We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice... infact we are going again tonight”

Bollywood Lounge at Dimple Well Lodge
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice... infact we are going again tonight”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Best curry I have had in a long time... we sat in the conservatory as we were not happy sitting in the room with no windows to the back of the premesis.. this was lovely with background music on tv and a fishtank.. very soothing.

We had the banquet which was very good value for money, we initially thought (as we had not been before) that because of the price of the banquet - £9.95 it might not be up to much.. to be honest... the popadoms were very fresh and crisp and the dips which came with them were very good.. We then had the starter from the banuet menu, again we were very impressed with the quality of the cooked food and the presentation. We then followed with a dish off the banqueting menu, with a portion of rice and a popadom each.. the quantity of food which was served and the quality was very impressive.. we were that impressed that we are off again tonight with the family to celebrate a birthday.. really looking forward to it..

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaz3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BollywoodLounge, Manager at Bollywood Lounge at Dimple Well Lodge, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm pleased you come back so soon; hope to see you again. And don't be afraid to ask if there's anything we can help you with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Good curry”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Best curry in Ossett. Not quite as good as the Wakefield location though.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wakeywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nice place waiters let it down”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Some very nice food when we visited as a group of six for a birthday. We come from Bradford so know a good curry and this was also good. Staff i feel mumble when food brought out to you should speak more clearly.
Car park needs better lighting also but I would return to sample again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A17ACR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Read the bill”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We usually go the Ghandi or Star in Ossett but for my birthday the Wife treated me to something special so we went to Bollywood Lounge. Four of us earlier tried a take away from here to test the food and it was Ok (but did have a dish missing when we got it home).

Intial impressions were favourable, we had pre-dinner drinks in a smart bar then were shown through to the restaurant which was well presented. The menu had the usual traditional Indian dishes plus interesting looking fusion dishes and I have to say the food we had was very good, more expensive than our usual Indian but given the surroundings we expected that.

Unfortunately it all went down hill when the bill came, on it was "wedding food £2.50" so we asked what it was for "you had king prawns and our machine cannot print that so it shows wedding food" but king prawns is shown on the bill "OK I'll get the manager". "You had king prawns and that is for king prawns" but king prawns are shown on the bill "well I'm not going to stand here arguing with you for £2.50, just take it off when you pay and go".

So we were left sitting there, the other Diner's looking at us like we'd tried to rob the place, all for £2.50.

What can I say? good food in a lovely restaurant but we would not step foot in the place again. Hope this helps.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank alfavinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Went with low expectations as no reviews or recomendations, very pleasantly surprised food is very good”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very nice indian restaurant the variety of dishes and the fact that each one is signifficantly different, not just a few different ingredients in the same base sauce set bollywood above many of the other restaurants in the area, we look forward to sampling many more meals including some of the fusion dishes, the nans were sweet, fluffy and crispy, great!
We didnt try the wines or beers as we driving but might walk next time which wont be too far in the future

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastrofans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BollywoodLounge, Owner at Bollywood Lounge at Dimple Well Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Hi,

Thanks for the great review. There's actually lots of comment of the restaurant onTrip Advisor but under Dimple Well Lodge Hotel.

Regards,

Fayzul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Lounge at Dimple Well Lodge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing