We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful locationn for inner city Melbourne stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on Dorcas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Dorcas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful locationn for inner city Melbourne stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A friend and I shared a 2 bedroom apartment for a five day girls catch up in Melbourne. Location is superb with proximity to St Kilda Rd trams and an easy stroll to city and southbank. Staff were pleasant and helpful throughout the stay.
We chose the apartment so we could do some self catering. Range of kitchen utensils could have been better although appliances were excellent. Proximity of South Melbourne Markets makes self catering a delight.
Rooms were spacious, beds large and comfortable and bathrooms well appointed. However the carpets could do with a good shampoo. I wore my socks around for a couple of hours one night and they were almost black. Views from our 6th floor apartment were limited, but we didn't spend too much time there anyway.
A special mention about the small bottleshop/coffee shop located in the basement of the building - the guy who runs it is very helpful and seems to know his stuff. It's very convenient for an early morning coffee or to pick up a bottle of something after a day's sightseeing
I would certainly stay at Quest on Dorcas again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SharonGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Manager at Quest on Dorcas, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sharon

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Quest on Dorcas. I am so glad that the staff were pleasant and helpful, that is always lovely to hear.
I do apologise for the carpet, we do try to steam clean them regularly, however I have now implemented a procedure to ensure every apartment is steam cleaned frequently.

Ken at the coffee and liquor shop is fantastic and we here think the coffee is delicious also, I have passed on your feedback and he was delighted.

When you return, please do not hesitate to request any additional cooking utensils we will be more than happy to provide these for the duration of your stay. Although not all of our apartments have views, we have some gorgeous city view apartments, please feel free to request for your next stay and we will do our best to accommodate.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Lauren Berry
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    80
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
40
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moama, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here Saturday 23 March so that we could participate in a fun run on Sunday morning. We booked quite early online, and requested a week or so later a late checkout so we could shower after our run. It couldnt be guaranteed, but we were asked to make contact closer to the date. We did this and a late checkout was available. It cost no extra. We were very grateful for this - so thanks guys!!
The rooms are new and well appointed. We have 3 kids, and one slept on the couch as there was no rollaway bed. This was no problem for us, and I'm sure if we had asked at reception for an extra bed it would have been provided. Staff here are great. Much much much better than some other apartment accomm nearby.
Tram stop is very close, there's a small bottle shop and coffee shop next door, and a couple of small supermarkets within about 200 metres. Parking and access is easy. I strongly reccommend this Quest for family travellers to Melbourne. Its quiet but safe at night, and so close to the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank touring-plonkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Manager at Quest on Dorcas, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear touring-plonkies

Thank you for choosing Quest on Dorcas and taking the time to provide a review of our property. Thank you for your kind words it is always appreciated and the whole team were thrilled with your lovely comment about them.

As we are a small property we cannot always provide a late check-out but I’m so glad we could on this occasion.

Please feel free to contact Reception on your next stay and we will certainly be able to have a rollaway bed ready for your arrival.

Thank you again and we look forwarding to see you soon.

Kind regards
Lauren Berry
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've stayed here a few times on business trips. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and well appointed and the location just south of the city centre and a short walk from the botanical garden is ideal. 

A tram stop is located less than 100m from the hotel, which provides access to all areas of the city. The hotel does not provide breakfast but there are numerous  cafes on Dorcas street. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Manager at Quest on Dorcas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi Darren

Thank you for your lovely review, it is always a pleasure having you stay with us. It's fantastic to hear that the staff are welcoming and helpful, I will ensure this is passed onto them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and you'll hopefully get to sample a few more of the great cafes nearby.

Best wishes
Lauren Berry
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed for a week in December for work in South Melbourne.
Great location just off St Kilda Road and opposite the Botanic gardens.

Hotel check-in is quick and easy and being a serviced apartment, I didn't really see reception again until I checked out.
Apartment was fairly large for a one-bedder. Had a huge study area (bit of silly design - way too much space) and well equipped kitchen, laundry etc.
Furnished in a clean, modern style and all in great condition.

Large comfy bed for a good night sleep and good water pressure in the shower.

Hotel has a gym but I didn't see it. Hotel has internet, but not free. Internet rates were ok.

There are cafes and a bottle-shop on the same street, and the tram stop is under 50m away.

All in all a great stay for the week and perfect for my stay for work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney_CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Manager at Quest on Dorcas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear sydney_CJ

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that check-in was quick and easy. If you ever do need assistance from Reception please feel free to pop in as the Reception team will be more than happy to assist.

The study alcove in our One Bedroom Executive apartment is quite large and works well for long stays as it provides space for additional storage and also additional bedding. If you don't need this additional space, I could recommend the One Bedroom Standard apartment which doesn't have a study alcove but is still quite spacious.

Hopefully next time you will get a chance to view our gymnasium as it has a beautiful view of the Royal Botanic Gardens, however many of our guests do also enjoy the tan track.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Lauren Berry
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a one bed apt that was well equipped, modern and clean. Comfy beds but hard pillows and no free WiFi, which in this day and age is not good. Even though we were on the 8th floor, our outdoor area faced a brick wall, so we had no view and it made the apt quite dark. The tram is at the end of the street and we found he location to be ideal for our needs. The botanic gardens are just across the road. It is a 10 minute walk to south-bank or a short tram ride to Swanston Street.
Staff were pleasant and helpful and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Manager at Quest on Dorcas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Heg

Thank you for your review and recent stay at Quest on Dorcas. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and since your review I have requested that our Housekeeping team check on all pillows, if you stay with us again please feel free to let Reception know and we will happily replace.

At this point in time we do need to charge for our Internet, but I appreciate your feedback and have passed onto the Director for review of our Internet policy.

Unfortunately from our One Bedroom apartments (8th & 9th floors), there isn't any views, however we would love to recommend our One Bedroom Executive apartment for your next stay which are from the 10th floor, some with amazing views of the city.

It is excellent having the tram so close and it is lovely to hear the staff were helpful, they always enjoy sharing their local knowledge.

I look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Best wishes

Lauren Berry
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

A modern, clean apartment hotel, well-located to visit Botanic Gardens, Rod Laver Arena and the National Gallery of Victoria. The rooms are well-appointed including a kitchenette with dishwasher. Two bedroom apartments comfortably fit two couples and we easily got parking right out the front (free in weekends). A no-fuss stay in a convenient location at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Empyrerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I felt compelled to leave a review for this Hotel/Apartment because I was so pleased with it.

Not only was the Hotel in a fantastic location with the beautiful Botanic Gardens at the end of the street for morning strolls (were you could also jump on a horse drawn carriage to tour the massive gardens or jump on a Tram and be in the heart of Melbourne CBD in just a couple of minutes), the staff were also very friendly, helpful and accommodating.
I thought I would mention that here is a fantastic little coffee shop a couple of doors down who make an awesome brew and a delicious snack also! (unfortunately they do not open on Sundays though) and there is a little bottle shop downstairs which I found convenient. :)

The self contained apartment I stayed in for 4 days was very quiet, comfortable, clean and well equipped. In fact the only 3 things I could fault it on was that firstly the shower badly lacked racks for your shower things. It only had one small soap holder so I had to put all my shampoo;s, cleansers etc on the floor of the shower.
Secondly, I would put a mark against the Hotel for not offering free, or for that matter ANY, wireless internet access.... it is 2012 after all and I am sure if McDonald's can cater to the needs of their customers than Quest can also.
Lastly, while the bed was very comfortable, I was disappointed with their pillows which were very flat and ended up giving me a sore neck but apart from these few let-downs, I would give this Hotel my full approval to any disconcerting traveller.... just take your own pillow, shower rack and internet! lol

Room Tip: I specifically asked for a quiet room and that is exactly what I was given which is great so don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roses20122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Melbourne
Seasons Botanic Gardens
#67 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#25 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,301 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Royce Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Dorcas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Dorcas

Property: Quest on Dorcas
Address: 8 Dorcas Street, South Melbourne, Port Phillip, Victoria 3205, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > South Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on Dorcas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in South Melbourne, our serviced apartments are within 60 metres of St Kilda Road, with many overlooking the Melbourne city sky-line, Royal Botanic Gardens and Shrine of Remembrance. Our modern accommodation offers spacious and comfortable 4 1/2 star one and two bedroom apartments. All 52 apartments are stylishly appointed and feature separate lounge and dining area, full kitchen, laundry with washing machine and clothes dryer, two televisions and private balcony. With the convenience of the St Kilda Road tram stop, guests have easy public transport access to Melbourne's CBD (1.5kms away), plus tram lines servicing Southbank, St Kilda and South Yarra. Quest on Dorcas is in walking distance to Melbourne's Art Precinct and Sporting Precinct. If coffee, food and wine are more your style, we are located in perfect reach to an array of cosmopolitan cafes, pubs, bars and fine dining restaurants. On-site at Quest on Dorcas is an excellent gymnasium, lift access, undercover parking, Nashi Cafe (open Mon-Fri), and a liquor store (open 7 days). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Quest on Dorcas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dorcas Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing