We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always my first preference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree Bell City
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have stayed at Sleep and go Bell City for approx 20 nights over the last 2.5 years. now that I live in Melbourne its still my first preference for accomodation. Clean modern quaint Single Studios. ( love the recent renos guys) was great before but fantastic now. The staff are nice and professional oh and as for JD's best wedges I have had. Awesome pricing and the best showers I have ever had have been at Sleep and Go. I am travel agent but look a bit deeply in a hotel room when I a hotel guest and I honestly can not fault Sleep and Go.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room at Sleep and Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Glen K


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your recent stay at Sleep and Go.
We're very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that sleep and go is your first preference for accommodation. It’s always also a pleasure to read positive comments and fantastic to hear that you recognized what a great team we have here. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

"Sleep and go" is on the same webbpage as "Rydges on Bell", but you can not really see the difference. You only see a different price.
Both hotels are adjacent on the same ground in Melbourne-Preston.
I came erraticly into "Sleep and go", my intention was to book (again) the Rydges, where I always was satisfied.
But the common webbpage was new for me.
After entering the room in "Sleep and Go" it can be said, that the room is very small and does not even have a wardrobe. Therefore the bathroom was quite big and had a step-free shower, but no heating, which is not comfortable in the Melbourne winter.

A lot of students are living there, so during the night there was also a form of "nightlife" out of the adjacent rooms, keeping me awake.
So this cannot be an accomodation for business-trip longer than max. 1 night.
Also to say, that since my last visit, now a fee for parking AUS$ 5,-- per night is charged for both hotels.

Room Tip: Be aware that "Sleep and go" and "Rydges" are completely different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank german54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnGmanager, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear German54

Thank you for sharing you recent experience at sleep and go. I apologise that the webpage was not clear. I will forward your comments to our marketing team, website design and layout team to ensure that the website is easier to read and understand and can the difference between Rydges Hotel and Sleep and Go. We do have a diverse range for our clientele which do include student on level 1 to 3 whereas level 4-7 are hotel guests. It’s sad to hear that our hotel didn’t suit you needs. Hopefully we get the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked a night at the Sleep & Go Bell City. On arrival the front desk staff appeared confused to discover that management had cancelled our room for some unknown reason, the staff member was obviously unskilled with how to resolve the issue, running around asking the other staff what to do? While we stood there impatiently for 5-10mins, finally what appeared to be a manager addressed us, upgrading us from a double to a king room. However when we asked if the $5 parking fee would be waved for our troubles, their unkind response was "we are upgrading you to a king room, that should be good enough." When we walked into the king room we discovered that "King" size bed really meant two single beds pushed together, so throughout the night the beds slid apart leaving a huge gap between the beds. My partner awoke the next morning half on the bed, half in the gap, leaving them with a sore back the rest of the next day. But these werent the only issues, there were just too many issues throughout the one night stay. The room was too small and falling apart. One of the window sills had a puddle of water that could've easily filled our coffee mugs, the lamp behind the bed was hanging nervously by one screw, paint was splattered on carpets and curtains, there were no cutlery or basic amenities in the room & I'm shocked to say but the issues only continued through the stay! We were forced to tune the television ourselves as the channels were fuzzy or not even there, the walls were paper thin and we could hear everyone and everything around us, making us uncomfortable and compelled to whisper in our own room. the temperature of the room was one of the most irritating issues, our small room was set to 25 degrees and felt like the inside of an oven. Temperature control in the room meant either on or off, either extremely hot or freezing cold. When we called to ask about changing the temperature in the room the staff gave no explanations or assistance and nothing was resolved. After having dinner, we came back to the room and watched some television on the bed which we found was lumpy, extremely uncomfortable and had only two sheets and a thin blanket to keep us from freezing to death. We decided to have a hot shower to warm us up, only to discover there was no water! We turned on the basin tap to see only a dribble of water come out & the shower had nothing. We went downstairs and the staff had no idea what was happening, once again the staff were rude and and unhelpfully. They reset some kind of a pump in a back room, and said everything should be okay now? The water was back to normal, however it wasnt any warmer than room temperature, which meant a shower was out of the question. In the morning we brought all of our issues to hotel staff attention, they appeared shocked but still rude and unhelpful. We are still waiting for a response from management via email. We are disgusted that we paid $100 for the night and have paid similar prices for much much better accommodation facilities. Working in the accommodation sector myself I'm absolutely appalled with this hotel and will definitely not stay here ever again or recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Jkelberg

We are very disappointed and saddened that your stay with us was not up to standards. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. The issues you had with your stay with us at Sleep and Go are not acceptable by management and are undergoing review. All the team at Sleep and Go thrive to make each guests stay as comfortable they possibly can by being helpful and understanding towards our guest’s. Sleep And Go has gone throw a major face lift which includes new beds, new LCD TVs’ new lamps, so to hear this I have extremely disappointed. Please contact me directly on 0394850197 so we can offer you a complimentary night at our partner hotel Rydges Bell City. We do hope that you will change your mind and hopefully give us a second chance to prove that our hotel is better than your previous stay.

Kind Regards
Management Sleep And Go

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

It was a nice hotel, with free parking (in Melbourne this is a luxury). The room was on a higher level, with view on downtown skyscapers, was a nice view. Breakfast was quite expensive, so we decided not to take. The deck unfortunately was closed, but I personal allowed to take a photo. Personal was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorant80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Lorant80

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay here at sleep and go. It’s always a pleasure to read positive comments and have great feedback like this. I must agree the view of the city are amazing though the floor to the ceiling windows, you don’t miss a thing.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

ok place to stay to visit family. room and bathroom were clean, however the room we had the bathroom drain had a 'funky' smell and the heating was a bit too warm and couldn't be adjusted.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digirolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Digirolz

Many thanks for letting us know about your stay here at sleep and go and for your feedback.
We're happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our rooms to your liking. We have spoken to maintenance and they have repaired the issue with the drain. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Good - The room was nice.
Bad - Paper thin walls, curtains didn't cover widows & our heater was broken and they didn't fix it for our 3 day stay. FROZE TO DEATH : (

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Dan P

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy to hear that the room was nice. We have taken note about the heater in the room, and can advise that the problem has been rectified.

Kind regards

Management of Sleep and go

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The rooms are tiny and the bathroom / shower is even smaller.
I suppose it is part of the price that we sacrifice size.

However one cannot possibly get sleep in a room where you can hear coughing (from 3 rooms away), talking in the corridor, doors opening, showers and taps being operated.

I could even hear my next door occupant shut his laptop!

The rooms are poorly constructed and would fail even the basic requirements of the Australian Building Code for noise abatement.

There are other dissappointing aspects with the room like tiny beds, showers directly over the crap pot etc - however the lack of sleep caused by cheap construction outweighs all the others by a country mile.

Give it a miss and stay at any cheap motel nearby. Bigger room, better sleep!

Room Tip: Avoid the standard rooms - The larger rooms have their own wing so maybe less occupants mean less di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank env300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Env 300

Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience at sleep and go and I am sorry that your stay with us wasn’t up to standards. I have addressed this issue and we currently working on making sleep and go a more versatile hotel to suit all guests. These rooms are a budget rooms that come with LCD TV, king single bed and Ipod dock, As for the construction of our rooms we have spoken to maintenance team and they have assured us that it has passed the Australian building code for noise abatement Thank you once again for you feedback as any feedback is positive for us at bell city .We hope the next time you stay with us it will be more comfortable one for you.

Kind regards

Management of Sleep and go

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,310 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#114 of 161 in Melbourne
392 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Bell City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Bell City

Address: 205 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Budget 1 & Sleep&Go)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Preston
Price Range: $49 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Bell City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Bell City offers premium accommodation in the centre of Melbourne that is affordable and offers everything you need in the one place. Situated 9 km from the Melbourne CBD and 20 minutes from the main airport in Melbourne, public transport is also just 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel, making this hotel highly accessible to everything Melbourne has to offer. Within the complex you’ll find a great range of facilities surrounded by landscaped gardens, including a large resort pool, BBQ, gymnasium, games room, sauna and the onsite restaurants JD’s Diner & Burger Bar and the Pantry Café. The Pantry Convenience Store also supplies essential goods you may need during your stay including milk, bread, fruit and vegetables. There is also a shared kitchen if you’d like to cook onsite, or head into Preston and dine at one of the many cafes and restaurants. *Government issued photo ID is required at the time of check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep And Go Bell City
Sleep & Go Bell City Hotel Preston
BreakFree Bell City Preston, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing