We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Spanish food!”
Review of Robert Burns Hotel

Robert Burns Hotel
Ranked #7 of 125 Restaurants in Collingwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Robert Burns Hotel is the home of truly traditional Spanish cuisine, with a very Scottish name. Spaniard Urbano Gutierrez introduced the Spanish flavour to this Australian pub in 1984, back when variety in the local hospitality market was much harder to find. The Robert Burns legacy has since been passed to a new, fresh, yet still Spanish team - who bring the authentic tastes and cultures of their homeland to the Robbie Burns on Melbourne's iconic Smith Street. Patrons of all kinds are welcome and our venue is family and kid-friendly, too. If you are looking for Spanish Cuisine then dine in the restaurant, relax in the courtyard, enjoy drinks and tapas in the front bar or the wine room, and don't forget to check out Robbie's special Spanish flavoured events.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice Spanish food!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We shared several tapas amongst 4 & then ordered a paella for 2 but shared amongst 4 as well. It was more than enough. The prices are average. If you compare to what you pay overseas in Spain it is a little pricey. A jug of sangria is $30 serves 4 glasses and a bit. Churros were yummy but again a little pricey. 3 serves of it with a bit of chocolate for $10.50.
It is nice food & they bring out extra bread at no charge which it should always be like that! Not my first time there however it was for our friend which he enjoyed thoroughly & recently returned from having the real deal in Barecelona.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    55
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“good place gone bad”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

i used to frequent this restaurant often and take my friends. it used to be excellent. large portions of food served with complimentary salad and bread. after a two year break as i was out of the country i decided to meet my four friends here for dinner. the paella for three at $25 per head came out in a dish the size for two people. no bread or salad were offered. when i asked for it the waiter said "that doesnt happen anymmore, maybe about two years ago". he did get us some bread but each piece of bread was the size of a 50cent coin and only enough for one person, not for a table of four. they have renovated and put smart tiles up in the bathrooms and main dining area. the food however was excellent.
good places go bad. bad places go bankrupt. my friend have said they will never go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeyb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had dinner with friends here and have to commend the very high quality of the food and its presentation but there were one or two disappointments overall. On arrival the waiter couldn't have been more helpful. However, from then on it was very difficult to get anyone's attention to place the order. Also the low lighting made it very difficult to read the menu, which had quite small print. The food could not be faulted (although it did take quite a while to arrive) and the menu items were well priced, but the need to order vegetables as individual sides ended up making it a very expensive meal. I had two entrees, a dessert (the irresistible churros!) one glass of wine (a very nice Spanish red) and a hot chocolate and it was in excess of $60 - not a particularly affordable night out. But having said all that, I would go there again as I did enjoy everything I had. My friends all enjoyed their meals also but commented that it was probably a bit too expensive to become a regular haunt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nice Spanish food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went there on a Tuesday night and it was fairly early. The waiter welcomed us and showed us to our bar seat which I had booked as that was all they had left. The size of the table was pretty small and we could not fit everything on the table. The food was really nice. We started with entrees of a mini tortilla and a ragout of mushrooms. Both of them were excellent. There was nice crusty bread to mop up the sauce. We shared a seafood paella which was really good with plenty of seafood and nicely done rice. The prawns were amongst the best I have eaten. We could not have thought about desserts. The service throughout the meal was excellent. The waiter was very knowledgeable when we asked for a white wine suggestion and it did not disappoint. Other dishes passed our table and were looked upon with envy. My only criticism is the size of the bar tables when you get dishes and glasses on them. Well worth the money and would return for another meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had lunch here with the family. Veggie options were sparse and overpriced.
The service was good and the atmosphere fine.
Would not eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harmsenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Burns Hotel also viewed

 
Collingwood, Yarra
 

Been to Robert Burns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing