We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of Salt Pepper Nutmeg

Salt Pepper Nutmeg
Reserve with
Salt Pepper Nutmeg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Have had dinner here with my wife and 3 kids on quite a few occasions now. The food has always been great, the staff friendly and the owners really know how to make you feel welcome. The place is child friendly and even has crayons on each table so the kids can draw (and stay out of your hair) on the paper they use as table cloth. Portion sizes here are generous so come hungry. If you don't fancy anything on the menu or specials board, no problem, just tell Paul what you feel like and if he's got it, he'll cook up a fantastic dish for you. The last time I was there, I had the Lamb Shoulder with mash and mixed veges - which was NOT on the menu. This dish was superb. He even wizzed up a kids pasta/vege/fruit dish for my fussy little ones. One other thing, make sure you tell the staff at time of booking if you are celebrating a birthday or other special occassion. They bring out a Chocolate cake for you to cut up that is absolutely devine. Will happily keep coming back here again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    57
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We dined on a Monday night when not much else is open & were thoroughly surprised at how good the food was. The staff were helpful. They had daily blackboard specials which was great because you got the feeling it had mostly pasta dishes from their website.The place had a nice homely feel.
It is worth noting that most seating is on benches with pillows, and tables are lined with paper rather than cloth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdport2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good suburban restaurant”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Not a large menu but an interesting one, and contrary to many restaurants these days, the portions were huge. We started with bruschettas which were presented in an unusual way.

Everything was tasty, we eat vegetarian, our friends had the lamb, and we shared two different desserts.

Service was friendly and we had a very pleasant evening and when visiting the North Shore would be happy to choose this restaurant again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackson2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had dinner here on Friday night & as usual the food was fabulous. They use fresh local produce that is in season for the specials board - I had slow cooked beef cheeks - YUM!!! The dessert of orange creme brulee was too big & heavy for one person should be a share plate
The food is expensive but well worth it - there was 4 of us we shared an antipasto plate, had a main each, 3 of us had dessert & one a hot chocolate - $45.00 a head. The restaurant is BYO which is good

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fanastic Find on a busy street”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

There are a few restaurants on Pacific Highway, and a friend recommended that we give it a go.
I loved the cozy atmosphere of the restaurant. The food portions were extremely generous and we felt welcomed to stay and continue our conversations - in most restaurants, it feels like we are rushed, or forced to order to stay at the restaurant.

I had arranged a banquet for a birthday, and it was tremendous and such fantastic value - a variety of food kept coming up. It was fresh, hot and there was plenty of it. The chef and owner, Paul also made me a birthday cake, and the table was decorated for me, as they insisted on a theme. It was a fantastic way to celebrate my birthday. My friends were definitely impressed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyY393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Pepper Nutmeg also viewed

Lindfield, Ku-ring-gai
Chatswood, Willoughby
 
Roseville, Willoughby
Roseville, Willoughby
 
Chatswood, Willoughby
 

Been to Salt Pepper Nutmeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing