We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed in a villa on the resort which we booked through holdiay rentals. The villa was very spacious and had everything you needed, the communal pool was up a small flight of stairs and was probably one of the cleanest pools I have seen in a while. There were great areas of shade around the pool and plenty of sunbeds. Aphrodite Hills is a large resort with many villas and a beautiful hotel - there is a tennis academy, golf, spa, fitness centre, childrens club,
There is an area next to the hotel called the village and this is where they have restaurants and a bar and it all overlooks the sea which is really lovely when you are having a meal or just a drink. We ate at most of the restaurants the food was really nice but the service could be a bit hit and miss (we did relay this back to the hotel and they were glad of the feedback).
My children 9 and 7 spent most of their time in the childrens club (their choice not mine) and really enjoyed the activities - their favourite being the horse riding, they made loads of friends and loved the leaders at the club. The club was an extra cost but it was worth it for my children and also I was able to sunbathe in peace and quiet and read a book for the first time in ages.
We are considering returning to Aphrodite Hills for a holiday next year and would use the villas again (easier with children)

Room Tip: Our villa was in the Adonis complex and is the nearest to the hotel aprox 5 min walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos H, Guest Relations at Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

The Holiday Residences team welcomes your comments and is always open to suggestions and ideas of ways in which we can improve our service.

We are happy to hear that you had a 'wonderful holiday' and the children enjoyed the horse riding and kids club.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Carol McNamara
Aphrodite Hills Holiday Residences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 618 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed here for a week in a two bedroomed apartment in "Theseus" village, one of a number of villages in this huge golf resort.

First the good points - our apartment was well appointed with all mod cons including washing machine and dishwasher, although some of the internal finishes were a bit rough ie laminate flooring in the bedrooms lifting when you walked on it. We had a spectacular sea view, and a huge private outdoor area at the front of the property.

Now the bad points - the whole resort felt deserted even though it was July and our village had no life about it at all. The two communal pools were disappointing, both being very shallow. There were only a couple of sunloungers and umbrellas around each pool which was inadequate. We were invited to a pool in the Adonis village which was quite superb by comparison.

The staff at check-in appeared to be quite incomptent and we were kept waiting for quite some time. Whilst there we observed a staff member being extremely rude to another guest and our overall impression was that there was poor if not non existent customer service.

Upon checking in we were asked to fill in a form giving credit card details to cover "extras". We were also expected to sign a declaration that we were happy for same to be deducted from the account without ever seeing the final invoice! We declined to do this.

The beach club is around 15 minutes drive away from the complex. The restaurants are overpriced although the staff were pleasant.

Our overall view of this resort was that it was "just alright" which was unsatisfactory given the price of the accommodation.

There were several good restaurants within a 15 minute drive - try O'Vrakas in Pissouri village, and Liminacki in Pissouri Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NornIronNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We spend a week at Aphrodite hills villas with our 2 children and 2 more couples with children. The villa was wonderful: plenty of outside space with grass and trees. Being there with 2 children, we especially appreciated the Kids crache available all day long for children of all ages. Our children had a great time there and did all types of activities: from face painting, to swimming, and making books. The caregivers from crache were available to baby sit in the evenings.
My only wish was for the sandy beach nearby. There was not one available. We had to drive to Pathos to a very crowded beach that was not very nice.
So we just played by the pool most of the time.
The bed in our bedroom was too small for a couple. So make sure to check on the bed size if you like comfort :)
There were nice restaurants inside the resort, including an excellent spa. The supermarket was 15-20 min drive. The mini supermarket inside the resort was hugely overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos H, Guest Relations at Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with Aphrodite Hills Holiday Residences in Cyprus.

We appreciate your opinions and review any constructive comments very carefully.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable holiday and that the children enjoyed the kids club.

Wo hope to be able extend our hospitality to you again in the future.

Carol McNamara
Aphrodite Hills Holiday Residences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Having a young son of 1yr (plus a 5 year old daughter) we decided against our typical Spring trip to Florida and rented an apartment from Simon Clements courtesy of Owners Direct.

The apartment was well appointed and located in the Helios Heights complex, a short walk from the Intercontinental and "village" containing shops, bars and restaurants.
The resort itself is very well kept and caters for most needs with tennis, golf, an equestrian centre, a wonderful kids club/creche and multiple swimming pools.

As pointed out by many travellers the food in the restaurants in the village is expensive and of mixed quality. We found the taverna and the kebab stall to be excellent, the pub to be average and the Italian to be poor. Other restaurants at the time were not open.

For anyone with kids I can't speak highly enough of the kids club. We've holidayed in other 5 star resorts before such as Porto Sani and the Princess Yaiza and the kids club at Aphrodite Hills puts both to shame with excellent facilities and wonderful staff. The complex also has a great kids playground.

One of the few downsides to the holiday was Intercontinental itself. We were led to believe that we would have access to their facilities, albeit it at a cost. When we arrived on our first evening we were told that we would not be able to use the gym or pool facilities at the hotel due to high occupancy. I would very much warn travellers of this fact. When occupancy did fall, and we could access the indoor pool, we were told it would cost Euro 30 per person, and that included our 5 year old daughter.

The other thing I would warn about is how owners describe the facilities. We rented an apartment from Simon Clements via the Owners Direct website who claimed that one of the pools within Helios Heights was heated. This was very important to us given that we have 2 young children, and given that in April evening temperatures drop to 12 degrees. This turned out to be a complete fabrication, as neither of the pools were heated and meant we had to limit our childrens use of them drastically during our stay. Another thing I would warn travellers about are security deposits. We paid a security/damage deposit upon booking. Upon leaving, despite waiting until the specified check out time no one came to complete an inventory. We then returned home to be told that we would not be getting our deposit back due to a "damaged table lamp". That was a total fabrication and left a very bad taste in our mouths.

All in all, an excellent resort, but beware of cowboy owners misrepresenting the facilities and refusing to release security deposits.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SevenoaksSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed in a Villa on the Aphrodite Hills complex - the whole place has a very up-market feel, is welll maintained and attractive. We used the hotle facilities on a daily basis and could not fault them. We were particularly impressed by the Kids Club at the hotel; our daughter loved spending time there, and we congratulate Despina and her team for running a really well thought out programme for children of all ages. While we were at the staying, the Kids Club moved into a superb new, purpose built area, complete wilth lots of new slides, swings, climbing frames etc and its own childrens pool, art rooms.... really very good and very reasonably priced.

Our only complaint about the hotel was the rather overbearing presence of about 200 'Club Turquoise' members who seemed to take over the place and in many cases were quite rude to other users of the hotel, they really seemed to have the attitude that they owned the place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry_vigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos H, Guest Relations at Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

The Holiday Residences team welcomes your comments and is always open to suggestions and ideas of ways in which we can improve our service.

We are happy to hear that you had a great holiday and that your daughter enjoyed the kids club activities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Carol McNamara
Aphrodite Hills Holiday Residences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

So easy to find from the airport, 20 minutes at most (and that is with the slow uncertain driving). Security at gate gave us keys and escorted us to Villa and gave us brief tour of it (rentals team apparently normally do it, but it seems everyone on our flight was staying there).

So: modest size, but by no means cramped villa (deliberately chosen as we are only family of 4) on well sized plot, own pool, beautifully landscaped and maintained garden. Welcome pack of bread, milk, butter, juice etc made for a nice soft landing. It is all clean, more towels (both bath and beach) than we need, quality finishings such as V&B bathroom ware. All good, except no hot water...minor issue solved with phone call, hadn't been shown by security guard how to turn on.

Great local supermarket 10 minutes away, all done within a couple of hours, next stop pool. But it is April and it is quickly apparent that it is not heated, oops. It isn't freezing, but you can't spend too long in it, kids (3 & 5) could paddle but took some encouragement to get in fully. Apparently some villas do have heated pools, if we go again at this time of year this would be a must.

We were over on the East plateau, walking into resort village centre not really an option (hills, kids and just that bit too far). It is nice and quiet though, which is just what we were looking for.

The resort is beautiful, my wife is Californian and it reminded us of the masterplan golf communities that are very popular out there. Fortunately here the build densities are relatively low so there is lots of green and open spaces between the rooftops which soften the views nicely. I hate golf but love open grass areas so as long as I ignored the pompous pastel swingers, all was well.

Resort village is great, it is not authentic but it is beautifully constructed, clean, convenient with cafe/bar/restaurants and there was a brand new large kids play area, my 5yr old son insists I mention the zip line. There is a convenience store but it is predictably understocked and over priced, as you would expect a village store to be at home.

Many of the facilities were really for the hotels benefit (and no doubt the golfers), but we were able to take advantage of them too, although non-hotel guests do have to pay a supplementary fee.

My first time to Cyprus and was determined to explore a bit, resort is well situated for this. Whilst I am sure there is loads beyond, we found lots of fantastic places within an hours drive of the resort which was as much as were prepared to venture.

Service was sometimes disjointed and slow in the resort, but always warm and hospitable. It was a holiday, so as long the children were behaving at the table we were in no hurry anyway.

We would definitely go again, but next time ensure the pool in the villa was heated. The resort has a kids club, apparently great spa and dreaded golf lessons, all of which we didn't get around to making use of.

Oh also, the villa was owned by Russians, an observation suspected by the furnishings but confirmed by the selection of satellite channels. We met other people whose villa had come with DVDs, ours didn't so our post child bedtime viewing was limited to Cypriot TV, which was limited. Recommend that you take a few DVDs also just in case.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snitchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos H, Guest Relations at Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

The Holiday Residences team welcomes your comments and is always open to suggestions and ideas of ways in which we can improve our service.

We are happy to hear that you had a great holiday and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to once again enjoy the 'best of both worlds' at our relaxing resort in a superior or junior villa with heated swimming pool.

Carol McNamara
Aphrodite Hills Holiday Residences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We booked the Aprohdite Hills villa through Expedia and all I can say is WOW. We booked a two bedroom apartment, which was ground floor, had a lovely garden and was 300 yards from the communal pool which we had all week to ourselves. Absolutely everything and I mean everything was in the apartment - good supply of fresh towels, beds changed once while we were there in the week. Fab Siemens kitchen appliances, ice cubes in the freezer, tea, coffee etc on the side as a welcome, great kitchen cutlery and crocks. An absolute gem of a place. Patio doors opened onto a stone patio with contemporary table, chairs and loungers plus a large lawn area for the kids to play on.

Warning - the resort shop has everything but is expensive so pop along to Pissouri and on the main road you will find a Supermarket as good as some here called Papanantonio.
We did a week's shop for a 150 euros and the beers/water and wine is all good. Great fresh meat, fish and deli counters too.

Good local restaurants are Leminaki and O Vrakas in Pissouri, but if you want something a little more remote right on the beach try Melanda Beach restaurant (good fish mezzo) ext turning off the main road after the second Pissouri turning (Advimou beach) or a little further follow signs to Kyrenia and there are 2 restaurants here - very lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePrincess71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos H, Guest Relations at Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with Aphrodite Hills Holiday Residences in Cyprus.

We appreciate your opinions and review any constructive comments very carefully.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable holiday overall and enjoyed the resort and surrounding villages.

We look forward to extending our hospitality to you again in the future.

Carol McNamara
Aphrodite Hills Holiday Residences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kouklia
12.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
11.9 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,214 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri
11.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
10.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences

Address: 3 Aphrodite Avenue | Aphrodite Hills, Kouklia 8509, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Kouklia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kouklia
Price Range: $95 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between Limassol and Paphos, this luxurious hillside resort offers couples and families an entertaining and relaxing break in a picturesque environment, with stunning views overlooking the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodite Hills Golf And Spa Resort Residences
Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences Hotel Kouklia
Aphrodite Hills Holiday Rentals Paphos
Aphrodite Hills Golf & Spa Resort Residences Cyprus/Kouklia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing