We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to share with a group”
Review of Josie Bones - CLOSED

Josie Bones
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
125 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect to share with a group”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Some really interesting dishes. The best in my opinion are the pig trotters spring rolls ( fantastic) and beetroot carpaccio. Some succulent meat dishes aswell. The beer menu is a bit overwhelming but the waiters can guide you as needed - great with a group

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing beer variety”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Went here with my wife and some friends on a trip down to melbourne. I found this place on the web and wasnt aure what to expect except that I had read that the bar had over 200 varieties of beer....i wast 100% sure that was true until they gace me the menu - I gave up after the 10th page cause there was so much variety.

We got some complimentary bread which was delicious an ordered some spanner crab some cuttlefish dishes....both were amazing. The size of the dishes was really small.....far too small for the money you pay for.

Atmosphere was great, the layout of the bar/restaurant was. Even loved the fact that we shared a massive table with some other people - we went there just to have drink so that didn't bother us at all.

Would i go back? yes but next time I would just go there for the beer. Food is great but can hurt your back pocket.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madaxle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meat & Beer but not just for the boys”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Comfortable, cosy and well proportioned room.
The menu is done tapas style however the owner / waitstaff have an excellent knowledge of the dishes and are able to match each to the large supply of beers available.

The pork belly or rabbit is my favourite

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegirlonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every penny - lovely atmosphere, food and service”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Josie Bones certainly isn't the cheapest place to eat, but it's excellent value for money. The serving sizes are great, and I love that you can order individual oysters (as I'm usually with oyster-hating fellow diners!). The food is consistently great every time I go (about 4 or 5 times now), and is great for a date, catching up with friends, or solo. I was a bit anxious the first time I went, as I'd heard it was all about offal, which I'm not a fan of. Whilst there are some unusual cuts of meat on the menu, there are plenty of "regular" cuts, and the less common cuts are so well prepared that you will be rewarded for stepping out of your comfort zone.

I most recently went alone, and the service was impeccable. They seated me at the bar, and the staff serving me were lovely and friendly. I received a great beer recommendation (they have hundreds of beers - draft, bottled and cellared) that matched exactly what I was hankering for. I LOVE the pork ribs, and get them every time -- meat falling off the bone, and their smokey miso BBQ sauce is just amazing. There have been a few incarnations of the quinoa salad, and all have been brilliant. I really love that the serving sizes are moderate: not too much for two plates on your own, or you can grab few to share if dining with friends. It means you can ensure space for dessert (and a dessert wine or beer), which is always terrific. Most recently, I had the tarte tatin with beer caramel and it was very yummy!

I love bringing friends from out of town here, as it's something a bit different, but you can be guaranteed there is something for everyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jujujulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely evening and lovely food”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

My beer loving husband took some friends and I to dinner here after reading the beer reviews. He was not disappointed and neither were we. The waitress was lovely and helpful, and the food simple, interesting and delicious. I would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josie Bones also viewed

 
Collingwood, Yarra
Collingwood, Yarra
 
Collingwood, Yarra
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing