We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again.”
Review of Laledes - CLOSED

Laledes
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: European, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We offer a traditional tavern in a friendly and very romantic space. Try a variety of dishes at reasonable prices! Our tavern is officially FOLK ART MUSEUM! Visit us anytime and travel in the "old" Cyprus with us while you enjoying local food and wines! Our restaurant has space both indoors and outdoors in a quiet street near the mountains. Also you can enjoy a romantic night on our balcony enjoying the view and watching the moon. On Tuesday nights we have LIVE MUSIC! On Sundays noon we offer traditional food baked on our clay ovens and Barbeque-Souvla!
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back again.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Back again to Laledes today only this time the restaurant was closing; no problem; sit down ,what would you like to drink, to eat.?The food once more was excellent,the welcome from Doros and Rania made us feel really special. The car would not start when I tried to move it for an irate bus driver. Doros took control of the situation,arranged a jump start with his neighbours jump leads,checked and watered the battery and left the engine running to enable us to return to Paphos without a problem,and with no charge for assistance!!! The salad was first class, also the sea bass, together with the vegetables all made freshly.The whole ambience of the restaurant is highly recommended,please try it!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paphos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Puzzling.”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We read the reviews and we visited the website, our appetites wetted we booked and set out for Kouklia.

I don't want to be harsh because we had a pleasant but unexceptional meal. Our disappointment stemmed from the restaurant utterly failing to live up to its promise.

We expected the unusual if not the exceptional. What we got was a very ordinary short form taverna menu with adequate taverna cuisine.

It is one thing to have a web site which draws customers in. It is another to deliver on what is promised. Laledes doesn't, so fails badly in the setting and management of expectations.

I recommend Laledes enhance the menu or tone down their website. It is unlikely we will make the trip again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Excellent value, good food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

A large group of us had an excellent evening meal at laledes. Some found the 'burgers' to be too fragrant, but on the whole the food was very good. Having tried some other places in the area, we will be returning to this one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zixus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire. UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional yet a gormet's delight!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Choose a salad starter from the list on view to suit your taste. Everything is cooked as if by a Maitre d. Service with a smile and helpful advice. A leisurely paced culinary experience. Good value. My third visit. I am working my way through the short menu. Side plate vegetables delicious. Not a disappointment yet.
Best calamari and boneless presented sea-bream on the island.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK but didn't quite live up to expectation”
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Food was ok. Price certainly ok, but we felt that the taverna didn't live up to its billing. Maybe we were there on an off night, but didn't get the ambiance we have had elsewhere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Cypriotfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElTorbador, Manager at Laledes, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We are very sorry we were not up to your expectations. We promise to work hard and make our restaurant a better place. We invite you to come again and this time your experience will be unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laledes also viewed

Kouklia, Paphos District
Kouklia, Paphos District
 
Kouklia, Paphos District
Kouklia, Paphos District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing