We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Service with a smile”

Barkers Wine Bar and Bistro
Ranked #142 of 253 Restaurants in Hawthorn
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service with a smile”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Three ladies went to lunch on Sunday 27th January at this hotel/winebar. As we live on otherside of Melbourne I had never been before but shall certainly go again. From the moment we entered we were greeted warmly by all staff members. The menu was extensive and well priced. We had the calamari entree and trio of dips......both delicious and at $12 each very good. We had mains of the most tender steak and a chicken of the day special - really good and presented on the plate so nicely. Our waitress was fantastic. I shall certainly make the trip across town again soon.
Thank you for making our lunch so good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sad mean”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Sad mean humans who write negative reviews about honest business peoples hard work would do well to stay at home and not to taint the world with their negative approach to life. We have dined here and its excellent and we are grateful to those who serve us and go to the trouble/ gumption to start a business, work around the clock to run it and have to also bear the uncontrolled reviews which are not appropriate. Let the rest of us have fun and please stay at home from now on dear sad ones to save yourself the disappointment that most certainly awaits you everywhere you go. Ciao I will be the one having a lovely meal and drink and tipping the staff in the corner very happy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank responsiveness2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Closed - a sad demise”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Barkers had sadly deteriorated from its earlier glory under new hands clearly ill-equipped to run a business of this ilk. The place shut for the night about a month ago and never re-opened, tables set, beer in the fridge, but all dark. Notices have gone up this week advising the tenant has defaulted on the lease and, presumably, fled. Sad end to what was such a great place initially.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hawks2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have been to Barkers about 5 times since it opened. The steaks have always been good and some friends wanted to try it after our recommendation. We were here on a Saturday night, it was busy, but not frantic.
The four of us ordered steaks, 3 rib eyes and one wagyu, all to be cooked medium. We also ordered a side dish of broccolini which was described by our sniffling (and obviously sick) waiter as wok tossed with pine nuts. When our steaks arrived, they looked good, until we cut into it. 3 out of the 4 was very overcooked, and the wok tossed broccolini became seasonal vegetables (zucchini, artichoke, carrot, broccoli), when we questioned this, we were told they had run out of broccolini!!!
We sent the steaks back, got another 3 rib eyes, again, 2 was overcooked, one did not even look like a rib eye, looked like an offcut. We called the sniffling waiter back again, who agreed and apologised profusely about the steaks. We were told that 2 of the rib eyes would be free, we were starving by this point, so ate it. Two of the steaks came with pepper sauce with was acceptable, one came with Bernaise, which was more like butter. Overall, a VERY dissappointing night, and TERRIBLE food.
The waiter tried his best, but obviously should have stayed home, as he was very obviously sick. When we advised we did not want dessert, we were told that was a good choice!!!!
As other reviewers have obviously stated, the food here is not cheap, but the standard and service are DEFINITELY what you would expect from a cheap establishment. The quality of the food has definitely declined.
NEVER AGAIN!!!!!! Don't waste your time or money. There are plenty of other good pubs/restaurants around.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goslats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Fare Sunday Meal”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nothing fancy here - standard pub grub. Bit on the expensive side.

Mezze plate was tasty and hit the spot as we waited for the mains.

Not sure why you would be offering such a small portion of duck matched with cabbage - is there something about Kew I don't know?

Steaks were good but nothing to rave about.

The boys and I had had a few quiet ales in the front bar later.

Would I come back? Probably if I could find nothing else open around that area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Webster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barkers Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 
Hawthorn, Boroondara
 

Been to Barkers Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing