We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a stand out, but not too bad either....”
Review of Mantra Bell City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra Bell City
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not a stand out, but not too bad either....”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip. I selected the property due to its proximity to where my meeting was. Check-in was a little indifferent although to be fair it was quick. I was told that I'd been upgraded to a dual bed suite which really didn't mean anything as I was on my own.... Sure the room was large, very large and it had a kitchenette. But the V layout and the really small bathroom left me feeling like I was in a dual bed hospital room. The design, decor and layout was simply too clinical...... Bed was comfortable so no complaints.

The restaurant/pub was very good with a nice atmosphere, great service and good food. I'd probably stay there again if the need arose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi Murray A,

We were pleased to hear that you had a nice stay, thank you for leaving feedback. We hope to have you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    432
    240
    104
    90
See reviews for
290
228
101
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our recent visit to Rydges Bell City was our second stay as family live nearby and the location is ideal for our purposes. The room rate was very reasonable for Melbourne, in part due to discounts for being a Rydges Priority member and for staying a minimum of 3 nights.

The hotel has been converted from a hospital building and there are some issues with the layout of the rooms, in particular the bathroom which is very small and poorly designed. However, the rest of the Manhattan Studio Room is spacious, the kitchenette adequate and the views magnificent. We have eaten several times in Chill Restaurant and found the staff friendly and the food good and reasonably priced. JDs Diner is less impressive with noisy televisions and ordinary food.

On our first visit to Bell City our sleep was disturbed by traffic noises from Bell St so this time we asked for a room away from the traffic noise which was much quieter. Unfortunately, our sleep was again disturbed, this time by the testing of the loud speaker system at 9am on Friday morning (no mention of this when we checked in) and by inconsiderate guests who had a party on Saturday night of the floor above us. Despite a call to reception the noise continued and only stopped after I personally approached the night staff in my pjs. The hotel offers long stay apartments as well as short-term accommodation and it would seem that some guests view the hotel as a home from home.

In addition to the noise problems, we had issues with the cleanliness of our room. The shower leaked and there was a musty smell in the room due to the damp carpet. There were also inconsistencies in the standards of servicing. Some days our room was spotless but on one occasion it was only partly serviced, the bed unmade and the floor dirty.

Bell City is a huge hotel complex (800+) beds and there seems to be a lack of consistency in service and maintenance which should be addressed if it is to be worthy of its 4 star rating. We will return as it is so convenient and hope some of these issues are addressed for our future visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Bell St if traffic noise disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZephyrCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi ZephyrCanberra,


Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate the time taken. We are pleased to hear that the hotel is meeting your needs in terms of function and location while you visit family in Melbourne. The lack of consistency you experienced with housekeeping is something that we are currently addressing, with additional care taken will also be taken with maintenance to ensure this does not repeat. We are pleased to hear that you are a Priority Guest Rewards member already, and look forward to giving you an exceptional experience next time you stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had to go to Melbourne to work and most of the places I stayed at for under $200 in the surrounding area had been pretty basic. Tried bell city for the first time and was very happily surprised. The room was excellent, very clean and modern and the location is very close to near by restaurants

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi jamie T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are so glad that you enjoyed it. We are delighted that you were able to try some of the fantastic restaurants nearby, a few suggestions for your next visit are Estelle, Little Henri and The Moores Head. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me and my family stayed at this hotel in the 2 bed manhattan room for 6 nights. It was amazingly clean, as described and very child friendly. Because my kids were quite young i preferred the open layout of the beds. The kitchen was clean (includes, stovetop and oven), there was a dishwasher available, and a nice view from our room (room S548). The only let down was the toilet/shower, not for its cleanliness as it was spotless! but for its small size. There is also a 4 level underground car park at very low cost (7$ a day). Overall i would stay here again no doubt. I will recommend this to a small family looking to stay in a room that has all the amenities you can find at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsemaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhianon D, marke at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi gsemaan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed it. Looking forward to having you stay with us again, the resort pool will be great for the little ones in summer.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming staff, great service good facilities. Comfortable beds, nice rooms, good place overall.

Catch a tram and within twenty minutes you're in the heart of Melbourne.

Seemed like a few business conferences going on.

Great feel to this place including room service.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorTTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi DoctorTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are glad you enjoyed it. The Rydges custom made Dream Beds are very comfortable, we agree. Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. When I first checked in, the front office staff were a bit vague, however as my stay progressed I was impressed by the levels of service provided. I recommend this hotel.......

Room Tip: Opt for a one bedroom manhattan room on the top floor. Very enjoyable and surprisingly a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
Thank RayGee1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hi RayGee1971,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience. Staying in a one bed Manhattans on the top floor is a great tip, luckily as we aren't in the CBD between other high buildings many of our rooms have great views to the city or Dandenong ranges to enjoy. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights to go to the AFL grand final and take in the pub/food scene in Melbourne. The room was amazing for the price with floor to ceiling windows and views to the ranges. Super clean and luxurious decore with a very comfortable bed. Restaurant had good food although a touch pricey. Only a 3 min walk to Plenty St to catch the 86 tram to central Melbourne (40 min ride). I had a full cooked breakfast each day at a small cafe next to the tram stop in Plenty St. $12 and delicious. As a Rydges Priority member, I would definitely stay here on my next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Roscope,

Thank you for a lovely review of your experience at Rydges Bell City, we appreciate the time taken to leave feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,126 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
229 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#88 of 159 in Melbourne
917 reviews
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
155 reviews
St. Georges Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Thornbury
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Bell City

Property: Mantra Bell City
Address: 215 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Rydges Bell City)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Bell City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Bell City is located in Preston, just 20 minutes from the Melbourne CBD and airport, and within ten minutes of the Austin Hospital. It is close to both train and tram lines making it highly accessible to many of Melbourne's main attractions. Mantra Bell City offers guests stylish, well-appointed, fully furnished One and Two Bedroom Studios and Executive Suites with a kitchenette or full kitchen, business desk, wireless internet access, air-conditioning, in-room safe and LCD TV. Cot and high chair hire is available in all rooms on request and the One Bedroom Manhattan is wheelchair accessible. The onsite facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, extensive gym with sauna, business centre, dry cleaning and laundry services as well as 24 hour room service, two restaurants and bars and a handy cafe with convenience store. Mantra Bell City offer convenient access to both the CBD and Melbourne Airport, with both located an easy 9km from the hotel. Only a short drive away is the Mercy and Austin Hospitals, Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE (NMIT) La Trobe and RMIT Universities and the Darebin International Sports Centre. Mantra Bell City is surrounded by some of the inner north's best cafes and restaurants and is just a short 2 minute walk from the route 86 tram line. The tram runs from Bundoora to Docklands, through famous Fitzroy and Bourke Street in the CBD (including the iconic Bourke Street Mall). An easy 8 minute walk from Mantra Bell City is Bell train station, on the South Morang line and running daily between South Morang and the CBD. Getting the train to the AFL is a breeze as both Etihad Stadium and the MCG are easily accessible from Southern Cross and Jolimont stations respectively, located on the South Morang line. Please note: Mantra Bell City charges a cash bond of $400 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bell City Hotel And Residences
Bell City Hotel Residences
Bell City Preston
Mantra Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing