We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Weeked in Melbourne” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest on Dorcas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest on Dorcas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Moama
1 review
“Weeked in Melbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My Family and I enjoyed our stay. It would have been nice to spend a few more days to relax properly, rather than just the weekend.
My only request would be to have separate ACs in the bedrooms.
Other than that excellent

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenPBerry, Manager at Quest on Dorcas, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hi Gary

Thank you for your review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your suggestion in relation to an air conditioner in the bedroom, it is something I have passed onto our Director for consideration.

We hope to be able to welcome you back for a little more than a weekend on your next stay.

Best wishes
Lauren Berry
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    124
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
91
73
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ACT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Well, it was a good stay with the family. The downsides did include staying while they were upgrading the electricity in the building, so imagine our surprise to have power cut off to the room when we woke up in the morning. While it was nice to have them let us know it would happen (on check-in) the night before, (sometime between 8am - 12ish pm?) it was a bit bad taste to do it while we were there, and not even help us in some way. So, I'm not incredibly happy with that stay. Accommodation was okay, have paid more for less - but paid less for more, so in all, will give an average rating to this place. Parking is 'interesting' since the bays are quite small. Won't stay here again once I have my new car (4x4.) won't fit in the bays.

Room Tip: Can't say the place is overall placed well, since access to the street is tricky, unless you com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaTTyRaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenPBerry, Manager at Quest on Dorcas, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear RaTTyRaTT

Thank you for your recent review of Quest on Dorcas. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused by the installation of smart meters on behalf of the Victorian Government. We tried our best to communicate when it would be occurring and limit the inconvenience to our guests, unfortunately we were not provided with exact times for each apartment, as it was conducted by an outside electricity provider for all 150 apartments. I hope any disruptions were kept to a minimum with power only being out for between 20-30 minutes, we are sorry that we couldn't offer further assistance.

The parking spaces on the lower levels can be a little tight, however, a quick tip for all those with larger vehicles who are the car park; head up to levels 6 & 7 as the car spaces are larger and more abundant on these floors. I will ensure that Reception staff are advised to communicate this to all guests on arrival.

We would love to welcome you back in future and hope we can provide you with the guest experience that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Lauren Berry
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I had three days of meetings in the St Kilda area, so used this property for two nights. I had a one bedroom apartment on the second floor - my unit faced the building across the side alley, but I wasn't there for the view, and it seemed to get less street noise. The unit was a good size, and had a fully equipped kitchen, lounge / dining, working desk with good light, and reasonable sized bedroom and bathroom. One quiet air-conditioner in the lounge was adequate to keep the whole unit comfortable. Everything in the unit worked as it should - a nice change from some of the "serviced apartments" I've had. The unit was, surprisingly, cleaned and had soaps, coffee etc replenished daily.

Check-in was easy and friendly, with helpful information about local facilities.

There is a coffee shop open for breakfast and a separate liquor store at street level, plus a licensed mini-supermarket 50m away.

There is a wide selection of restaurants within a 5 - 10 minute walk, and trams run regularly along St Kilda Road, just 50m away.

The only negative - using the in-house internet connection is very expensive; sign up for your own mobile connection before coming here. I would have given the property 5 stars if they hadn't been so greedy.

I will definitely stay here again when next in the area.

Room Tip: The lifts are slow; ask for a low floor if this is important to you. Higher floors do have views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Have stayed here before and this time (5 nights) the service was still excellent, the room clean and well furnished. The location is great for walking in the Botanical Gardens or into South Melbourne or to South Bank, but the tram stop on St Kilda Rd is two minutes away, if you wish to go further. There's plenty of food stores and coffee available around about. One negative would be that the room we had this time looked into the neighbouring building and so inside the apartment it was impossible to tell whether it was day or night. We really missed the great view we had on our previous visit. Another is that the lower the floor the noisier the car park gates in the middle of the night and the banging of the door to the car park. So if you can, try to get an apartment on a higher floor with a view. As far as returning to the property? Rooms with no outlook should have a cheaper tariff. Otherwise yes.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on a higher floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helsaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren D, Manager at Quest on Dorcas, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear helsaAustralia

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all information provided back to us. I am glad you have had the chance to stay in one of our city view apartments. We do only have 3 of these wonderful apartments and they are charged at a much higher tariff than our Executive apartments, however, from time to time we do upgrade our guests to these rooms.

In relation to the car park doors, your feedback was invaluable and we have already spoken to the Building Manager in relation to having these gates serviced.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Lauren Berry
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and it was absolutely perfect. Location is an easy walk to the Art Gallery, Shrine or Botannic Gardens and, just minutes away, a tram stop to everywhere that matters -- the CBD, Lygon Street Carlton or Fitzroy Street St Kilda or Melbourne Uni or Toorak/South Yarra, and everywhere else.
The service was superb! Truly professional, polite and friendly with nothing too much trouble. Best of all, directions to anywhere were clearly and succintly given.
Layout of our one-bedroom apartment was really good and everything seemed to be provided. Would certainly stay here again, any time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carilloneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed in the Quest on Dorcas with our infant son. We loved the location, within walking distance to shops, markets and cafes of South Melbourne. There are also supermarkets on the same block as Quest.

Our apartment was serviced daily, except on a public holiday, which I think is reasonable. This was made clear on arrival.

The car park is a little annoying, it is very narrow and winding, and only a few parks for Quest guests on selected floors. If you there on a week day and not home during business hours (say driving to work), it is not necessary to pay for parking. There were generally parks on the street, so check it out before paying upfront.

Overall we loved our stay at Quest on Dorcas, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shesays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren D, Manager at Quest on Dorcas, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear shesays

Thank you for your review of Quest on Dorcas. I will agree, the car park can be tricky at times, especially with larger vehicles and when your not use to it. I like to provide a little tip, we have a lot more spaces and they are larger the higher you go up, so this is also a great option.

I am pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and the location was suited to your needs, I would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards

Lauren Berry
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at this property for 3 nights. Spacious apartment, super friendly reception staff, awesome room servicing. We will certainly be back again. We had 4 adults and 1 child in our unit, plenty of space and very well appointed unit. Just a bit out of the main hustle and bustle of the Cbd. We were going to a wedding in Dorcas st, so location was great. Tram stop not far from apartments too. We were upgraded to a city view room, the view from our windows was amazing. Only regret is that we had to go home, I would recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren D, Manager at Quest on Dorcas, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear carilloneur

Thank you for your lovely review, I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Melbourne. As the manager, I am very happy that you found the service superb and I have passed this onto the Front Office team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes

Lauren Berry
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,966 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#23 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Dorcas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Dorcas

Property: Quest on Dorcas
Address: 8 Dorcas Street, South Melbourne, Port Phillip, Victoria 3205, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > South Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on Dorcas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in South Melbourne, our serviced apartments are within 60 metres of St Kilda Road, with many overlooking the Melbourne city sky-line, Royal Botanic Gardens and Shrine of Remembrance. Our modern accommodation offers spacious and comfortable 4 1/2 star one and two bedroom apartments. All 52 apartments are stylishly appointed and feature separate lounge and dining area, full kitchen, laundry with washing machine and clothes dryer, two televisions and private balcony. With the convenience of the St Kilda Road tram stop, guests have easy public transport access to Melbourne's CBD (1.5kms away), plus tram lines servicing Southbank, St Kilda and South Yarra. Quest on Dorcas is in walking distance to Melbourne's Art Precinct and Sporting Precinct. If coffee, food and wine are more your style, we are located in perfect reach to an array of cosmopolitan cafes, pubs, bars and fine dining restaurants. On-site at Quest on Dorcas is an excellent gymnasium, lift access, undercover parking, Nashi Cafe (open Mon-Fri), and a liquor store (open 7 days). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Quest on Dorcas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dorcas Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing