvi Arctic Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Arctic Lodge Karesuvanto, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing