We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morwellham Quay- Working Village, Mine & Craft Centre
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Interactive and Informative day out with the dog

We were looking for somewhere to go with the dog on a drizzly day. Quite a few activities in Devon... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Travel4fun27
,
London, United Kingdom
Good day out

Having a child who is studying Victorian Era and mining at school this term, a trip to Morwellham... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Desnorthdevon
Read all 826 reviews
  
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveler rating
378
231
103
69
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
378
231
103
69
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper mine ship inn chocolate making train ride victorian school chocolate experience victorian clothes living history copper mining chocolate lolly school teacher period costume tv programme the cottages the pub tamar valley victorian times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 826 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having a child who is studying Victorian Era and mining at school this term, a trip to Morwellham Quay seemed a good idea. It is expensive compared to other Devon days out, but we were lucky to have amazing sunshine and really enjoyed our time here. Highlights were the mine trip (you have to pay extra, it really should be included in the ticket price) as the driver/guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and the various interactive sessions. We made chocolate lollies, bread rolls and attended a Victorian school. The school in particular was very informative, and immersive. We spent 5 hours here, but I do think it would have been a shorter visit 2-3 hour visit if the weather hadn’t been so glorious.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Desnorthdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Going to visit Morwellham Quay if you are travelling there from South Devon set your Satnav to go via Tavistock or set to Tavistock then reset to Morwellham when you get there. If you do not do this you will have a nice tour of the Devonshire narrow country lanes. You will meet a number of interesting people including large tractor drivers with trailers. Anyway, to my review.
We were very undecided whether to visit this attraction, the weather being so variable it’s obviously not s place to visit in the rain. Anyway, we set off and had a most interesting journey I didn’t read the above paragraph before we left so we took a while to get there in spite of my Satnav insisting that it was taking me via the fastest route.
We arrive close to lunchtime so made straight for the pub for some food and drink, prices are reasonable and the food was pub food which we enjoyed. We then came out to find that the next mine tour was just about to start. I had not purchased tickets at the reception because I was not too sure if wifey would enjoy the underground experience having taken her down a min in Yorkshire many years ago an experience that she would not repeat. Anyway, she could see from my expression that I wanted to go so she agreed and we rushed around and got tickets in the shop, all staff being most helpful as a result the tour started a few minutes late. The guy that took us down was most interesting stopping the train in the mine to explain everything with a touch of humour included at no extra charge. We meet up with a bunch of mature ladies and gentlemen from the Newton Abbot area and the conversation between us was most entertaining. After the min trip we went to the Chocolate demonstration this was run by a nice young lady who had a good sense of humour as well, she needed it. We wondered around the rest of the museum in the house of the boss and the Coopers works shop, blacksmith etc. We didn’t see everything but that provides the excuse for another visit nest year.
All of the staff that we had contact with were very pleasant and helpful and yes a lot of the place is run-down but that’s how it is for goodness sacks it’s old what do you expect chrome-plated plough’s.
Ignore the naysayers and visit you will not regret it.
Thank you all for a brilliant few hours.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank The_Original_Dodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

We visited today again as we live locally. There's so many things to do and a lovely location. We made chocolate lollies in the chocolate experience and we also went on the mine train through the copper mine which was amazing.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

So glad we made the effort. It cost just over £80 for a mixed generation party of 6 plus 3 dogs. So not the cheapest day out but we spent 6 hrs there and still didn't do everything.

The train ride is good fun. Rick was entertaining, yes he aims his talk to a kid friendly audience but it was interesting and enjoyable.

In the village there are "museum type buildings " where you just have displays which are rather dull. Then you get the activities. Depending on the person leading you get different levels of enthusiasm. I do think maybe some rethinking on who does what might be a good idea but I am not criticising anyone.

The dressing up was great fun.

Food at the Ship Inn for lunch was lovely. Kids box was a fresh mini baguette which is unusually good. Fish and chips were really tasty not huge but a good plateful. Just right.

Its dog friendly which also helped. Obviously no dogs in the food buildings but you can work round this without feeling put out. A few dedicated dog tie points might be worth considering if the management see this.

It was quite a quiet day despite being last week of August and good weather. They seemed set up for groups and have golf buggies to help with mobility to the train.

If you have a day spare go, it's good fun for all ages. Hands on and fresh air in one place.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Catharine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019 via mobile

We visited this gem yesterday with our 8 year old granddaughter and wow what a busy day we had.
We made chocolate, helped to make ropes, rock breaking, school lesson and Victorian dress up .
Staff were all enthusiastic and friendly.
We went on the mine train which was informative and so funny.
We loved every second and ran out of time to do everything.
I expected to only be here for half a day but managed a full day out.
Well done keep up the good work.
We will definitely be back xx

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank teresacook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews