We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Sleep, don't go.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BreakFree Bell City
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Sleep, don't go.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed on floor 6 in a balcony suite. The room was well appointed - the bed was large and the mattress and pillows were very soft, the bathroom was lovely.
However - the walls appear to be made from cardboard - every noise can be heard from the room next door (including someone using the toilet). The doors are very heavy and startle you from your sleep everytime someone else in the corridor or adjoining balcony opens or closes it.
During our three night stay, other guests felt that the time to start partying was around midnight, with a finish time of sun up. This included running from each others rooms and making mobile phone calls from the corridors. We lost the plot at around 7am on night (day?) three when the guests above us decided to play bongos on the glass balcony table. In total, we had 8 hours sleep in three nights.
If you want peace and quiet - stay at Rydges next door.
On the positive side - the staff were very nice and the facilities were good.
Its a shame that other people staying don't have the manners to consider their fellow guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hells69_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, General Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Hells69_11,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback, and are pleased you were impressed by the room and facilities. Our deepest apologies for the disturbances that were caused by other guests at the time of your stay, next time we encourage you to let our guest services team know so that we can help with the situation. We hope to have you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    327
    251
    134
    195
See reviews for
140
268
293
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment, and discovered after arriving late at night that these rooms are actually ground floor/right next to the Bar & swimming pool area. Unfortunately as the Grand Prix was also on that weekend the hotel was fully booked, and we did not have the option to move.
Our air conditioning was very noisy, and we were not allowed the control in our room...we had to contact reception to have the temperature adjusted?
We did enjoy the fact that to catch the tram,bus, or train was was only a short walk from the hotel, and we were able to explore during the day and return at night safely using public transport.
I was extremely impressed with the Reception Staff who I met during our stay - whenever I approached them, whether it was with a complaint or a query, they were always professional and friendly and a credit to the Hotel. I would recommend this as a convenient hotel to stay out of the city - but perhaps ask for a suite on a higher floor to get away from the noise :)

Room Tip: Ask for the suites on the higher floors if you wish to get away from the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4me23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, General Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Travel4me23,

What lovely feedback to pass on to our reception staff, thank you, we are very pleased to hear it. We understand your tip about staying on higher floors, in general they can be quieter, and due to the Grand Prix we were completely booked. In other circumstances we would have been more than happy to move you, which is something to keep in mind next time you stay with us.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I was given a ground floor room, which was very noisy and had timber blinds which were completely inadequate at blocking out the outdoor lighting - it was pretty much daylight all night. The bed was very soft and felt worn out...the toilet rocked and everything was very tired. The aironditioning unit was very noisy an there was no way to turn it off...it may have been there to try and dull all the other noises.

Nice big TV and foxtel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, General Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Vanessa B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here, we appreciate your feedback. The weekend you stayed we were at full capacity here due to the Grand Prix, yet if this hadn’t been the case we would have done our best to move you to a quieter room on a higher floor. Please let our guest services team aware of the issues you experienced next time you stay with us and we will ensure they are not repeated.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Preston hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were visiting family in next suburb and cannot comment on anything other than our room and parking. The room was modern, small but good design to make the most of available space and very comfortable king size bed. We arrived late afternoon on a hot February afternoon and our west facing room with the full glass wall was stifling, the blinds were drawn but the air conditioning couldn't cope. We left the room to visit our family and returned at 11pm and without the sun on window it was beautifully cool. The following day we planned to return after sun down for comfort. Car parking was available with ample spaces outside and underground for a most reasonable $5 per day. There was plenty of activity in the foyer area so I expect this hotel is popular and convenient for city and the airport - also there were dining choices being within a larger complex.
This hotel offers good accomodation for those who wish to literally 'sleep and go'

Room Tip: A room not facing west west in the summer would be a consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JanCba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, General Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi JanCanberra,

Thank you for your lovely review on your stay here at Sleep & Go, we appreciate the feedback. Your feedback about the sun has been noted, and we are looking into possible solutions for the future. Look forward to having you both stay with us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

On the first vieuw everyting looks nice, but they charge you for everyting! The wifi connection for example is very expensive!!
Its clear that they want to make money!
They don't clean the rooms every day, and the service is very bad!
Its also very far away from the city centre, its takes you more than a hour by public transport!!
The hotel is located is the worst area of Melbourne, without any shop, restaurant or bars nearby! And it's very dangerous to go out of the hotel at night! The hotel its located next to a very loud highway, and taxidrivers can find it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, General Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi Niels B,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. While Preston is not in the city center, there has definitely been a spread of the iconic Melbourne culture towards the inner north over the past 5 years. Next time you stay with us we recommend you talk to our guest services team to get the inside scoop on the cool little bars and cafes nearby, some personal favorites being Little Henri, Lowlands, and of course places like the Thornbury Theater. We are disappointed to hear that your taxi driver wasn't knowledgeable, as Bell City is such a large, easy to find establishment. Bell Street can get busy, but generally the noise levels here are less than in the CBD. We also provide a complimentary weekday shuttle bus to and from the CBD to provide a public transport free manner for guests to visit the CBD.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Mini bus transport from the airport to Bell City made transfer so easy. Sleep and go is a huge complex but runs efficiently with friendly informative staff. The room was very clean and comfortable with a huge window offering a wonderful view of the city centre high rise buildings with Melbourne spread out in the foreground. The food was good and served by welcoming staff. There is a free bus to and from the city at certain times of the day but ask as this doesn't seem to be advertised. The tram to the city is only 2 blocks away but the journey takes a long time. The train a couple of blocks further offers a fast and regular service to the city and it is safe to walk from the station to Sleep and go in the dark. Didn't have time to try the swimming pool but it looked very enticing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city skyline .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownOwlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, General Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi BrownOwlUK,

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, and can't wait to have you back. Thank you for making the point about the shuttle bus times, we will make the effort to have them advertised better.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
378 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Budget 1 (Sleep & Go) is the same hotel with the same reception desk.

Pros:
¤ Inexpensive and great for budget travellers.
¤ A nice little pool outside as well as lots of places to sit and chill.
¤ You´ll get nice food in the restaurant, but not everything was the same standard. Be careful what to choose.
¤ Friendly and helpful staff.
¤ You´ll get fast Wi-Fi (15 AUD for 2GB).

Cons:
¤ Rooms are not impressive, but you´ll get what you pay for. But they could have separated the bathroom/toilet from the rest of the room. Pretty annoying to have the toilet in the same small room. Not the best isolation in the rooms.
¤ The bar and restaurant are a bit expensive for budget travellers.
¤ Location is so-so. It´s not happening a lot in Preston. Preston Station is around 15 minutes walk though. You have to walk around 15 minutes to get to the closest food/bottle shop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FyFazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, General Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi ATGCB,

Thank you for your review, we hope to have you stay with us again soon. Addressing your concerns, it sounds like you stayed in Budget 1 Hotel (2.5 star), not Sleep & Go (3.5 star), which are actually two different hotels, despite sharing the same building. Budget 1 Hotel is great for the budget-savvy traveller, providing well priced rooms but still allowing access to the same great hotel amenities as our premium accommodation onsite, including gymnasium, resort style pool and CHILL restaurant as you mentioned. Our newly appointed executive chef is actually launching an all new menu this week, so we hope to see you back soon to let us know what you think. Preston is quickly changing, with new little shops and cafes popping up everywhere, so next time you stay have a chat with our front desk to get the insider secrets, or take advantage of our free shuttle into the city to explore.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
St. Georges Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Thornbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Bell City

Property: BreakFree Bell City
Address: 205 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Budget 1 & Sleep&Go)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Bell City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Bell City offers premium accommodation in the centre of Melbourne that is affordable and offers everything you need in the one place. Situated 9 km from the Melbourne CBD and 20 minutes from the main airport in Melbourne, public transport is also just 5 minutes' walk from the hotel, making this hotel highly accessible to everything Melbourne has to offer. Within the complex you'll find a great range of facilities surrounded by landscaped gardens, including a large resort pool, BBQ, gymnasium, games room and sauna. There are several onsite restaurants including Chill Restaurant & Bar, the Pantry Cafe and JD's Diner. The Pantry Convenience Store also supplies essential goods you may need during your stay including milk, bread, fruit and vegetables. There is also a shared kitchen if you'd like to cook onsite, or head into Preston and dine at one of the many cafes and restaurants. Choose from the Budget 1 and Sleep & Go rooms, which feature wireless internet access (WiFi), LCD TV with Foxtel channels, private ensuite bathroom, work desk and tea and coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms have large floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Melbourne skyline and its surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep And Go Bell City
Sleep & Go Bell City Hotel Preston
BreakFree Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing