We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!”
Review of Lulo

Lulo
Ranked #11 of 257 Restaurants in Hawthorn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: South American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A unique Latin-American dining experience in the heart of Hawthorn. Lulo offers a broad range of South American-inspired dishes designed as share-plates for you to enjoy with friends and family. Sip on cocktails at the bar or experience our boutique wine list.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This the 2nd time we have come to Lulo and my husband and i thought we would give it another chance after not being overly impressed the first time round.
The wine list was really good and they have some amazing international wines. I was not impressed with the man who was running front of house who was arrogant when asked to explain some of the wines he had listed. Overly confident and arrogant is off putting.
The freshly made bread they give you was lovely but the rest of the tapas options were lacking in flavour, some of our tapa was both warm and cold and lacked spanish authenticity.
Plenty of other great tapas places in Melbourne

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBunnies69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favourite finds!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My partner and I went to Lulo after having it recommended to us via a work college. We were not disappointed! The restaurant is small, but that’s why I loved it! You don’t feel squashed in and the atmosphere is amazing! Since our first visit I have been back twice with girlfriends. For the amount of food you get the prices are good. At all three of my visits I have had a set menu, there is a $55 & $75 option, the $75 gives you a few extra servings and there is plenty of food and the $55 option doesn’t disappoint or fall short of the $75 menu. I would recommend a set menu as it’s the easiest option when you want to settle in for a good catch up with your friends, partner or family. The cocktails are fantastic & I would highly recommend a jug of sangria to share. The service I received on each visit was outstanding; the staff are genuine and happy! I plan to keep returning and I would highly recommend! One last thing, make sure you try the caramel ice-cream!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danusia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went in quite late one night to have a quick bite and a drink. The restaurant has a really great atmosphere and an extensive wine list.

We ordered 4 different dishes and each one was delicious - as good as you will get. The food really was fine dining quality. We liked it so much we ordered a desert too even though we weren't that hungry and that was superb as well.

Can't wait to go bak!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajenks02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“As good as anything I have experienced in Spain or Latin America”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

As a retired travel writer I still travel to Spain and Latin America regularly and love the flavours of their cuisines. So I am delighted that LuLo's is a local restaurant within easy reach, because their food is better than good -- it's probably better than 99% of the restaurants I have experienced in the Hispanic regions. Their tapas are absolutely delicious, beautifully presented, and reasonably priced. Don't miss their yucca chips that are tastier and healthier than potatoes, and their double chops which are arguably the best I have tasted anywhere. But I have thoroughly enjoyed all of their dishes and keep going back again and again. The wine list is also excellent and has wines that one rarely finds elsewhere. If there is one fault with the place is that it can be very noisy when full. But don't let that put you off!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I love this place! Every month or two I go there for a business lunch with someone and I have never been disappointed with the food or wine. The Tapas is excellent and absolutely made for sharing. The only slight issue is that it is usually very quiet for lunch - great for enhancing the service but not so great for the ambience. Nonetheless it is still excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally-anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulo also viewed

 
Hawthorn, Boroondara
Hawthorn, Boroondara
 

Been to Lulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing