We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Bell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bell Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The motel in Bell street is not a Golden Chain motel now - it is privately owned and the new owners have renovated the whole motel. They are very pleasant people and very helpful. I have stayed in the same motel once a month for the past 20 years and seen different people running the motel. Now Rob and Kath are very good at their jobs and run a good motel.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor or an upstairs one
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Bell Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

The motel brochure says 'the Bell Motor Inn offers true country charm' etc. BUT the proprietor has clearly watched Fawlty Towers and would give John Cleese a run for his money! DO NOT stay in the cheaper rooms backing onto Bell Street as the road traffic noise is absolutely terrible. On the plus side, the tariff includes a continental breakfast and the location is good if you are doing business in the north of Melbourne. Nearby is also the delightful Preston Markets. HOWEVER, DO NOT stay over the road at the hotel that used to be the PANCH hospital - you will seriously regret staying at such a disgraceful place.

Room Tip: Pay more for either a room in the main building on the north side (away from Bell Street) or in the...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2012

It is true we are on a busy road and it can be noisy. To compensate for this we offer a 30% discount for a 2 night minimum stay on the Bell St side of the motel. These are the most heavily booked rooms due to a $40 / night saving. Some people do not read the conditions or listen to the check in explanation. Want a free upgrade, we are unable to help with this and it does upset some people

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We booked in for one night before our flight out the next day. The room we had was cold, dated and had a strong musty smell.
When we attempted to put the heater on it was very noisy. After making a call to the front desk they sent an individual to review the situation. After hearing the heat unit he said he would bring us a mobile oil heater.
We paid $140.00 for the night. The room was no where woth this amount. Offering this as the only solution we decided to move out. When I explained our disappointment and the details supporting our decision, the individual in the office began to get defensive and basically said suit yourself.
There was no other options presented, such as another room (the place was empty).
We decided to try accross the street at the Sleep & Go. We not only found a clean and modern room, it was $114.00/night.
We should have looked at the reviews on Tripadvisor, they speak for themself.
It is hard to believe that they are able to run an accomodation in this manner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2012

This guest complained about a noisy air conditioner after he had used the room for 3 hours.
The duty manger was going to move him but wasn’t given a chance they where leaving and wanted a full refund. Threatened us with a bad review.
Guess what the noise was a stick pushed into the air conditioner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We travelled to Melbourne for a funeral and wanted to stay near family. Unfortunately we picked this place. The rooms were dirty and cold. We asked for an extra heater as I was up feeding a 3 month old at night and the staff member said the heating was adequate and they would not provide one. The furnishings were very outdated which would be okay if it was cheap priced but it wasn't. The spaces behind draws and beds looked like they hadn't been cleaned since the 70s. The beds were lumpy and old and the bedspread looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the 70s as well. There were signs all around the place, inside and outside warning you not to do certain things, you would be fined. So uninviting and rude, I don't recommend this place at all. One particular staff member was just horrible. Stay across the road at the new hotel complex if you need to stay in north melbourne. I stupidly thought that old fashioned motel hospitality might still exist.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nik_star1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2012

What can I say the place is a very clean 3 1/2 star motel?
We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the motel.
Our heating is reverse cycle air conditioning and it takes a little while to heat the room.
Check the wotif site for guest reviews we score above the Melbourne average rating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We left Phillip Island after seeing the penguins in pouring rain with the intention of visiting the art galleries in the northern suburbs of Melbourne. We had no idea where there were any motels or hotels we were driving on a wing and a prayer. We drove for miles and miles without finding anything, then just on the point of despairing we saw the sign for the Bell. It was expensive at $125 a night but what could we do. A large if old room, a basic breakfast included (cereal, defrosted bread, juice). Very friendly staff - pleasant and chatty. Nearby there was a great Thai restaurant - Buddha Thai. But why stay there when you can get an apartment in central Melbourne for less money

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Rude, unsympathetic. I booked and PRE-PAID a room for my husband and colleagues on a business trip. The colleagues arrived by checkin time. However, my husband was delayed and arrived an hour after the last checkin time. Apparently they tried to call him, but he got no messages or missed call on his phone. There is a $50 callout fee, which my husband agreed to pay, but he was extremely put off by their rudeness and general attitude. When he commented on the tone of the conversation, they simply refused to come out and give him access to the room. Needless to say, as regular visitors to this part of Melbourne, we will never stay here again. We will not be paying for colleagues in our company to be staying there either.

Don't blow your money. Don't go here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank KristinaWasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 15, 2012

This guest booked on Wotif and the check in instruction states quite clearly that there are no after hours check in after 8pm. This guest was rang 3 times to talk to him he didn’t return one call.
He arrived at approx 11:00 pm was aggressive and rude on the phone.
Basically he behaved like a bully! He was refused entry.
Then refused to move his car blocked the driveway and had an altercation with a guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Masami I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Bell City
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Bell City
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,205 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quest Ivanhoe
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
623 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Georges Motor Inn
St. Georges Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Thornbury
75 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Greensborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Motel

Address: | Cnr Patterson & Bell Streets, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Golden Chain Bell Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range: $85 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for Melbourne accommodation in a great location?At the Bell Motel, you are perfectly situated to explore and experience the delights of Melbourne. Conveniently located in Preston and only 20 minutes to Melbourne's CBD and Tullamarine Airport, 10 minutes to the Ring Road and Eastlink and close to a direct train route to the MCG, Etihad Stadium and Melbourne's Tennis Centre, the Bell Motel is ideally situated to meet the needs of both corporate and leisure travellers. The motel is located close to the Mercy, Austin, Heidelberg Repatriation and Warringal hospitals. Direct public transport to hospitals is nearby. We are also situated close to the Darebin International sporting complex. The Bell Motel offers true country charm close to the heart of the city. The motel has 33 rooms, including spa suites, which are well appointed and provide comfortable, secure and affordable accommodation.Free continental breakfast is also included. Our conference room can seat up to 30 people and provides excellent facilities for your next business meeting. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or chill out in our landscaped BBQ area - perfect for the busy executive or weary traveller. Access to the metropolitan and western ring roads is close by and tram, rail and bus networks are only a short walk away. We aim to provide a clean, safe and comfortable experience without being in a crowded environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Motel Preston, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing