We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere, warm welcome and great food”
Review of Thanasis Place

Thanasis Place
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Kouklia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Live entertainment on Thursdays, Friday's and Saturdays.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, warm welcome and great food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

You always get a warm welcome at thanasis place. Nothing is too much or too little, and all the family is welcome, however not so squashed up as to annoy others!!
Before taking your order, a starter of dips (including one of their own secret recipe as far as I know) is put down on the table and a drinks order is taken
Our family go back again and again - and have noticed over the years that unlike many places to eat around Paphos, there is always a pleasant atmosphere, as more and more people return.
Our favourite - special, and make us feel special . My mum always gets told what fish is on - Sophia knows what she likes, and cares

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    31
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What great hospitality and food to match!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our party of 4 were on a 10 day break to Cyprus and we wanted to explore many restaurants. We found this place and 'wham' we were hooked. We returned 4 times and it would have been 5 if it were open on the Sunday! The co-owner, Sophia, was absolutely fantastic and made us feel like 'family' from the first moments. The meals were delicious and great value. We would all happily return and recommend this place without reservation. It was the unexpected high spot of our holiday. Thank you Sophia. We all miss you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is where you should eat”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Found this place while wandering through Kouklia and decided to try it, ended up going back the next night as well. Five of use tried a variety of items from the menu and it was all excellent. We were treated to a starter which they call "special" as it is uniquely made at the location (Feta, Roasted Peppers, Tomato, Herbs) and it was insane. Beyond that I have to say they made the best Lamb I have had in a while as well as making a variety of excellent Greek favourites. We were there in the off season so it was a bit empty but the staff/owners made us feel more than comfortable.

Case and point, don't miss this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank j_blackpool8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants I've ever been to”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

An absolutely amazing experience - the owners were very friendly and regularly brought us new dishes to try on the house. The food was freshly made and authentic - everything from authentic Greek to pasta/pizza to fresh seafood. So amazing and friendly we had to return on our last evening in Cyprus. The owners wished us safe travels and after yet another amazing meal, we were given a delicious bottle of their own olive oil. Super impressed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Siostu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality at its best!!!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family and I have been going to Thanassis tavern for the past 4 years and everytime we go back the experience, welcoming, food and service is as always as good as the first time. The owners make us feel like part of the family, as for the food,its AMAZING!! Whether you want a traditional Cypriot meal or A'la Carte its the best place to go. The traditional Cypriot meze is the best we've ever tried. The resturant is perfect for anyone, it caters for all, family, couples and special occasions. Highly recommend "Thanassis Place"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DioMachco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanasis Place also viewed

Kouklia, Paphos District
Kouklia, Paphos District
 
Kouklia, Paphos District
Kouklia, Paphos District
 
Kouklia, Paphos District
 

Been to Thanasis Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing