We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to relax and Eat !!”
Review of Blue Waters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Waters
Ranked #1 of 6 Kundapur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A couple friend of ours, with our family and my daughter chanced upon this place in the last min, and must admit, that was the best part of the trip. Fairly nondescript location, but compelling ambiance and food will surely make this popular over time. I cant praise the staff enough, their ever helping and cheerful attitude, coupled with the great cuisine and food will wear away all your travel woes and other hectic chores. Plan to stay here, if you intend to cover the nearby places such as temple visits and the popular Marvanthe beach etc.,

Room Tip: Choose the beachview suite, the balcony is a good place to chill looking at the waters
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJonmove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Blue Waters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

spent the most beautiful two days at Blue Waters, Kundapura, 90 kms north of Mangalore on the coast. Such a relief from the expensive, over hyped and overcrowded resorts around. The hotel is this little piece of joy, on the backwaters. It has an in house restaurant which dishes out fantastic local cuisine at even more fantastic rates :-D.... check it out ... Blue Waters and Kundapura for a quiet two - three days or a noisy weekend with friends with good food, great pool and wonderful service and accommodation- two thumbs up!!!

and no... the owner is not a friend of mine ;-)

Room Tip: Choose the backwater suite. It has a fantastic view of the backwaters and is simply the best. The se...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayatri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Its quite a nice place, though not known much. We stayed here for our visit to Kollur.There is nothing much to do in the town except for the beach and temples near by( that is if you dont mind travelling 1hr,for staying in a better place). The hotels near the temple are not quite great in terms of facilities and cleanliness. So we didnt mind travelling up to the temple and coming back. The staffs were very nice and catered to all our requests.The location is also good. If you just want a short relaxing stay,clubbed with your temple visits of Kollur/Udupi/Murudeshwar, I would surely recommend this place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anish1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were doing a driving trip through Bangalore-Shimoga-Karwar-Mangalore-Hassan-Bangalore, and wanted to stop a night between Karwar and Mangalore. It was purely a matter of chance that I came upon Blue Waters, trusted the very few reviews on Tripadvisor, and chose to stay in Kundapur over Murudeshwar and Marawanthe... But I had not expected this oasis in a nondescript small town like Kundapur.

It's a 1-yr old and relatively small property that has been done up (and maintained) really well. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms very well-appointed. It's situated right on the backwaters, so the large balconies of the water-view suites are perfect for lazing in and watching the ebb and flow of the backwaters. There's a fishing village right next door, so you can stroll over for a short walk and get a glimpse of their lives. The staff was the icing on the cake - they served us with a smile throughout, and went out of their way to make us happy. They even had someone wait in a queue at Shetty Lunch Home to get their famous Chicken Ghee Roast for us (it's a must have in Kundapur - people in the region flock in for this specialty which only Shetty makes). It's much more expensive than Turtle Bay or other properties in the area, but is also much better - so I thought it was excellent value for money as well.

Room Tip: The water-view suites on the first floor offer excellent views of the backwaters. The ground floor v...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arigho57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here after visiting Mookambika Devi temple in Kollur. It was a surprise, as I didn't expect such quality in a small towm. The staff were very friendly & went out of their way to ensure that my kids got what they wanted to eat. Both my kids, one hard to please and the other fussy, came back impressed .The hotel is in a peaceful, quiet location along the banks of a river. From the balcony, we could view the estuary. They even arranged for a boatride in one of the fisherfolks' boats.Maravante beach is a 15 mins drive from this place, a virgin beach which is very clean. Proof that its the tourists who are responsible for the filth on other popular beaches in India.

I am surely going back to this hotel when I need to de-stress again !

Room Tip: Choose Backwater suite to view the river from ur balcony
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivyaPIllai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at the Bluewaters hotel in May 2012 it's been open about 6months, the staff here are the best, also the owners Mr. and Mrs. Shetty, being a small hotel (14 rooms) you will be really looked after. The whole hotel inc. rooms are immaculate, small but very nice pool, the hotel overlooks a large river and the views are wonderful. While there the owner Mr. Shetty invited us out to see his new venture, he sent his driver to pick us up and of we went, about 12km from the hotel toward turtle bay we turned up a small road which let to his property, set in 600 acres he's just opened I think about 8 well spread aparments with a restaurant, on top an area with open roof for yoga, tracks for walking, and cycles, no cars allowed up there, you will be met and driven up. A true paradise. He grows orchids, lots and other exotic plants,

Room Tip: River view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chiefblueass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: バックウォーターの反対側には特にいい景色ではないので必ずバックウォーター側を選んでください。
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank motiDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundapur
1.8 mi away
UVA Meridian Bay Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Paradise Lagoon
Paradise Lagoon
#2 of 23 in Udupi
183 reviews
19.2 mi away
Paradise Isle Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
juSTa Turtlebay On Sea, Kundapur Resort
21.3 mi away
Wild Woods Spa and Resort
2.9 mi away
Coqueiros
Coqueiros
#1 of 3 in Kundapur
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters

Address: Fort Gate Holiday Homes, Fort Gate | Near Inspection Bungalow, Kundapur 576201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Udupi District > Kundapur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kundapur
Price Range: $44 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing