We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable”
Review of Heath House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ossett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heath House
Ranked #1 of 2 Ossett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious and comfortable”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Heath House for one night 18.5.13, when attending a family wedding in Dewsbury. It's a lovely old house, set well back from the road in a beautiful garden, quite unexpected for the edge of a northern city, & convenient for the M1 junction.
The room was very spacious and elegant, with a good bathroom & comfortable beds.
Jo was most welcoming & friendly, and told us some of the fascinating history of her home.
Delicious breakfast, and all very reasonably priced.
We shall certainly come again when we're in the area, & recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarais C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
66
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at Heath House 30.4.13 after helping my daughter move house from Leeds to Ossett. The stay was just what I needed after two days of lugging boxes and cleaning.

Jo is a wonderful host and I had a room at the back of the house overlooking the gardens. The room was great, the bed comfortable and breakfast the next day was smoked salmon with freshly laid scrambled eggs.

The breakfast menu is comprehensive and taken in the lovely dining hall.

The whole experience was that of staying in a country house hotel rather than a B & B and I am looking forward to my next visit bringing my husband.

Highly recommended.

Kathleen

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden, lovely view and quieter as road is at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for a night when visiting from Canada. We had seen great reviews and were not disappointed. Jo made us very welcome. A very interesting old house, which is very well located. Great value, very comfortable and terrific breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Heath house is a really lovely place to stay where you feel welcomed from the start. The rooms are comfortable and are always kept clean. There is a really nice atmosphere created by the house's owners. Very accommodating to your needs ie breakfast arrangements. It's in a good location for public transport links to Dewsbury and Wakefield. Recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own benefits. Any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wangdiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Heath House many times now whilst visiting our daughter and her family in the area. We always receive a friendly welcome from Jo and Steve, a spacious room with a homely feel to it, clean and comfortable with good facilities, and a view over the beautiful grounds. Jo's breakfasts are brilliant, try the full english made with local ingredients. Beats all the local hotels hollow - and we have tried most of them. There is ample parking, and it's convenient for the motorway. Finally, it is excellent value !

Room Tip: The first floor front is large. The back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stay at Heath House several times a year, when visiting a relative in Dewsbury. The house is Victorian, set in lovely grounds, and is approached by a grand tree-lined driveway. The original features have been beautifully restored, and there are plenty of antique furnishings and trinkets. The bedrooms are traditional and cosy with tea & coffee making facilities.
Jo & Steve are always extremely welcoming, as are their cat & dog. The breakfasts are tasty, and Jo always sources ingredients that have been farmed in the UK (including the Heath House hens)!
If you are the sort of person that like anonymous, characterless hotels, then this B&B probably isn’t for you. However, if you prefer staying somewhere that offers an atmosphere that feels like a home-from-home, then you will love it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartineDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Really friendly, always accomodating, and each room in Heath House (I've stayed in a few) clean with excellent washrooms and very adequate size baths.The pictures of Heath House tell's only a small part of what to expect. Being a very frequent traveller to the Ossett/Wakefield area, I've stayed in many of the hotels round and about. Sadly it took me many months before I stumbled on Heath House! I need access to wi-fi with my job and Heath House has got it. With an excellent breakfast and a very reasonable price all in, it ticks all my boxes. I do recommend it, and to make the stay even better, a piece of advice. Agree with Jo's, (the land lady) views during the morning breafast discussions. It also helps reduce the stress on her husband - Steve.

Room Tip: They're all good, but for a feel of the place you should ask to stay in the honeymoon suit. It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWEgham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossett
0.6 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
117 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
151 reviews
6.8 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
944 reviews
2.7 mi away
Healey Hotel
Healey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batley
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heath House

Property: Heath House
Address: Chancery Road, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9RZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ossett
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing