We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth staying here”
Review of Quest Hawthorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quest Hawthorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Staff were great, really helpful. Rooms very nice, new and modern - quite large for a studio. Rooms equipt with all cutlery and cooking utensils. Balcony big enough to fit a sun chair and chairs and table really nice setting. No complaints here will stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Quest Hawthorn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 459 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was staying for a few days in a studio apartment, which was very comfortable for one person and would also have been fine for a couple. Very clean and seemed new as well. Staff were helpful when I arrived after a long flight and managed to get me into the room earlier than the 2pm check-in time. They also let me check out a little later and were happy to look after my bags. The price though is high, and I thought it was mean that they did not include Internet access, which had to be paid for separately.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Occasion: I travel a few times a year to Melbourne for business and primarily stay a the Quest.

The Room: Spacey and clean. The company only recently opened either this year or the last and everything is still new smelling and modern. Bed/pillows sometimes feels a little hard for me but changes from room to room.

Food: They do not offer room service or have a dining area although Depot de Pain is just out front.

Service: Most times the front desk is quick to assist but on occasion seems like they'd rather be doing something else rather than helping the visitors.

Overall: Recommended - Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anii-kinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Location was excellent for our purpose - a function in the same suburb. Hotel is new and modern. I loved the glass bathroom. Without it, the room would have been very ordinary. Mirrored wall gave the impression that the apartment is much bigger than it actually is. We did not need to use the kitchen, but appreciated the fact that it was there. VERY pricey mini-bar, even having to pay for a bottle of water (complimentary in many of the places we stay). No problem with parking, but would have been very difficult without the availability of the underground spots. The bed was comfy but I would have liked a choice of pillows - they were too high and springy for me. As mentioned by others, the blue light on the tv was very annoying and as it was directly opposite the bed, it was soon turned right off. We had no problem with mobile phone reception. Housekeeping a bit random; bed was made but used teabag and cups left in sink. Staff could have been a little friendlier and accommodating. We had asked if our visiting friends could use the parking area for a couple of hours, but this was refused as against policy. We understand the need for such a policy, but as it was a Saturday afternoon and only about half the parking spots were used, we felt it was a reasonable request. At the same time, we were not told that there was a public parking area at the rear which would likely have spots. Staff also were not particularly good at answering queries as to where we might eat.
I would probably stay here again, as the property was clean, well-maintained and very quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottie2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were attending a wedding nearby and so this was a simple choice based on its location.

The property is modern and well maintained and adjacent to a terrific strip shopping centre of the type for which Melbourne is famous. The city is maybe 15 minutes away by train. The property is stylish and well maintained but has some drawbacks, for example the bathrooms are very small and there is a tiny kitchenette which seems quite out of place and, in practical terms, useless in a hotel room.

The quality is there but the prices are in my view quite full for what is on offer.

Parking - its easy to park on street, no need to pay the $8 per night demanded by the hotel to park on-site.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneySydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Only stayed here as my company booked it, would rather stay where I normally stay and travel than stay here.
No mobile reception at all. Rooms looks nice but very impractical and the bathroom was small and awful.
I agree with bec_a_craig, the staff went out of their way to ignore you each time you walked past the desk and when they did attempt to do their job it was an effort. They missed placed my company charge back and didn't tell me until check out and wouldn't follow up to get another, so I just paid. Anywhere else would of offered to get a new one or not lost it in the first place.
This place doesn't say much for Quest or the management of the place. Sorry guys if you are going to place yourself in the Hospitality industry, service is the name of the game. Don't normally stay at Quest and this one has made it that I wont be again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim_jim75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed twice within a few weeks as my work's new HQ is close by. Cant really fault it for furnishings & the like except as mentioned already -

1. The blue TV light is VERY bright
2. No mobile reception / dongle wifi internet

In addition-
3. Not great with follow up when requests for emailed receipts / overcharge etc
4. The reception staff seem to look the other way when you enter rather than say good morning / evening
5. Housekeeping use the dishwasher to wash one cup and the coffee plunger. Seriously?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lost_nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorn
Glenferrie Hotel
#123 of 160 in Melbourne
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
215 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Hawthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Hawthorn

Address: 616 Glenferrie Rd, Hawthorn, Boroondara, Victoria 3122, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Boroondara > Hawthorn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawthorn
Price Range: $111 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Hawthorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Hawthorn has an edgy, New York style interior in a desirable Glenferrie Road location, just 6.5 kilometres from Melbourne's CBD. Quest Hawthorn will inspire Melbourne's imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne Apartment Hotel boasts 119 New York studio apartments, a selection of which host private terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Hawthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing