We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thai food I've eaten”

Malagor Fine Thai Cuisine
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Ossett
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $61
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best thai food I've eaten”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal at Malagor. We live in Barnsley so are so happy to have found a great thai restaurant so near. Very warm welcome when we arrived. Sat down for drinks in the bar - fabulous cocktail (apple garden). Enjoyed our mixed starters- v well presented and tasted delicious. Main course curry was so good - very creamy and just enough spice. My wife's stir fried chicken with cashew nuts was just as good. Nice noodles to share. We loved the mango pudding dessert although were quite full to finish. Staff so kind and attentive. Excellent restaurant, and I've already booked my wife's birthday meal! Delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonStanChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somsak K, Owner at Malagor Fine Thai Cuisine, responded to this review, April 21, 2015
Thank you for your review. As a small business your reviews are very important to us! We are thrilled that you had a great dining experience and we hope to see you again in the not so distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    101
    42
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a great restaurant that is now a couple of years old but just gets better and better. The furniture is good and the tables well spaced. The staff are polite and welcoming plus dressed in authentic cloths.
The food is superb with a great choice in the starters and the mains. They also do a buffet on a Sunday and this is cheap and good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dazscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somsak K, Owner at Malagor Fine Thai Cuisine, responded to this review, April 21, 2015
Thank you for your fantastic review. As a small business your reviews are very important to us! We are thrilled that you had a great dining experience and we hope to see you again in the not so distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute meal out”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Decided to eat here quite late on ,on a saturday evening ,however the restaurant was not too busy.The food was very well presented and ,the service good and the ambiance was good.The prices were fairly typical for a thai restaurant ,we will definitely revisit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somsak K, Owner at Malagor Fine Thai Cuisine, responded to this review, April 22, 2015
Thank you for your review, as a small independent business your opinion is very important to us! We are happy that you enjoyed dining with us and that you gave us a 4* rating. All comments are noted and we will look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not so distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,079 reviews
1,179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,811 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable evening!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a busy Saturday night, after seeing the good reviews. I have spent a lot of time in Thailand & love Thai food, but the usual problem is that UK Thai restaurants dub down the Chilli for their 'farang' customers.
Not here, the food was as spicy as it should be & fantastic. I had a beef salad to start, then spicy seafood soup & then shared a couple of mains with rice, to include a very good jungle curry.
Service was friendly & efficient, the decor was very nice too, although as others have said, the gents are a bit shabby.
Overall, a lovely evening with authentic Thai food. Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somsak K, Owner at Malagor Fine Thai Cuisine, responded to this review, April 22, 2015
Thank you for your review, as a small independent business your opinion is very important to us! We are happy that you enjoyed dining with us and that you gave us a 4* rating. All comments are noted and we will look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not so distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We went for a family buffet meal on Sunday to try this place for the first time. I always go to Leeds to eat Thai food but I decided to try local. As we entered we was pointed to the table we was to sit at. It took a while before they came to take our drinks order. The place only had 2/3 tables that was occupied so not busy. The buffet selection was very poor indeed the rice was hard due to been out too long. The rest of the food seemed to be watered down a lot. The desert was a tiny selection of fruit or fritters. I will not be going again as did not like the taste of any of the dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolagreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somsak K, General Manager at Malagor Fine Thai Cuisine, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
This review really has baffled us Lola. When you came to the restaurant (you booked) the restaurant was very busy so we are not sure why you said it wasn't? We served two rice dishes which are not only kept warm but are constantly changed as they get eaten so quickly. I personally looked after your table and asked on several occasions if you were enjoying your food, and you said yes. We even played with your child, entertained her, and gave her a lollipop.
Why you would say things like this, which is different not only to what all our other guests said, but also different to what you said to our faces is confusing? Perhaps an affiliation to the Leeds restaurant you "usually go to". Our ingredients are better quality, we don't lace our food with MSG, and we focus on quality rather than box shifting.
As Thai people, we know our food and service quality, and how it compares to others. We are pleased our other guests appreciate what we do and rate us number one. We wish you well. Kop khun ka (thank you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malagor Fine Thai Cuisine also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Malagor Fine Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing