We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Oceanfront B&B”
Review of 8 Al Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
8 Al Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Pichilemu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is by far one of the best hotels/B&Bs I've ever stayed at. If you're looking for a relaxing, quiet ocean view stay this is the spot. It's a beautifully designed hotel with very natural, warm decor. The owner, Claudia, is super helpful and amazing and makes you feel very welcome. There's a great little restaurant in walking distance so you almost never need to leave the hotel. And you won't ever want to leave once you curl up in a chair with a book listening to the waves crash against the rocks with a nice glass of wine from the honor bar in your hand or relax in one of the 3 hot tubs at sunset. This is a gem that I almost don't want to share with anyone else!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My significant other and I spent 4 nights at 8 al Mar. In fact, we enjoyed our stay so much we extended it by two nights. The hotel is on a quiet part of the beach. Each room is spacious, modern with breathtaking views of the ocean. Each detail of the hotel design is thoughtful and beautifully done. The hotel feels like it's designed into the natural beauty of the beach with wood structures and branches to guide you into mineral hot tubs. You listen to the waves each night and wake up to breakfast in bed in the morning. The proprietor of the hotel, Claudia, went out of her way to be helpful and make us feel welcome. We enjoyed the scenic outdoors, ate exceptionally well and luxuriated. Pichilemu and 8 al Mar were our favorite parts of our Chilean holiday.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are designed to have very similar views so you cannot choose a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rini80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I loved it. A bit of luxury in this low key beach town. It is owned by a local couple and they could not have been more helpful. It is set up on its own bluff with stunning views of the rocky coast and the pounding Pacific.

You can fall asleep to the waves crashing on the shore. The architecture is beautiful. The atmosphere is relaxing and comfortable a perfect oasis to return to at the end of the day. The modern rooms all face the ocean and have balconies, beach towels, robes, safes, flat screens and if you need anything Claudia will do everything she can to get it for you.

One of the 4 hot tubs filled with ocean water is the perfect place to watch sunset. We took breakfast, it’s included, on the sundeck. Prepare for a feast. They have an honor bar in the community living room where the prices are reasonable.

The owners of this place seem to have done everything right; from the way they built and decorated the hotel to the way they treat their guest it is first class. The cost for such a wonderful place to lay your head or just to hang out and catch some rays is about $200.
Walking distance from the hotel is Costa Luna, we liked it so much we ate there twice. It overlooks the ocean and the deck is a nice place to watch the sunset. If you are looking for things to do in this town see KimSegal.com.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

8 Al Mar is one of the best hotels/bed and breakfast I've stayed at. There are only 8 rooms that each face a stunning view of the ocean which reminds me of the rocky coast of Big Sur in California. The hotel is less than a year old and combines a modern sensibility with warm woods resulting in a warm feeling of being embraced by the environment. Equally important, the owners are the most delightful and wonderful people bringing fresh flowers to the room, singing Happy Birthday to me, making suggestions and reservations at the best restaurants in town. Pichilemu is known for its surfing and beaches. It is a bit remote so a car is needed to get there. But...oh waht a delight when you're there!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cristobal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Raquel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pichilemu hotels
2.5 mi away
Cuarzo Lodge
Cuarzo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pichilemu
168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Surf lodge Punta de Lobos
Surf lodge Punta de Lobos
#3 of 3 in Pichilemu
170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Alaia
Hotel Alaia
#2 of 3 in Pichilemu
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lodge Del Mar
Lodge Del Mar
#1 of 20 in Pichilemu
175 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ruka Lobos
Ruka Lobos
#3 of 20 in Pichilemu
27 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tripanko Lodge & Bungalows
Tripanko Lodge & Bungalows
#5 of 75 in Pichilemu
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Al Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Al Mar

Address: Avenida Costanera 1345 | Infiernillo, Pichilemu, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Pichilemu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Pichilemu
Price Range: $182 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 8 Al Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing