We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, apart from the shower”
Review of Mantra Bell City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Bell City
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Geelong, Vic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, apart from the shower”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed one night. Walked into the room and said 'wow'. Only critique is the shower is tiny with a shower curtain that wants to stick to you no matter what - yuck. Also a bit mouldy . But otherwise loved the room

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liberty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Liberty10,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Rydges Bell City, were are really pleased we could give you that ‘wow’ reaction, and that you loved the room! Addressing the shower curtain, our housekeeping team is now following that up to do a replacement. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    404
    231
    99
    88
See reviews for
277
220
92
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somersby, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The first impression was not great. When you pull in there is a Rydges Hotel and a Sleep and Go so having booked at Rydges i went to that reception area. I was then informed i was in the 'hotel' section which was called the sleep and go not the apartment section. There was no mention of this on my confirmation. After dragging my bag to the other reception i was met by a delightful young Swedish girl who was a pleasure to deal with and check in was very painless and smooth. That was the highlight though, the room was quite small and the decor bland and basic. Roll down blinds that didnt close properly, an air conditioner that was freezing and could not be switched off and a useless ironing board (very short and designed to sit on the bench.....ironing board about 8 inches high!!) which for business travel requiring shirt and pants pressing was a joke. Bed was very comfy, my room had a large disabled ready bathroom which had recently been renovated by appearances which was also OK. The carpet in the room was horrible and felt dirty and I found a huge White Tail spider on the door jamb when I arrived to open my room. I guess it was ok for the price but i expected more from a Rydges property and i probably wont be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorseLoverBDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi HorseLoverBDM,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Rydges Bell City, your feedback is important to us. We are currently reviewing our signage upon entering the complex, as we know it sometimes becomes a little confusing to figure out where to go when you first arrive. Unfortunately due to normal space requirements it can be hard to fit full sized ironing boards into rooms without compromising too much space, but as an alternative we have a full dry cleaning and laundry service available. Our maintenance team will be checking the blinds and air-conditioning issue that you mentioned, as neither of these should have happened, as we do our best to ensure regular maintenance takes place. We have passed the lovely feedback about our reception staff on to them, and sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to provide you with a completely enjoyable stay when you next visit.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

had a wonderful birthday in the pool area with a great bbq with friends & family! everyone that came said what a beaut place to have a birthday bbq here..our room as usual was great..always luv the floor to ceiling windows and just luvluvluv the wonderful soft pillows and bed!!!stayed in many motels over the years and still this is my number 1!!!people who winge on here are just too hard to please!! be back soon!!!!

Room Tip: always get the balcony suite and the view to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Paul,

Belated Happy Birthday to you! It’s so nice to hear that you had such a great day with your family and friends by the pool, hopefully you enjoyed delicious birthday cake and some presents. There is nothing like sinking down into those comfy Dream Beds and looking out over the Melbourne lights after a great day... See you next time!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Average hotel. Room was comfortable, maintenance was poor i.e. bathroom door didn't close properly. We stayed for 2 nights and the room was not serviced. Bathroom clean but small. Many minor irritations such as mattress protector not right size for bed and wrinkled during the night.
Convenient to airport but nothing to do in the area. No restaurants or coffee shops in the vicinity.
View was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi Philippa61,

Thank you for your feedback, we are currently looking into the issues you mentioned so that they are fixed. The area around Preston does have a few great cafes and bars, but like all good places in Melbourne they can be a little bit hidden sometimes. Apart from the restaurant, cafe and diner we have onsite here at Bell City, we can suggest a few great little cafes within a 10 minute walk on High Street, including Little Henri, and Lowlands, or an irresistible selection of multicultural cuisine at the nearby Preston Market. Next time you stay with us chat to our friendly guest services team to get the inside scope on the area. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the view, we think it gives the hotel something really unique, especially at night when you see the lights of city skyline. Hope to have you both stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

In January we stayed 4 nights instead of 2 nights as the hotel room was so comfy, clean and large. We had a lovely view from our room. The elevator was being fixed but there were no problems with noise etc. Reception staff were friendly. I could not fault anything with the hotel and I have now stayed at 4 more different Rydges hotels and found them all to be comfy, clean and well appointed rooms. I would recommend Rydges anytime.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleencanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi colleencanberra,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you doubled it. Thank you for understanding that, like any building, our lifts require maintenance, our staff have been working hard to ensure that there was minimal disruption to our valued guests during this time. If you frequent Rydges hotels it might be worth becoming a member of our loyalty program, Priority Guest Rewards. Membership is free, and members receive a range of discounts and some great little extra's to put a smile on their face. Hope to have you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

First impression: Decent-looking hotel. Manhattan design. Spacious lobby. Small rooms.

However, once checked into our 2-double-bed room, we found ourselves in a tiny space with dusty furniture and moist/stained carpet. To make matter worse, the shower drain was blocked causing water to flood outside of the bathroom after a 3-min shower. The carpet was soaked beyond belief (which explained the moist/stains upon entering the room). We reported the incident and the staff sent someone to solve the drainage problem within an hour. At that point, the carpet was soaked through and through. Since the hotel was full that night, they brought a stack of towel to dry the carpet and made arrangements to move us the next morning. They also accepted to compensate us, understanding that it made our first of five nights at the hotel very unpleasant. We appreciated how the staff took care of us, especially 2 duty managers, Samantha and another gentleman with wicked coloured contact lenses (sorry, I didn't catch his name).

The remainder of the stay was reasonably acceptable. We got a more spacious and less dusty room with a nice view of the suburbs. They resolved the WiFi problem (had an issue with altering devices). The 2 elevators were back in service by the third day (at least one out of order at any given time, if not both). They had an enjoyable pool shared with the adjacent hotel.

Final word. Not cheap but decent hotel if you dont mind confined space. Helpful staff. Located close to Bell Station and a grocery store. Nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi megchiu,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. Firstly, our sincere apology for the drainage and wifi issues that you experienced, our maintenance team is now looking into both areas to ensure it doesn’t happen again. We are pleased to hear that our staff were attentive and helpful in resolving these issues, and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We are also glad you were able to enjoy a nice summer day by the pool, and hope to have you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Flat, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was meeting my sister off a late plane from england and needed a hotel to spend the first night. Rydges filled the bill as it was centrally located and the price was reasonable. It was a surprise to find the room was spacious well decorated and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern. There was a bakery downstairs where we could have croissant and coffee. From check in to departure the staff were friendly and efficient. I had one small problem mt pass card would not let me out of the car park , but that was quickly dealt with by the staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescheshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi jamescheshunt,

We are really pleased to hear about your great experience staying with us, and hope that you had a great time seeing Victoria with your sister. Thank you for providing your feedback on Trip Advisor, it’s great to be able to share it with our staff. We are looking forward to giving you another enjoyable experience next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Bell City

Property: Mantra Bell City
Address: 215 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Rydges Bell City)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Bell City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Bell City is located in Preston, just 20 minutes from the Melbourne CBD and airport, and within ten minutes of the Austin Hospital. It is close to both train and tram lines making it highly accessible to many of Melbourne's main attractions. Mantra Bell City offers guests stylish, well-appointed, fully furnished One and Two Bedroom Studios and Executive Suites with a kitchenette or full kitchen, business desk, wireless internet access, air-conditioning, in-room safe and LCD TV. Cot and high chair hire is available in all rooms on request and the One Bedroom Manhattan is wheelchair accessible. The onsite facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, extensive gym with sauna, business centre, dry cleaning and laundry services as well as 24 hour room service, two restaurants and bars and a handy cafe with convenience store. Mantra Bell City offer convenient access to both the CBD and Melbourne Airport, with both located an easy 9km from the hotel. Only a short drive away is the Mercy and Austin Hospitals, Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE (NMIT) La Trobe and RMIT Universities and the Darebin International Sports Centre. Mantra Bell City is surrounded by some of the inner north's best cafes and restaurants and is just a short 2 minute walk from the route 86 tram line. The tram runs from Bundoora to Docklands, through famous Fitzroy and Bourke Street in the CBD (including the iconic Bourke Street Mall). An easy 8 minute walk from Mantra Bell City is Bell train station, on the South Morang line and running daily between South Morang and the CBD. Getting the train to the AFL is a breeze as both Etihad Stadium and the MCG are easily accessible from Southern Cross and Jolimont stations respectively, located on the South Morang line. Please note: Mantra Bell City charges a cash bond of $400 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bell City Hotel And Residences
Bell City Hotel Residences
Bell City Preston
Mantra Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing