We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheldon's Retreat B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$317
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
28
21
7
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
21
7
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bpeak districtlocal pubfruitbiscuitsattention to detailboth nightscouple of nightslovely placefriends and familysmall roomretreatvillagejaybakewellvarietycheese
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 66 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights and this B and B provided a convenient base for our walks in the area. The room was comfortable but I would not describe it as luxurious and the shower room was very small. The most worrying thing was the precipitous flight of sloping stairs to our room- hazardous for children or the elderly! Unfortunately we booked this B and B on the understanding that it had a bar and lounge and was also a restaurant, which it said on the Expedia website. After a day's walking we were looking forward to coming downstairs to order a wholesome meal. This needs to be put right or there may well be other disappointed customers like us who were misinformed. However breakfasts cooked to order by Irma were indeed very nice and we found some good places to eat out in the evenings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed for one night in February, when I think we were the only guests. The snow outside only enhanced the cosiness, both of the B+B and village pub and made us grateful for the very short distance between the two. Our hostess was delightful, welcoming and produced a really tasty cooked breakfast, with an extensive breakfast buffet available too. Our room was nicely furnished, comfortable, sparkingly clean, with a good shower and lovely-smelling products.

Little things had been thought about - we planned to walk and had somehow managed to forget our map but found copies of a map of the village and surrounding footpaths available in the breakfast room. I'd be very happy to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte_G_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed for one night in the Waldorf room. Very comfortable kingsize bed with lovely bedding, fantastic power shower with wonderfully scented shower gel and shampoo and lovely breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit in the morning. Irma was delightful and we would definitely recommend this place for a stopover if you are ever in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windyboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed in one of the king size rooms and have no complaints about the cleanliness or facilities. The staff very helpful and cooked a hearty breakfast. If I have any criticism it would be that the stairs were narrow and steep and sound did travel but not intrusively.

Village absolutely charming. The Cock & Pullet was very much a local pub but that's how it should be and menu whilst limited was again great value for money.

Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

our ten day stay at the retreat only enhanced our holiday.spotlessly clean,well equipped,great cook means great food,even though we're not veggies.the pub across the rd.also provided good food .peaceful location,great scenery,a great base for exploring the peak district.our compliments and many thanks to our hosts and owners who we had the pleasure in meeting.again "NOTHING WAS TOO MUCH TROUBLE"......Bryan&Julie.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieandbryan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews