We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected result!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unexpected result!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

On arrival the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Considering we had our aged dog with us (our experience is that we usually get given worst rooms)our room was very clean, comfortable and spacious and away from an event that was happening in the hotel so also quiet. We had booked D, B&B and the 3 course meal was superb and we were able to enjoy our meal in the bar with our dog. Same with breakfast a very comprehensive good quality filling meal. Booking meals in advance works out a lot cheaper than buying separately. The staff throughout our stay were very friendly, helpful and cheerful and they all seemed to like the fact we had our dog with us.
Would stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Clare C,

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review of your most recent event at our Hotel and thank you for the terrific feedback.

I am delighted that we exceeded all your expectations and that the day was a great success. I will of course ensure that the team are thanked on your behalf.

Once again, thanks for the positive feedback as we continue to drive a Great Hotel Guests Love

Kind regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    183
    97
    39
    30
See reviews for
81
119
24
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I organised a 1 day business meeting for 30 people at this hotel.Location ideal 1 minute from the M1
The staff here are absolute stars. Nothing too much trouble.
Willing and courteous help with setting out furniture to our needs
One of my delegates told me on arrival she was gluten intolerant - chef prepared a special meal for her. Another asked for decaff - event organiser produced decaff coffee sachets immediately and offered to go to the shop if decaf tea was needed.
Everything was to time, food was good. Meeting room well equipped. I'd definitely recommend other events organisers to use this venue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLJCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Fiznlil186411,

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review of your most recent event at our Hotel and thank you for the terrific feedback.

I am delighted that we exceeded all your expectations and that the day was a great success. I will of course ensure that the team are thanked on your behalf.

Once again, thanks for the positive feedback as we continue to drive a Great Hotel Guests Love

Kind regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

found hotel very good clean bedroom looded like it had been recelenly refurbishded excellent breakfast evening meal okay lovely bar area would defintly use again if in area

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIMELORDLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear TIMELORDLeicester,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We certainly go out of our way to ensure that all expectations are exceeded and I'm delighted that we could continue our journey, ensuring that we have a Great Hotel Guests Love.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business trip the staff were very pleasant but the hotel is very tired as far as decor goes.
The room I stayed in had loo role bunged in the roof extractor and the light was hanging down the towels were very very old and it just felt in need of some work.
The holiday inn is good value and indeed have improved greatly over the past few years unfortunately this hotel is in great need of a significant refurb
Come on guys give the staff the tools they need to make it work for you

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tebbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Tebbsy,

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review on Tripadvisor where you raised your concerns regarding your most recent stay and at this stage, allow me to apologise that you had to endure such an inconvenience.

I can only apologise for the way you found your bathroom and I can assure you that this does not represent our normal high standards within the Hotel.

I can assure you that we are intent on improving our product whenever and wherever possible and rest assured, I have taken on-board your feedback which I will discuss at a higher level.

Let me know when you're next in town and I'll ensure that we restore your faith in our product.

Kind regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I would like to express my appreaciation for the excellent service provided by staff at this Hotel. Particularly the evening servers Elsa and Em and the endless good cheer and service provided by Angeline and Pam in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Peter H,

Many thanks for taking the time out to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I know the team go out of their way to ensure that all guests Arrive Happy, Stay Happy and Leave Happy and I am delighted that the F&B team in particular have impressed you - we go out of our way to ensure that we have a Great Hotel Guests Love.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

A good hotel clean and good food and well looked after by all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear AlanWR

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We certainly go out of our way to ensure that all expectations are exceeded and I'm delighted that we could continue our journey, ensuring that we have a Great Hotel Guests Love.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Petherton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

When you're working away from home on a long contract, the last thing you need to worry about is your accommodation. I stayed at this hotel for, in total, 54 consecutive weeks. From the cheery greeting of the breakfast team to the smiling faces on reception and the fantastic housekeeping team, they all made my stay memorable and most importantly, trouble free. I'd stay here again 'at the drop of a hat' and you should too!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Bishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear TonyBish

and we thoroughly enjoyed looking after you....

The team & I thank you for the wonderful feedback - we aim to be the best of the best and will continue to be a Great Hotel Guests Love.

Let us know the next time you're in the area, it would be great to catch up.

Best regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
0.2 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.0 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Property: Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Address: Queens Drive, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ossett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 enjoys an excellent location 9 miles south of Leeds City Centre. It is situated off Junction 40, M1 and only 2 Junctions away from M62 Motorway. It is a fantastic base for visiting locations such as Leeds, Sheffield, Bradford or York. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 104 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access in all the bedrooms and public areas, and also conference and banqueting facilities for up to 160 people. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield has a range of purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances . The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield, Xscape Snow Centre in Castleford, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, National Museum of Photography, Film & Television in Bradford, the Yorkshire Sculpture Park or even the Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, the hotel is just 15 minutes drive from the city of Leeds. *Terms and Conditions Apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wakefield m1, Jct. 40 Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing