We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - near transportation yet feels quiet and secluded”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Roseville B&B and Inns
Lovedale, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location - near transportation yet feels quiet and secluded”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Lyrebird is my favourite port of call when I need to come into Sydney on business. The location is close to the Roseville train station yet removed enough to be in a quiet area surrounded by bush - a perfect retreat after slogging it out in the CBD all day. The room has everything you could need whether you are on business or in town sight-seeing -- private entrance, nice big bed in a room with high ceilings, ensuite, microwave, small 'fridge and tv. There are plenty of shops and restaurants close by in Roseville and Chatswood. I was here in August and am going back again next week!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazzaJazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nice quite spot in busy city. Near trains and shopping at Chatswood. Sarah and Graeme have restored this cottage well. Has nice stone wall feel. Lyrebird Lodge has plenty of space with a large deck for outside use that has garden view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We hate to write a negative review but feel the need to offer an honest account of our experience. With more care and attention this could be so good. We booked the B&B Lorikeet Room for seven nights with a one night 'gap' half way through. On arrival we cruised up and down for a while before we found the house as it is secluded, with no sign outside. Although advertised as a B&B we were informed in advance that breakfast is no longer provided, but that we could supply our own breakfast provisions, which we had elected to do. The room is separate from the main house and had a table and chairs, crockery and cutlery, a microwave, kettle and an electric cooler. The bed was very comfortable (but had only one reading lamp!), the shower efficient. Returning that evening, to our surprise we found our used breakfast dishes unwashed on the table, tea/coffee/milk not replenished, the bin not emptied. The owners were not contactable. The room is not advertised as self catering, there is no sink and cleaning materials (we looked), so we scalded out the dishes one by one in the tiny hand basin in the shower room. The following morning it was embarrassing to have to ask the owner if she would wash up the breakfast dishes and replace the beverages, but she agreed, although she seemed surprised to be asked. During our whole stay the room and toilet/shower room were not cleaned, the bed linen not changed. We felt we were ‘bothering’ the owners when we needed to request more toilet rolls. The shower room window would not close as the handle was faulty, so getting out of the shower was ‘bracing’. We were very glad an electric heater was provided in the main room. Some of the outside lights were not working, which meant very careful entry via steps in the dark; this was not attended to although we reported it. The owner very kindly stored our bags for us on a one night side trip, and on our return we found that at least the towels had been changed. We were offered no price reduction to reflect the lack of service that would have been provided for seven one night stays. With a deep clean (including the grubby carpet) and proper servicing this room could be great, although we would not in any way describe it as ‘luxury’ accommodation. Location is good, about 15 minutes’ walk to Chatswood CBD and station, the free wifi worked well and it is very quiet. Would recommend as a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sooobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyrebirdBandB, Owner at Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for your review Stewart and Sue. We are sorry our Lorikeet room did not meet your expectations.

This is however an opportunity to explain our set up. There are two options when booking our accommodation. We offer self catering accommodation in either a Queen room with ensuite or a 2 bed apartment with a fully fitted kitchen (breakfast provisions can be provided upon request at an extra cost) in a peaceful and practical setting. We are neither a serviced apartment/room or a hotel, which is reflected in our pricing. If guests are after a hands on service then they would be better suited to booking a local hotel or high rise serviced apartment which would include a daily service, linen change and possibly breakfast, however would cost more accordingly.

What we do offer is personal space, a clean comfortable self contained room and a friendly smile (and travel advice, ideas for eating out, some company if a guest would like it...) Our typical guest is looking for self catering accommodation enjoying their privacy with a private entrance in a bush setting at a very reasonable rate. They love our location because they say its like staying in the country with the city and public transport within easy reach. We have shared many a story and glass of wine with guests on the balcony over the years. Many guests return again and again and some have become family friends.

For guests staying 7 nights plus we do a weekly change of bed linen and towels and a room clean (we like to do our small bit for the environment and think once a week is more than adequate) Stewart and Sue stayed 5 nights then 2 nights (went away overnight) so got 8 nights effectively for a weekly rate (less than $80 per night). With regards to the carpet, we totally agree and it actually needs replacing, which we are doing in November as we have a suitable gap in bookings to do this.

If guests wish to have proper cooking/kitchen/washing up facilities then we suggest booking our 2 bed apartment. We used to provide a breakfast in the main house for our Queen room guests, however stopped this a few months ago as our new addition to the family arrived at the end of June this year. We also identified that almost all of our guests preferred to be left alone with their own eating arrangements at a more budget friendly rate (we lowered pricing accordingly with no daily service) as most are here to spend time with family, work or see the sites of Sydney.

With regards to location, all guests are provided with maps and instructions to find us (we are in a heritage/conservation zone and therefore have no signage off the main Street) Our house is tucked away from the main street which makes it more private and therefore a little more difficult to find first time but most of our guests find us with no problem.

We would love to hear from future guests who want to live like a local in private, quiet surroundings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Myself, my friend and my parents stayed in the Lyrebird Lodge for nearly 3 weeks and we coudn't have had a better experience. There are two bedrooms, a large kitchen, huge bathroom, TV room, dining room table and huge veranda with a table and couch. Needless to say we had more than enough space. This B&B is situated in a beautiful suburb, surrounded by nature, yet extremely accessible to the CBD.

Sarah and Graeme are the most gracious hosts, they answered any questions we had, brought us anything extra we needed and made us feel right at home. They have a beautiful place, you'll be hard pressed to find a better B&B around Sydney, especially for this price!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Britt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you are travelling on business or pleasure and need a base in Sydney - I can't fault this accommodation for value and conveinance . I stay in the smaller one bedroom on the top floor with it's own entrance and outdoor deck. Wifi - ensuite and TV/ Frig - quiet at night - however it is a smaller room - but if you are own your own or just sleeping there it is ideal. Car parking near door- friendly hosts and supermarket 5 mins away if you need anything

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Myself and my family stayed at the Lyrebird Cottage and the Lorikeet Room. The bird life from the veranda was simply beautiful and having somewhere with peace and quiet over New Years Eve in Sydney was fantastic.Gorgeous shower room downstairs in the Lyrebird Cottage and plenty of space. Upstairs Lorikeet Room has more than enough comfort for myself and my husband. No air conditioning which made things a bit hot but fans provided so not unbearable. Sarah and Graeme could not have been more accommodating and even managed to re-unite us with a laptop which we left behind within 24 hrs. Lovely hosts, lovely house.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Having lived and travelled in Sydney I know that it can be hard to find a decent place without it costing a fortune or filled with cockroches! I was very pleased to find the best value for money B&B that I have stayed in yet! The B&B is situated in a lovely, leafy suburb of Sydney. It is off the beaten track away from the general tourist traps and high cost but low value accomodation found there and in neighbouring areas like Manly. The B&B is a lovely restored house with a lovely veranda looking out towards the mountains. With a lovely outside lounge area (with table and sofa) it is very easy to pass the time on the veranda watching the sunset. We stayed in the Lorikeet Room of the B&B. The great thing about this room is that it is separate and adjacent to the house itself so has a separate private entrance and outdoor area. The room has been newly built and everything is modern and clean. I found the room a good size for a couple with lots of amneites like kettle, tea/coffee, tv etc, which you would often find in a hotel room but not most B&B's. Those that have commented that the room is too small or below standard are being unfair. For what they want they would have to pay 3-4x the price and stay in the HIlton. The whole point of staying in B&B's is for the charater and charm of the location, which this place has plenty! In addition the owners are absolutely lovely. Graeme and Sarah are very welcoming, extremley helpful and welcome you into their home as if you are one of the family. Their local knowledge is invaluable! And Sarah's breakasts on the veranda are irresitable! This B&B ticked all the boxes for me and I can highly recommend it to those wanting to get a real feel for Sydney by staying with locals in a local suburb but still being within easy distance by train into town and country.

Room Tip: Lorikeet room has a nice private entry and outdoor area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseville
0.6 mi away
Silkari Suites at Chatswood
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Chatswood
0.5 mi away
Mantra Chatswood
Mantra Chatswood
#3 of 5 in Chatswood
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charrington Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Sebel Residence Chatswood
1.3 mi away
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel
#2 of 2 in Artarmon
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lyrebird Bed & Breakfast
Address: 44 Findlay Ave, Roseville, Willoughby, New South Wales 2069, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Willoughby > Roseville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roseville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colonial, rustic Australian home close to National Parks,cafes, Chatswood Theatre, shopping centre and public transport with easy access to Sydney's city centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing