We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Stay - OK, Second Stay - Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BreakFree Bell City
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Rosebud West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Stay - OK, Second Stay - Dissapointing”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

In 2012 my partner and I stayed at this hotel in a nice, large, open room with a good view. The housekeeping was quite good, we were left fresh towels and toiletries every day and the amenities in the room were all functional. We were disappointed to find that the information on the website was out-dated and the room we were in didn't have a microwave or dvd player. Then our stay was made considerably less enjoyable when the drain in the bathroom floor started to omit an awful gassy smell and when we called reception to have it fixed they did nothing at all. The parking was also terrible as we had to drive around the overfilled car park at least 4 times each night to try and find a parking spot and usually ended up parking in a completely different car park and had to walk to our hotel in the rain. I would expect better parking facilities considering you have to pay for it on top of the hotel fee. Over all our 2012 stay at Sleep and Go, Preston was pretty good, 3.5/5

This year, our stay was much less acceptable and very disappointing compared to our stay the previous year. We booked the same kind of room (same price) with a bigger bed, however, when we entered the room we were surprised to find that it was half the size than that of the previous year and that the bathroom was also cramped. We had to squeeze past each other all the time and kept bumping into the corners of the bed. The housekeeping were lazy and replaced the toiletries only once during our stay and when they did the shampoo and conditioner weren't full and were covered in slimy liquid which lead me to believe they had just recycled these bottles from another room. The worst part of our stay was that the room we were in was East-facing and we woke up each day with the sun belting in our eyes despite the black curtains. Add in the fact that the heater was permanently set at 30 degrees and came on of its own accord even though we kept turning it off and we were basically cooking in this tiny room. The walls were thin and we could hear the noise of a screaming baby in a close by room and people hanging around in the hall ways at 1am in the morning. The parking was just as crowded and we were lucky to fluke a car park close to the entrance of the hotel a few times. When we checked out in the morning we accidentally left behind my partners ring and called around midday when we realised it was missing. We were then put through to housekeeping which didn't pick up so we left a voice mail with details of the situation and a contact number. Hours passed and we didn't receive a call back so we then tried to call again and we were told that housekeeping had left for the day. We asked how we could get the ring back and they told us that we'd have to come back the next day because they 'didn't have a key to housekeeping' (which I find hard to believe considering it is part of their hotel and its services). As we live 2 hrs away we were not going to drive all the way home that evening and back again the next day when we were still in Preston at an event we were prepared to leave to come and collect the ring. Getting frustrated at this point we decided to enjoy the rest of our day and called again around 6pm only to be put on hold by a reception man and when they picked the phone back up again it was a completely different person so we had to explain ourselves all over again. This guy was slightly more helpful and actually went to housekeeping to look for the ring and told us they could mail it to us. He checked the address and said it would be sent to us. We waited 3 WEEKS and there was no ring sent in the mail so we had to call AGAIN (at this point we racked up a considerable phone bill) and the housekeeping lady who picked up told us that the ring was still there and had no idea it was supposed to be being sent to us! So a few days later we finally got an Australia Post card in the mail and we went to the post office and had to pay $15.30 for postage charges!!! There was nothing mentioned about postage charges at all with any of the Sleep and Go staff we talked to over the phone, and it was a small ring it should have been posted in an envelope and not in a box with some garbage bag wrapped around it. I am disgusted with the deceptive nature of the staff and will be calling and asking they send us the money we had to pay in postage charges. We were fully prepared to come during the day to pick up the ring while housekeeping were still there, but because they couldn't be bothered to call us back we were inconvenienced because of their poor communication standards. 1.5/5 for this stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Lisa W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay, we take this very seriously and appreciate your detailed review. The issues that you experienced with the staff handling are not representative of our usual high standard of customer service, and we are looking into this further to address the areas of miscommunication. We apologise for the incident, and would like to make it up to you. Please contact laura_schembri@bellcity.com.au with your contact number. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    361
    275
    144
    212
See reviews for
150
295
323
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Have stayed on several occasions as great value. This booking was advance purchase and a mere $56. Room was clean and compact, fabulous view of city lights. Staff were busy but extremely courteous. Food and bar area good setup. Noted kitchen area for self caterers upstairs if keen to prep own meals. Great concept for travellers or business related as excellent value for money. Level 5 room was spot on, city side.

Room Tip: Level five with city view great, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Lou313,

What a great review, thank you so much for letting us know about your experience here. Noting that price point, we think you actually stayed in budget1hotel, which although in the same building, is a different hotel brand. They do both share the same extensive hotel facilities, such as gym, restaurants, pool, etc, the rooms are just a little different in layout and price. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

couldn't get to sleep because walls are so thin I can hear neighbors' conversation and what is happening in the tv show they're watching...security guard was helpful in getting it turned down though, then could hear ppl purchasing items from vending machine at 1am cos it was right outside out door. Then if anyone has a shower in a room around u expect to be woken up by that too!..also most uncomfortable pillows ever...not worth the view..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deblou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Deblou R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate your feedback. We were disappointed to hear that your experience was not as hoped, due to noises travelling loudly, and apologise for this inconvenience. This is not feedback that we often hear, and we would like to look further into this. We hope to have the opportunity to make your next stay better.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Preston hotels

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Booked off the Internet. Room on 5th floor, looking over Bell St. Check in polite business like
And helpful. Room clean, very comfortable, with an opening window, which I think is always a bonus!. This an interesting concept in accommodation that I hadn't seen before in Australia, but have stayed in overseas. It is particularly good for short stays because the location is wonderfully central to so much...like the city and the airport. Breakfast great and the whole package was faultless. Will happily use again...at $100.00 a night it's a great deal..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Jill S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, we appreciate you taking the time. We were delighted to hear that you had a great experience, and are looking forward to you staying again when you are in town next.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were looking for a long term property and decided to stay at Sleep and Go. It is small but very clean and has all the required items for a stay that is well below budget. The dining room was superb and serves a fantastic grilled calamari. I found the all staff extremely pleasant to deal with, the kitchen staff even more so. There is also a small bar on the ground floor and a well kept swimming pool.

Room Tip: There are groups of students going through all the time but if you ask for a room that is not noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TempusFugit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi TempusFugit12,

Thank you taking the time to review your long term stay, we appreciate it. JD’s Diner on the ground floor is a great dining option here at Bell City, and Helen and her staff there are definitely friendly faces loved by guests and staff alike. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed in the budget hotel for one night. The room had everything that was advertised, and was relatively clean. I got the feeling that this is the kind of place that would be suitable for young/ student travelers who are looking for something cheap rather than comfortable, e.g the loo was literally IN the shower. However, for the price this place is excellent value and great if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep. Another plus was that there was ample secure parking. I just wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere to stay that has character, charm or a personal touch. Just felt a little mass-produced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Linda M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate the feedback. We are working on bringing more personality into the entire center, next time why not check out the art gallery installation in the Rydges hotel foyer, or the kitchen vegetable garden near The Pantry cafe? We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to have you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Nice for the price, similar to budget hotel in Japan. Good first impression with & with the next day cleaning and a nice note. After that all downhill. The cleaner didn't notice that the sink leaked and dampen the carpet. Didn't vacuum the carpet, you came back to a room as you'd left it except for fresh towel & floor mate. No top of shampoo or cleanup of sink or bathroom tray. The bed is not made only covered up. Today no mate but 2 towels. The window leaks (handle loose) and air smells of cooking.
I regretted paying for the whole week of stay upfront, leaving Monday unfortunately.
Perhaps their management will read this and take some action.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonggeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhianon D, Marketing Coordinator at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi wonggeo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience, we appreciate it. Our management was very concerned to hear about the leakage issues you mentioned, and the maintenance team is looking into it. The light clean that you experienced is one of the features of staying with us that allows the accommodation to maintain a lower budget price, and we encourage guests who require a thorough daily clean to consider the adjoining Rydges hotel at Bell City. We would like to rectify the issues that you experienced, and hopefully offer you a better stay next time.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
0.0 mi away
Mantra Bell City
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quest Ivanhoe
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
239 reviews
5.3 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bell Motel
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
160 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Georges Motor Inn
St. Georges Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Thornbury
73 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hume Villa Motor Inn
Hume Villa Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Fawkner
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Bell City

Property: BreakFree Bell City
Address: 205 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Budget 1 & Sleep&Go)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Bell City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Bell City offers premium accommodation in the centre of Melbourne that is affordable and offers everything you need in the one place. Situated 9 km from the Melbourne CBD and 20 minutes from the main airport in Melbourne, public transport is also just 5 minutes' walk from the hotel, making this hotel highly accessible to everything Melbourne has to offer. Within the complex you'll find a great range of facilities surrounded by landscaped gardens, including a large resort pool, BBQ, gymnasium, games room and sauna. There are several onsite restaurants including Chill Restaurant & Bar, the Pantry Cafe and JD's Diner. The Pantry Convenience Store also supplies essential goods you may need during your stay including milk, bread, fruit and vegetables. There is also a shared kitchen if you'd like to cook onsite, or head into Preston and dine at one of the many cafes and restaurants. Choose from the Budget 1 and Sleep & Go rooms, which feature wireless internet access (WiFi), LCD TV with Foxtel channels, private ensuite bathroom, work desk and tea and coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms have large floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Melbourne skyline and its surrounds. *Government issued photo ID is required at the time of check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep & Go Bell City Hotel Preston
Sleep And Go Bell City
BreakFree Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing