We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”
Review of Cocos Seaview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cocos Seaview
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in West Island
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

When we got off the plane we were welcomed by Ray in his bright floral shirt, and it was the start of a wonderful week. After dropping off our gear, Ray and his wife Sue took us on a tour of the island in their solar powered car which seats 10, an excellent way to see the sights. The accommodation was very clean and the outdoor entertaining area was excellent allowing us to cook all our meals outside including breakfast. Sue runs a lovely shop with an assortment of clothes for the ladies and men and souveniers. The room was spotless, and the decore lovely. Both Ray and Sue were very helpful and gracious hosts and most nights we would enjoy their company over a couple of quiet drinks. If there was anything you needed or wanted to know about Cocos they would allways be available. It was only a short bike ride to the Cocos Club and Supermarket and the location was wonderfull. I would certainly recommend Cocos Seaview to anyone wanting a quiet and restful holiday.

Room Tip: Each of the three rooms available are lovely, decorated with a different colour theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0uglas1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

So last time we stayed and rated Cocos SeaView we said we enjoyed it so much we would love to go back....so we did again this year... Just to say the first time was not a fluke; the second stay was just as good as the first. Ray and Sue made our stay fantastic again; good humour, hospitable, local knowledge and basically nothing was too much trouble..... Even when I asked Ray for access to his tool shed to help fix my kiteboard! Great accomodation in a perfect location. Cocos island life is somthing that is difficult to put into words...however a glass of wine watching the sunset with turtles and reef sharks idly swimming past is only a start. We will be back again.

Room Tip: 3 rooms.... nothing to choose between them. All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocosSeaview, Owner at Cocos Seaview, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review. Would love to know how you are getting along with your new venture Celia. Would you be able to email me as I have deleted your email from my computor (clever ain't I). Regards to you both. Susan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ci
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Well how do you start off describing such a fantastic place in a beautiful part of the world. If you want to be entertained by a wonderful couple who only think of your comfort and well being this is the place. Right from the very start, you feel like you have known Ray and Sue a lifetime, and if you want a funny story (or several) ray will keep you amused for many hours, although ray, I am funnier!!!!!!!!.

Now cocos sea view is fantastic, it is very very very clean (all credit to Susan), very well maintained, and has all of the stuff you need for self contained units, including an esky that helps keep the beer and Champaign cold at the fantastic beaches. We went in their boat for what turned out to be a fantastic day, including the opportunity to see a dolphin being borne (but the pesky sharks keep you on your toes)

A big thanks to Ray and Sue, what an amazing couple you are, thank you

Room Tip: I would recommend it for families with small kiddies, but adult family reunions, bring it on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great big thank you to Sue and Ray, the owners of Seaview. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Nothing was a bother anything we wanted was available. Loved the location, we just needed longer than a week there. Next year we will be booking in for 2 weeks. Ray showed me around the golf course and Sue showed me a few good secret spots to shore fish. I would recommend Seaview to everyone and in walking distance to the main CBD of West Island. Awesome...see you next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Ray and Sue made our stay in Cocos memorable. Plenty of local advice and humour and never intrusive. Nothing was a bother, including lifts here and there if needed. A day trip around the lagoon in Ray's boat was a fantastic introduction to island life (nb: boat trips need to wait for low wind days - which might take a while at the time of year we visited).

An excellent room where you can see the ocean from the wide, shady verandah. The ceiling fans kept things just right without need to use the air conditioner. The TV has an inbuilt DVD player plus media inputs to view all your photos. Snorkelling gear and esky's available for guest use, usually with a supply of ice when needed. There is also a small shop attached for odds and ends.

We went to Cocos primarily to windsurf and found the Seaview a perfect place to chill out and recover following sessions on the water. The communal cabana with sink, fridge, bbq and espresso machine proved a great spot to eat out of the room, quietly read or socialise with other guests.

Would definitely return and get another dose of Seaview hospitality complete with Ray's quick-fire wit and Sue's unflappability.

Room Tip: All three rooms are great and (I believe) identical. No reason to choose one above any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from Cocos where we stayed at Cocos Seaview. Hosts Ray and Sue were marvellous! Our accommodation consisted of a bedroom/living room, kitchenette and an ensuite. Everything that we could have needed (and more) was provided and it made our stay very relaxing. Cooking facilities (both in your kitchenette and in an outdoor cooking area) and a fridge meant that you could take your own food with you - eating places on the islands are limitied, particularly during Ramadan. The Cocos Seaview is spotless and inviting, and a lot of thought has been put into making our (and your) stay effortless. Pushbikes are available to use, along with free laundry facilities. Ray and Sue gave us invaluable information about the islands including fishing and diving areas and tours that are available.
We will definitely stay with Ray & Sue next time we visit Cocos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Staying with Ray and Sue at Cocos Seaview was the best decision we made when planning our trip to Cocos (Keeling) Islands. The room was perfect, clean and well appointed. Both Ray and Sue made sure we were looked after to ensure a hassle free trip, from getting on a dive to putting our name on the board for dinner at Tropicana.

Thank you so much for a great trip we will never forget it!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Island
0.4 mi away
Cocos Castaway
Cocos Castaway
#1 of 2 in West Island
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ninetysixeast
Ninetysixeast
#1 of 1 in West Island
3 reviews
6.5 mi away
Oceania House - Cocos Island
Oceania House - Cocos Island
#1 of 1 in Home Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocos Seaview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocos Seaview

Property: Cocos Seaview
Address: 5 Qantas Close, 6799
Location: Indian Ocean > Cocos (Keeling) Islands > West Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in West Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocos Seaview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained units, fans and A/Cs, screened windows and doors, outside covered BBQ area. Free airport transfers and island tour. Free laundry facilities. Free bicycles. Spa. Internet available. Onsite owner/managers for assistance. Winner of Tripadvisor's Travellers Choice 2013, Tripadvisor's Excellence Award 2013 and No:1 Cocos Keeling Island Visitor's Centre - visitors choice 2013.Best accommodation Indian Ocean Territories 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cocos Seaview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing