We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Bell City
Nearby Hotels
Bell Motel(Preston)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Quest Ivanhoe(Ivanhoe)
$146
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    $83
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Room Service
    $128
    $107
    Orbitz.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $112
    $100
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $66
    $61
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $94
    $66
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Parkville Motel(Brunswick)
    $66
    $63
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (1,442)
    Filter reviews
    1,442 results
    Traveler rating
    318
    569
    293
    132
    130
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    318
    569
    293
    132
    130
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbell citybed manhattancoffee shopchill barconvenient locationenjoyed my staybuffet breakfastwould stay againgreat value for moneyshort staymelbourneparkingkitchenetteconferencecafeoventrain
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,271 - 1,276 of 1,442 reviews
    Reviewed April 2, 2013

    Nothing special but if you need to stay in this area of Melbourne then you dont have many choices. Its a long tram ride in to the CBD of Melbourne though. The staff at check-in werent all that enthusiastic to serve us. They just finished their chatting before looking up to then say "oh can we help you?' The rooms though were well laid out with a good kitchen set-up. You could 'live' there forever if needed, just like a normal house.

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SandraEd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    MgrBellCity, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

    Hi Sandra,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. We agree, the rooms are very well laid out and comfortable, and we do offer long term accommodation as you suggested, with options to suit different budgets. We were disappointed to hear our staff weren't their usual bubbly selves, and are looking into this. We look forward to have you and your family stay with us again.

    Kind Regards,

    Hotel Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 2, 2013

    We stayed our first and last time at Bell City,I had a voucher from living social so the room only cost $80,we checked in no problems and got good directions and help from the desk about how to get to our destination Rod Laver Arena for a concert (Paul Simon,whom was brilliant by the way!)I had a quick shower that didn't have very good water pressure in a tiny bathroom,you couldn't even open the toilet lid without moving the toilet roll off the holder!
    We turned on the air conditioner before we left as it was quite cold that day and came back to a freezing room! The heater hadn't worked and it was blowing out cold air,so we turned it off.
    I was quite hungry by midnight so rang room service for a toasted sandwich,and was told it would be at least half an hour,I said that's fine,could someone please come and look at the heater?
    After a cold and hungry wait of over an hour we received a call from the night manager saying our sandwich would be another 15 minutes at least! (I think he wanted me to cancel my order but it does have a room service menu from 11pm until 6am).and by this stage I was very hungry and cold.
    we waited another 25 minutes for the night manager who bought
    the sandwich up which was disgusting not toasted properly and with a chicken bone and tomato in the chicken mayonaisse and lettuce sandwich.
    we won't be going back to Bell City!

    Room Tip: Don't go there!
    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Mary S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Mantra Bell City, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

    Hi Mary,

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues that you experienced during your stay, we are looking into them and apologise for the extended wait for your room service. Having also personally seen Paul Simon at Bluesfest in recent days, it appears that you also have exceptional music taste, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed his concert. Please email us directly, and we will ensure that next time you stay with us we provide you with complimentary, and guaranteed timely, room service to ensure your stay is more comfortable.

    Kind Regards,

    Rhianon Damas

    Marketing Coordinator

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 31, 2013

    We have stayed at Aluxstay Apartments and the Bell City Hotel for four times now and until our last stay we have had no problems and rated the hotel complex highly. We had a two night booking to celebrate a birthday and on the morning of 29th March we were told our son's partner had suddenly gone into labour. We were asked to come and look after the other child while she went to hospital. At the service desk we booked out and explained the situation and asked if a refund was available. The receptionist said that as we had booked through Expedia we would have to contact Expedia to see if we were entitled for a refund. We therefore were charged the full amount for two nights, and said we would contact Expedia. We contacted Expedia and a helpful young man rang the hotel on our behalf and enquired of the hotel what their policy was in this unusual circumstance. He was told that there was no refund as the booking was for two nights in our name - full stop. We will never stay at a Rydges Hotel ever again, and have already informed our friends not to bother with that chain. The receptionist was blameless, the fault lies with management policy. By the way a 4.7kg baby boy was safely delivered three hours later. As for customer relations Bell City sucks!

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
      • Service
    1  Thank hewyyung
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    MgrBellCity, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

    Hi Hewyyung,

    Congratulations on a happy healthy grandson, lovely to hear. We were disappointed to hear about the issue with the refund, as it is our priority to ensure that guests needs are catered for. Please email tim_glass@rydges.com to confirm your booking details so that we can issue a refund as soon as possible, and again we apologise for the issues you experienced.

    Kind Regards,

    Hotel Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

    Going from the website and all the facilities offered you would expect a great accommodation place! Well have they got you fooled! Our room cost $580 p/w which was not even cleaned when we arrived. The room has numerous damages including water damage to the walls as the shower leaks out into the bedroom. The tv is not even viewable from the bed the sheets don't even fit the bed! The 5 weeks we have stayed it has even been a mission to even work out the complicated lights system! Food from Their restaurant Chili is horribly dry and tasteless. The only staff who have shown they know what service means is the receptionist Sally and Helen from the sleep and go bar. Multiple times we have been ignored by staff told miss information and basically wasted our time! Definitely not worth your stay as the building has cheap furnishings, services included are not actually included or preformed to a good standard and there is no service!

    • Stayed: March 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Ashleigh H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    MgrBellCity, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

    Hi Ashleigh,

    We were disappointed to hear about your recent stay in our long term accommodation, and are taking the feedback very seriously to address all issues you experienced. Our CHILL restaurant menu has had a recent update by newly appointed executive chef, Tony Baker, which also utilizes our new on site kitchen garden, which we encourage you to try next time you are here. Our maintenance and guest services teams are looking into each comment you listed with the room, and currently addressing them. Thank you for your kind words about Sally and Helen, both are wonderful people, with exceptional customer service, and we have passed your praise on to them.

    Kind Regards,

    Hotel Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 19, 2013

    I read all the reviews on this site and thought 'they couldn't be that bad'. Well I'm wrong. The room doesn't even have a window, the hallway light is coming in the room like a neon light. The closest supermarket is so far away and the area feels dodgy. There is lots of shoddy workmanship, the room is also very SO small.

    • Stayed: March 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Taunitoad
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    MgrBellCity, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

    Hi Taunitoad,

    Thank you for providing your feedback, we are looking in to how we can improve the room that you were in, as unfortunately it does not accommodate a window due to the buildings unique layout. The local Preston area is a rapidly evolving suburb, with many new cafes and bars popping up, next time you choose to stay in the area we highly recommend ones such as Little Henri, Lowlands, and The Raccoon Club – as well as a visit to the famous Preston Markets. The supermarket is a 10 – 15 minute walk, or a short tram ride, and we also sun a complimentary shuttle to and from the cbd on weekdays to make travel easier for guests.

    Kind Regards,

    Hotel Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews