We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish of the day & true Euro style & service made my day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gorski & Jones - CLOSED

Gorski & Jones
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fish of the day & true Euro style & service made my day!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopping by on the spur of the moment on a Friday night before heading to see a band we enjoyed the superior European menu options, decor, ambience & wine selection. Faultless food & service, the Italian wine recommended was perfect with our shared fish of the day, steamed rainbow trout with fresh capers & garden salad. The teens had cured meat plate, 90% prosciutto and not what they were expecting by washed down easily with the fresher tastiest garlic and rosemary bread straight from the oven & some chips & organic ginger beer.

Not cheap but the design of the restaurant with high ceilings if recycled timbers, fresh meats sliced when ordered on vintage machines & a bar to die for made the prices worthwhile, especially when the nearby quick options were charcoal chicken shop & kebabs.

Would definitely return for cocktails and more from this refreshingly authentic Italian menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocktailsAtSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Footscray, Australia
Level Contributor
481 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“fantastic service, but the food....”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

we were at gorski & jones within a week after they opened and returned for another try. i still found the dishes served simple but very overpriced.

hubby had veal osso bucco, a big coin of gnocchi romano, gremolata and i had special of the night, king fish with globe artichokes. the texture of osso bucco was beautiful, but both the meat and gnocchi were very salty. the fish was a winner with skin like crakling and a good serve, the accompanying globe artichokes were devine, but so so so little!

service was just unforgettable - we were really blown away. i wish we could rave about the food too instead of giving it a mixed review.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1mightymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Seat at Kitchen Counter”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited Melbourne last year and truly enjoyed this find of a restaurant. We arrived without a reservation and could only get a table for two at the open kitchen counter. This proved to be a very nice treat- as we were able to see chef, sous chef and one kitchen staff prepare all the meals for that evening's orders. It was great to see this. Our meal was one of the last that evening. Maybe we were starving but the meal was excellent and the scene was very stimulating. I recommend our seats at the open kitchen. It was memorable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ocean88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Delicious food, delightful service”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The best meal we had in Melbourne was at Gorski & Jones last night. Our server could not have been more patient or more helpful. The Octopus salad is amazing and the pastas are very good. They do a nice job with gluten free--offering breads and pastas to substitute when you wish.
Wines by the glass and carafe are good and reasonably priced. We'd go back tonight if we hadn't moved on to Tasmania.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2020trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This place depressed me ... the staff a chutzpah makeover !”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The owners seem to have put a lot of hard work into this restaurant, and the ambience and location should ensure its success, but I regrettably feel they have a long, long way to go and may not survive.

They take themselves way too seriously and need to lighten up and expand their menu a little.

I attended lunch mid-week and the first thing that concerned me was how empty it was here when other restaurants on Smith Street were packed.

The restaurant itself is a lovely space with exposed bricks, high cathedral ceilings and a light filled sun room eatery at the rear.

But what was missing was an upbeat, happy vibe with the staff. The whole vibe seemed very dull and sombre. Our waitress was not rude but just perfunctory and just seemed bored and unmotivated. This definitely has an impact on how you feel at a restaurant.

The spaghetti marinara was quite nice but the veal schnitzel was not particularly good.

I normally can NOT go past the Tiramisu if I enjoy a main, and yet my friend and I both did not wish to order anything else or stay at the restaurant.

They definitely need to work on getting happier, more energetic staff and start making their customers feel important and 'valued'.

I wish this restaurant the best of luck as they have the right idea but it needs a "chutzpah" makeover !!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladycatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorski & Jones also viewed

 
Collingwood, Yarra
Collingwood, Yarra
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing