We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one of the best places we have stayed in.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Towers Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Karak B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Not one of the best places we have stayed in.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived in Karak just after lunch and checked into the room.
We were shown a triple and the cost was 25JOD. I am not sure if this could have been cheaper.
The room was ok the carpet was not fitted is the best way to call this. the cut out sections that were placed to fill the area was not the best.
Also the beds were covered in Hello Kitty bed spreads, i am sure any under the age of ten would enjoy this but we just thought it funny.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant, in front of the castle (around the corner) owned by the same family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    6
    3
    10
See reviews for
6
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Overpriced at first with typical hecklar pricing. Haggled down to 25% from their first offer within a sentence. Once past this sleazy process you'll find a fairly run down hotel, but quite perfunctory.

I stayed here while travelling around the country on my bike, and arrived soaking wet on a chilly January afternoon.

Most of the rooms have great views, out over the valley that Karak castle dominates. If you can grab a room with a balcony (most have them), then you're in for a treat come sunrise/sunset. Rooms are compfortable and spacious, if a little dilapidated (but not dirtily so, just the sign of years of business). Also, the balconies have space and chairs for a few people to sit out on - lovely. No working heater in room (if you're staying in winter you may require this), but the friendly staff (who know their town depends on tourism) are happy to lug a huge gas heater up the stairs and set it up for you. I was toasty after that, dried out all my clothes too, great.

Hotel offers you a free tea/coffee on arrival, perhaps a chance for them to tell you about their partner restaurant, just across the street. Fair enough, you can ignore them if you want, but the restaurant is one of the cheapest and best located around so I took it as worthwhile advice (having subsequently walked for thirty minutes trying to find better - ever the cheapskate).

Locked storage room for my bike was useful. Staff whenever you saw them were tripping over themselves trying to help you.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony and a view that will take in sunrise/sunset on the great rock dunes surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samt_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I chose Towers Castle Hotel as a place for 1 night because of its perfect location - next to the Karak Crusader Castle, the biggest tourist attraction in Karak. I have very ambiguous feelings about this hotel - from one point of view that smell in the air was like from a camel farm. On the other side, the staff paid attention to guests, maybe understanding their problem with very "special atmosphere" inside the building. They were better than most of the tourist information centres in Jordan giving me some very useful tips for the later stages of my journey.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FR4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

While travelling south from Madaba, this was one of the hotels we stayed in, and while it is basic, it does have the best views over the valley, and is right next to the castle, which as others have said is the main reason to visit Karak. The staff could not have been friendlier, recommending the restaurant next door for dinner. The chef there, Saddam, is a lovely fellow who is a very good cook! We really enjoyed the salads & all the dishes we ordered. As it was still very warm of an evening, the lack of a/c was something we had to get used to, while there was a fan in the room, the wiring suggested that it might be unadvisable to turn it on, but the fridge did work so we had cold water to take with us, when we checked out.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussietraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Very conveniently located near the castle (which is the main reason to visit Karak) - Room was OK but with an unaccessible balcony - Very nice view down the valley - Breakfast included is served at a restaurant near by - minimal -

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liliOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The Manager could only speak about ten words in English, but was very friendly on check-in.

The passage has a mouldy smell and the carpets are stained and dirty. In the morning when we left all the passage lights were turned off, we could not find the switches and had to use our torch in the pitch blackness to get out.

We were the only people in the hotel, so the central heating was not switched on. We had to get blankets from another room to keep warm.

There was no hot water that night, and after complaining about it, the manager had a look at the water heater, fiddled a bit with it and said in ten minutes it will be warm - which it was not. He had another look and in the little English he could speak, said that everything was fine - good night... So we had a cold shower in a freezing bathroom.

We concluded that they only turned the water heater on when we arrived, because the next morning there was warm water - if only we had known.

The sheets were clean, but the blankets and cushions were not, no bugs at least.

Breakfast was the standard local bread with boiled eggs and cheese.

The only thing in favour of this very budget hotel is that it is located at Karak Castle.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CX15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Towers Castl Hotel is situated right next to the Karak Crusader Casle and as that is what most people go to Karak to see we found it to be an excellent location. The rooms were clean and large - the bathroom was massive. The staff (of one) was friendly, giving us welcome tea and drawing maps for places we wanted to go. We got upgraded to a room with an ensuite for the same price which was kind. The breakfast room leaves a bit to be desired. The hotel is also next to an excellent restaurant - one of the few that serves alcahol - which serves local cuisine a cut above the rest.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Towers Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towers Castle Hotel

Property: Towers Castle Hotel
Address: Al-Qala'a Street, Karak, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Karak Governorate > Karak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Karak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing