We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quiet, relaxing break”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rudyard, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GemCampb
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A quiet, relaxing break”
Reviewed September 14, 2019 for a stay in September 2019

We have just returned from our short break away at Kipling Lodge.
It was a lovely quiet few days, very relaxing.

Myself, Husband, Son (3) and dog thoroughly enjoyed the lodge. Spacious, comfy, finished to a high standard & has all the mod cons. The hot tub is a fab addition & very private which is nice and also well managed as this is checked daily by the owners.

The lodge is close to the Rudyard Hotel where we visited for dinner (super dog friendly) which was lovely.
The lakeside cafe (also dog friendly) is a short walk away too and offers lovely breakfast rolls, hot drinks & cakes.

The lodge was spotlessly clean, had cloths, fairy liquid, dishwasher tabs & tea towel. Also, a lovely bottle of wine in the fridge - a nice touch. Iron & ironing board, hooover, brushes etc also stored in a kitchen cupboard.

As a dog friendly lodge, a couple of things could be improved. An enclosed garden is one & we would have liked to visit a couple of places without the dog but the rules state not to leave animals unattended in the lodge, well behaved or otherwise. However this didn't stop us from having a lovely time.

We have already recommended the lodge to two families and would love to visit again in the future.

Thank you Matt & Mark.

Date of stay: September 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanF437...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed August 18, 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Kipling Lodge is excellently maintained, so clean and lovely furnishings. Meet and greet by owners appreciated and always contactable for any queries. Hot tub was wonderful at the end of a busy day. Lovely walk around the Lake which is only a couple of minutes walk away. Many places to visit in surrounding area - a day at Trentham Gardens is recommended.

Date of stay: August 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffsu...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Lodge”
Reviewed June 7, 2019 for a stay in June 2019

We visited Kipling Lodge for a week.
Ourselves, 2 young nephews and Grandma. As it was a wide age range it is always difficult to please everybody. However Kipling Lodge did just that, everyone was happy.
The accommodation was High Spec.. and Spacious.
2 level balcony and a superb HotTub. Pretty views and walking distance of Rudyard Lake.
We would definitely recommend *****

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a beautiful place”
Reviewed March 28, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

Everything was perfect, the lodge was immaculate, the surroundings were tranquil. 5 minute walk to the lake, 5 minute walk to the pub a hot tub to relax in at the end of the day. Drive in any direction to reach the fabulous Peak District countryside.
The lodge was warm, comfortable and the owners Mark & Matt certainly ensured that we had a great stay. Probably the best lodge we have stayed in by far. Would definitely book again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolthur...
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning family/dog friendly lodge”
Reviewed October 11, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

We spent 2 glorious nights 5-7 October 2018 at Kipling Lodge! This has definitely set the bar high for all future family breaks! Everything about the lodge was very high spec & spotlessly clean! The hot tub was so relaxing after the beautiful local walks. Thank you Matt for your hospitality & for the welcome drinks, particularly the wine!

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeZa_B123
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Top marks!!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Stayed at Killing lodge from 28th September until 5th October. 3 adults & 2 doggies

STUNNING LODGE
Exceptional quality, cracking location with stunning views and very friendly & accomodating owners.
Such a high spec ‘dog friendly’ holiday home like Kipling lodge was like finding a precious gem stone.
Thank you Matt & Mark
Until next time :-)

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole A
1 review
“Fantastic lodge in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed September 21, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed at kipking lodge between August 25th-1st Sept 18.
The lodge us absoulety fantastic !!The lodge has been refurbished to an extremely high standard and there was 6 of us in total but there was loads of room for us all and the hot tub was amazing !! Great for relaxing and our Autistic son loved the hot tub so much wants us to get one!

Lodge was spotless when we arrived and we was shown round by the owners Matt&Mark who are just lovely and were very welcoming .

Really liked the additions of the washer dryer/dishwasher really helped after a long day out .

The beds were so so comfortable as was the sofas .Big table and chairs also near the kitchen area was great as we always sit for meals together at the table ..loved the fact we were able to cook our own meals from scratch there as the kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need and very good quality.

The surrounding area is lovely ..very peaceful and tranquil. Also canoeing on Rudyard Lake was fantastic at a really good price too.

We visited Trentham Gardens which was amazing ..lots for different ages to do ..my son loved the maze!

We also rented a Narrow boat for the day at Derby while wd were there (about an hour car drive from the lodge)but well worth it .

Farm foods Asda Sainsbury Lidil and Aldi not far .
The lodge was a home from home for us and are looking forward to rebooking for another holiday in the near future .

We highly recommend Kipling lodge just superb in a gorgeous setting .

Thanks Matt&Mark

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing